Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Cyber Attacks

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Cyber Attacks par Université de New York, Tandon School of Engineering

4.7
étoiles
951 évaluations
226 avis

À propos du cours

This course provides learners with a baseline understanding of common cyber security threats, vulnerabilities, and risks. An overview of how basic cyber attacks are constructed and applied to real systems is also included. Examples include simple Unix kernel hacks, Internet worms, and Trojan horses in software utilities. Network attacks such as distributed denial of service (DDOS) and botnet- attacks are also described and illustrated using real examples from the past couple of decades. Familiar analytic models are outlined such as the confidentiality/integrity/availability (CIA) security threat framework, and examples are used to illustrate how these different types of threats can degrade real assets. The course also includes an introduction to basic cyber security risk analysis, with an overview of how threat-asset matrices can be used to prioritize risk decisions. Threats, vulnerabilities, and attacks are examined and mapped in the context of system security engineering methodologies....

Meilleurs avis

AA

Feb 26, 2018

Great introduction to cybersecurity concepts with relevant supplemental material in the form of journal papers, magazine articles and supporting TED talks and videos. Highly recommended!

RJ

May 03, 2019

It was fun and challenging. There were few areas were in the quiz where I need to google a few terms which I have not heard before. But other than that it was really fun. Learned a lot.

Filtrer par :

201 - 224 sur 224 Avis pour Introduction to Cyber Attacks

par Archana S

Nov 07, 2019

It provides really good foundation for a novice

par Aditya S

Apr 04, 2018

Very Good Course And it was Fun way of Learning

par Ricardo F

Mar 12, 2019

Keeps it simple while explaining the

par Sreyam D

Apr 05, 2018

Very Interesting Course

par Cheick B

Dec 18, 2017

Great practice classes

par Narendra G B

Jul 23, 2019

Very nice Course.

par SAPTARSHI D

Jul 07, 2019

Great course

par Filippo P

Oct 06, 2018

basic

par Cheru B

Jul 17, 2019

Fab

par Nicholas F d O

Dec 04, 2019

Overall this is a decent---very basic---primer on cybersecurity and I would give it 5 stars were it not for one critical thing: there is absolutely no support from NYU. Here is what I mean. Everything was going great until week 4. The final quiz asks the student to choose the risk level as low, medium or high for various types of threats. The problem was that we were told that this type of threat assessment based on the CIA model and the different types of assets depends on the entity/company, but all the information we are given is that it is a software company. Now, forget for a second that this is highly counter-intuitive to the student based on the learning material so far, because guess what? If a student is confused about the material they have a way to communicate with professor/teaching staff and clear the doubts right? Well, in Coursera you have a forum for each course, which is supposed to be how they deal with this---you can't well expects 1-on-1 communication for the nominal fee we are paying and the fact that there are potentially thousands of students enrolled at any point in time. But here is where I had a problem. When I went to the forum several people had the exact same doubt, and had posted a question about it a month ago. No reply from NYU in a month! I mean, it's not like the forum is inundated with questions that the instructors are having to struggle to answer. There are only a few questions and they all seem to have gone unanswered! So for a MOOC with thousands of students, which should have some high aggregate value NYU can spare, what? An hour a month? Two hours a month tops to answer questions? Not even a graduate TA to answer on Amoroso's behalf if he is too busy? This can't be anything other than neglect and apathy. They are dropping the ball and losing the chance to tackle some low-hanging fruit issues in their course. In my opinion, and others too, the final should not be multiple choice but have short answers with justifications for the choices. But if that's not going to happen at least answer our questions.

par Britta G

Feb 10, 2020

The content and the videos are great and it is a fun to learn. But the quizzes inside the videos and the weekly ones are a catastrophy. For some questions there are no correct answers and for other questions a solution that was marked correct in the first try is marked wrong the next and correct again on the 3rd round. And the worst is that there is no support in the discussion forum. The existing problems seem to be old but were never fixed.

par Wolfgang G

May 24, 2018

Interesting course, engaging lecturer. Needs some polish, however. Test questions are often confusingly phrased (perhaps on purpose? would be a questionable pedagogical principle) and not well aligned with the lectures, not noticeable support in the discussion forums. The additional reading material was interesting, but seemed quite random and not really coordinated with the course content.

par Carole P

Jan 25, 2018

The information contained in this class was helpful, but not being able to see the correct answers to incorrect quiz questions hindered complete learning. If there was something I didn't understand and answered incorrectly, I did't have the correct answer in order to further my learning.

par Akshay B

Jan 07, 2018

Good lectures and overview but the supporting text book was way too complicated and unhelpful, and the discussion group/TA support was non-existent. I will recommend the content of this course to others with those caveats.

par ArjunSinh P N

Jul 05, 2019

thought this was more of a practical class - but was completely theoretical. also that there was more reading than what professor taught - (professor gave definitions/intro about topic and expected to learn all material).

par Pablo O

Mar 29, 2019

The teacher never answer any comment, observation or question in the forums. Some questions in quizzes was ambiguous, for example question 9 in quizz of week 3.

par MOHIT K S

Jul 01, 2018

Instructor was not too good he not able to describe things clearly. He relate every case with example but not understandable to me

par Ashlesha G

Nov 29, 2019

It's a very basic course and it needs to be refined for security analysts

par Michael H

Jan 13, 2020

Good as a beginner course but not enough practical information.

par Ibrahim s T

Jun 07, 2018

not practical

par Tarun G

Dec 05, 2018

The content this course has provided me regarding cyber security is very less.The course on cyber security in according to my point of view has to very elaborated and theoretical.Many concepts are like which is not taught properly or we can say in complete depth.

par Douglas W

Nov 19, 2019

Absolutely appalling course, it is supposed to be a beginners course yet you are expected to read papers that are thousands of words long, containing highly technical information that to most beginners is utter jibberish. There are far too many videos to watch before you reach the quiz, the videos themselves are very technical, then you are expected to answer very difficult questions. This is without a doubt the worst online course I have ever taken.

par Kossi G

Nov 18, 2019

First white paper reading is ridiculously technical. No way it can be beginner's level. Prior knowledge is definitely required. I was interested with the videos until the first reading assignment. Complete turn-off.

par Vu M D

Jun 29, 2018

Boring