Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Cyber Attacks

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Cyber Attacks par New York University

4.7
étoiles
1,648 évaluations
430 avis

À propos du cours

This course provides learners with a baseline understanding of common cyber security threats, vulnerabilities, and risks. An overview of how basic cyber attacks are constructed and applied to real systems is also included. Examples include simple Unix kernel hacks, Internet worms, and Trojan horses in software utilities. Network attacks such as distributed denial of service (DDOS) and botnet- attacks are also described and illustrated using real examples from the past couple of decades. Familiar analytic models are outlined such as the confidentiality/integrity/availability (CIA) security threat framework, and examples are used to illustrate how these different types of threats can degrade real assets. The course also includes an introduction to basic cyber security risk analysis, with an overview of how threat-asset matrices can be used to prioritize risk decisions. Threats, vulnerabilities, and attacks are examined and mapped in the context of system security engineering methodologies....

Meilleurs avis

PH
27 juin 2020

Ed is a very engaging instructor and tries to make the content applicable and understandable. I would recommend this course for anyone who is looking for an introduction to the world of cybersecurity!

HI
3 mars 2020

I'm so glad I could complete this course as I look forward to continuing other courses on Cyber attacks. Its been helpful as it gave me the background knowledge as to what is needed in Cyber Security.

Filtrer par :

401 - 425 sur 426 Avis pour Introduction to Cyber Attacks

par Cheru B

17 juil. 2019

Fab

par C A

2 sept. 2020

I enjoyed the beginning of this course. The material really set a foundation for the rest of the course. However, I do think that much of the required readings are not essential to the course as they are incredibly advanced (despite this being a beginner's course) or loosely related to quizzes and lectures. Also, the discussion forums are mini ghost towns. The moderators are not active and there is this feeling that you are the only one taking the course. I do think that I would have had the same satisfaction of completing this introductory course if I had just read the professor's book on cybersecurity, which I really enjoyed. Also, it is written that no prior programming experience is needed, but to understand some of the readings, you definitely need some knowledge of the C language.

par M. D

8 juil. 2020

Everything is great except the tests. They were thoughtful in the start of the course - meaning that getting a question wrong and revisiting the relevant material would a) produce a correct answer b) help you understand why the first answer you chose was incorrect, and c) your *second* attempt would be correct. By the final, those properties were absent. We were being graded on questions that the professor had stated was _subjective_, there was not enough information about the hypothetical company we were supposed to create an analysis of, and I am pretty sure one of 9 questions was _not possible to answer correctly_ since it had only three answers and by trying multiple times over two days, I was able to try all three and all three were wrong?

par Britta G

10 févr. 2020

The content and the videos are great and it is a fun to learn. But the quizzes inside the videos and the weekly ones are a catastrophy. For some questions there are no correct answers and for other questions a solution that was marked correct in the first try is marked wrong the next and correct again on the 3rd round. And the worst is that there is no support in the discussion forum. The existing problems seem to be old but were never fixed.

par Wolfgang G

24 mai 2018

Interesting course, engaging lecturer. Needs some polish, however. Test questions are often confusingly phrased (perhaps on purpose? would be a questionable pedagogical principle) and not well aligned with the lectures, not noticeable support in the discussion forums. The additional reading material was interesting, but seemed quite random and not really coordinated with the course content.

par Carole P

25 janv. 2018

The information contained in this class was helpful, but not being able to see the correct answers to incorrect quiz questions hindered complete learning. If there was something I didn't understand and answered incorrectly, I did't have the correct answer in order to further my learning.

par Javier G

26 nov. 2020

I expected it to be more specific, it could be named also as "history, beginings and bases of cyber security". Anyway it is very interesting and I consider it very interesting for who wants to begin a career in cyber security

par Akshay B

6 janv. 2018

Good lectures and overview but the supporting text book was way too complicated and unhelpful, and the discussion group/TA support was non-existent. I will recommend the content of this course to others with those caveats.

par ArjunSinh P N

4 juil. 2019

thought this was more of a practical class - but was completely theoretical. also that there was more reading than what professor taught - (professor gave definitions/intro about topic and expected to learn all material).

par Aymen A

18 août 2020

Beginners have no idea about stack-based buffer overflow attack , please keep that in mind when you mention beginners, it's 0 knowledge about programming, otherwise i enjoyed this course a lot !

Thanks

par Pablo O

29 mars 2019

The teacher never answer any comment, observation or question in the forums. Some questions in quizzes was ambiguous, for example question 9 in quizz of week 3.

par Hans P L

9 août 2020

This course gives a basic introduction do cyber threats, but it is not been updated in a while. Some of the videos linked don't even work anymore.

par MOHIT K S

1 juil. 2018

Instructor was not too good he not able to describe things clearly. He relate every case with example but not understandable to me

par Rubi G

2 sept. 2020

The introductory readings were so confusing for a first time student without a background in programming to fully understand.

par ADEKANYE O D

23 sept. 2020

The course was educating, but kind of abstract in experimenting in my job role

par Ashlesha G

29 nov. 2019

It's a very basic course and it needs to be refined for security analysts

par Michael H

13 janv. 2020

Good as a beginner course but not enough practical information.

par Ibrahim s T

7 juin 2018

not practical

par Yaki M

10 août 2020

I gave it only two stars because of the exams- especially the final exam:

The exams did not contribute to understanding the subject and the final exam is a total BS. Judging from the forum- I am not the only one with that comment.

The course itself is good & informative. I specially liked the fact Dr. Edward stands and talk and not just presents PowerPoint slides.

par Tarun G

5 déc. 2018

The content this course has provided me regarding cyber security is very less.The course on cyber security in according to my point of view has to very elaborated and theoretical.Many concepts are like which is not taught properly or we can say in complete depth.

par Thalia H

13 août 2020

you need extra books with this course since they are referred to many times.

par Igor C

24 mai 2020

Not for beginners. You need to be aware of coding and programming Poor videos, quite short, unimaginative and unhelpful. Suggested material leads you to Amazon to buy the books.

par Bud A

21 mai 2020

As a beginner, I was hoping to get an overview of this field - I found this course to be full of jargon and word trickery.

par Faith W M

4 sept. 2020

This Course seemed different from other cybersecurity courses i have tried learning.

par Heto E

11 sept. 2020

not helpfull