Chevron Left
Retour à International migrations: a global issue

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour International migrations: a global issue par Sciences Po

4.6
étoiles
250 évaluations
58 avis

À propos du cours

ABOUT THE MOOC : INTERNATIONAL MIGRATIONS: A GLOBAL ISSUE Catherine Wihtol De Wenden - CERI CNRS/SciencesPo ABOUT THE COURSE The world is moving, but not all opinions and governments are willing to accept this poorly understood reality. The issue affects both states and the planet, in a process of globalization and of regionalization of migrations, and raises new questions for international relations, now including the South. This course aims at improving knowledge of the subject, addressing the key issues raised by international migration, and assessing the trends of tomorrow. FORMAT The MOOC lasts 7 weeks and focuses on various themes related to migration. It makes use of various types of document, such as maps, news articles, and scientific papers. The text is in English and the videos are in French with English subtitles TEACHERS Catherine Wihtol de Wenden is Research Director at the CNRS (CERI) and teaches at Sciences-Po. She has been a consultant to many international organizations, notably the Council of Europe and the Office of the High Commissioner for Refugees. From 2002 to 2008, she led the "Migration" research group of the International Sociological Association. Author of some 20 books, and having conducted many field investigations, she also teaches at the Sapienza University of Rome. COURSE OUTLINE Session 1: Globalization of migration Session 2: Refugees and environmentally displaced persons Session 3: Europe Session 4: France and international migration flows Session 5: Citizenship and migration Session 6: Borders Session 7: Right to mobility and global governance...

Meilleurs avis

TA

Sep 10, 2019

International migrations: a global issue is a time demanded course for the population movement operations front line worker for better approach to reach the beneficiaries.

BA

Mar 02, 2020

Thank you for a job well done by the instructor and cousera.\n\nI look forward to more courses on related subject, preferably with credits.\n\nMerci!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 57 Avis pour International migrations: a global issue

par Nera H

Nov 26, 2018

The course is not up date with current developments on the matter. As it is an international relations course, it should be regularly improved and developed. No information is given on when was it recorded/published.

Some materials are repetitive.

Tests are too easy.

par India F

Mar 03, 2019

I learned a lot from the course however there was a lot of repetition, English translations were not of a good quality, there was not a variety of interactive ways to learn so it at points became quite tedious. I did enjoy the content, I just felt the presentation was severely lacking and wouldn't recommend this as a beginner level course.

par Diana C P P

May 08, 2020

I really enjoyed this course because helped me to understand better the Global Migration Phenomena as a result of Globalization and other factors, but specially how migration and development have a both side relationship. The course give you the global vision of the problem and if you are interested in starting learning about this theme I really recommend it to you.

par Carla D

Feb 17, 2019

It was a privilege to follow this course taught by a real expert in the subject. I realize that my knowledge on the subject of global migrations increased considerably.

par Marna P

Aug 23, 2018

very interesting and with a lot of information about the topic.

par Gina V

Mar 26, 2019

Interesting content, though in a field like migration having few references that are more recent than 2015 is slightly disappointing!

Overall, would recommend for a broad understanding of the foundations of this field of study.

par Jonathan G

Feb 21, 2018

as coarsely absolutely no sense. There were no tests or assignments, it was in English but the professor who presented it spoke French! What was the point of this course?

par Marlot H

May 24, 2019

There are no updates in this course and no references to the literature. The videos are in French, without English subs. The content is interesting though,

par Matthew L

Aug 03, 2020

Course with interesting content. The first few weeks are a more globally-focused, but then on it takes a strong European focus. Videos are in French and are clear, and English subtitles are available for non-French speakers. I found the tests a bit too easy though.

par Christian M C B

Sep 02, 2019

It was an amazing class, with a clear idea and developed in small sub-topics, that together help you understand, based on the past, what global migration means nowadays not only for developed countries but also to underdeveloped countries.

par SOUMIK M

Feb 23, 2019

The course is quite enriching and student friendly to complete. Students shall be able to gather enormous amount of knowledge from this course. It would have been great if input of other eminent personalities were also available.

par Samantha D

Jun 29, 2020

I enjoyed the short videos followed by the readings, which helped fill in the gaps to certain things said in the videos. Very easy to follow and a great class to take if you're interested in migration issues!

par Huma K

Sep 23, 2018

After learning and getting deep insight knowledge from an excellent faculty of Sciences Po, Paris, I have learnt a lot about International Migrations and consequences and factors related to it.

Thank you!

par Amarjargal

Jul 31, 2020

My work experience and career in somehow to linked with migration activity, therefore it was good to gain structured information and deepen knowledge on migration and its interrelation with development.

par Lizbeth G

Jun 02, 2020

A great introduction to the migration complex situation. It will help me a lot to improve my skills and knowledge in my duties at work. I am looking forward for more courses like this one.

par Tofail A

Sep 10, 2019

International migrations: a global issue is a time demanded course for the population movement operations front line worker for better approach to reach the beneficiaries.

par mustafa d

Jun 30, 2020

I saw the question "how can I start to study for migration topic?" asked by lots of students. I was also curious about the answer and found it in this excellent course!

par Luca G

Apr 01, 2020

I found this course really intresting and complete. The migration issue is explain in the proper way and I think it can help me to improve my university carrer.

par Aida S M C

Jul 23, 2020

Un curso muy interesante, se aprende acerca el proceso de migración que se ha visto a lo largo de la histpria y cuales han sido los que más an tenido.

par Bakre R A

Mar 02, 2020

Thank you for a job well done by the instructor and cousera.

I look forward to more courses on related subject, preferably with credits.

Merci!

par Theophilus Q

Jul 29, 2020

Very insightful and rich in content. Learnt a great deal about migration in the 21st Century world with all its attendant information.

par Kaesha-Leigh M

Jul 27, 2020

Although the primary focus is European, there are many things that I learned. I enjoyed this course thank you.

par Grace M G

Jan 28, 2019

Curso introdutório fundamental para o conhecimento do tema imigração/emigração e refúgio em escala global.

par Annalisa D

Sep 13, 2020

Really one of the best courses I've done online! Well structured and with lots of informational material!

par Margarita I M I

May 11, 2020

It's an easy way to refresh basics in International Migration and to learn more of the European side.