Chevron Left
Retour à International migrations: a global issue

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour International migrations: a global issue par Sciences Po

4.7
étoiles
391 évaluations
91 avis

À propos du cours

ABOUT THE MOOC : INTERNATIONAL MIGRATIONS: A GLOBAL ISSUE Catherine Wihtol De Wenden - CERI CNRS/SciencesPo ABOUT THE COURSE The world is moving, but not all opinions and governments are willing to accept this poorly understood reality. The issue affects both states and the planet, in a process of globalization and of regionalization of migrations, and raises new questions for international relations, now including the South. This course aims at improving knowledge of the subject, addressing the key issues raised by international migration, and assessing the trends of tomorrow. FORMAT The MOOC lasts 7 weeks and focuses on various themes related to migration. It makes use of various types of document, such as maps, news articles, and scientific papers. The text is in English and the videos are in French with English subtitles TEACHERS Catherine Wihtol de Wenden is Research Director at the CNRS (CERI) and teaches at Sciences-Po. She has been a consultant to many international organizations, notably the Council of Europe and the Office of the High Commissioner for Refugees. From 2002 to 2008, she led the "Migration" research group of the International Sociological Association. Author of some 20 books, and having conducted many field investigations, she also teaches at the Sapienza University of Rome. COURSE OUTLINE Session 1: Globalization of migration Session 2: Refugees and environmentally displaced persons Session 3: Europe Session 4: France and international migration flows Session 5: Citizenship and migration Session 6: Borders Session 7: Right to mobility and global governance...

Meilleurs avis

TA
9 sept. 2019

International migrations: a global issue is a time demanded course for the population movement operations front line worker for better approach to reach the beneficiaries.

NL
2 oct. 2021

Very good for anyone interested in the current refugee crisis, especially now that this issue may again become relevant with the return of the Taliban in Afghanistan.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 90 Avis pour International migrations: a global issue

par Bakre R A

2 mars 2020

Thank you for a job well done by the instructor and cousera.

I look forward to more courses on related subject, preferably with credits.

Merci!

par Nera H

26 nov. 2018

The course is not up date with current developments on the matter. As it is an international relations course, it should be regularly improved and developed. No information is given on when was it recorded/published.

Some materials are repetitive.

Tests are too easy.

par India F

3 mars 2019

I learned a lot from the course however there was a lot of repetition, English translations were not of a good quality, there was not a variety of interactive ways to learn so it at points became quite tedious. I did enjoy the content, I just felt the presentation was severely lacking and wouldn't recommend this as a beginner level course.

par Diana C P

8 mai 2020

I really enjoyed this course because helped me to understand better the Global Migration Phenomena as a result of Globalization and other factors, but specially how migration and development have a both side relationship. The course give you the global vision of the problem and if you are interested in starting learning about this theme I really recommend it to you.

par Tofail A

10 sept. 2019

International migrations: a global issue is a time demanded course for the population movement operations front line worker for better approach to reach the beneficiaries.

par Carla D

17 févr. 2019

It was a privilege to follow this course taught by a real expert in the subject. I realize that my knowledge on the subject of global migrations increased considerably.

par Marna P

23 août 2018

very interesting and with a lot of information about the topic.

par Sharon B

22 juin 2020

I found that the course hammered away at the same perspective without offering alternative views, or even examining the reasons why governments try to control migration. However, as far as a learning modality, I found it accessible, practical and user-friendly.

par Gina V

26 mars 2019

Interesting content, though in a field like migration having few references that are more recent than 2015 is slightly disappointing!

Overall, would recommend for a broad understanding of the foundations of this field of study.

par Jonathan G

20 févr. 2018

as coarsely absolutely no sense. There were no tests or assignments, it was in English but the professor who presented it spoke French! What was the point of this course?

par Elizabeth N C

28 mai 2021

More clarification in the explanation of conventions on migration and their application

par Marlot H

24 mai 2019

There are no updates in this course and no references to the literature. The videos are in French, without English subs. The content is interesting though,

par Marcelo J O R

7 juin 2021

Este curso es de mucha importancia para quienes tratan de entender los fenómenos sociales contemporáneos y tratan de dilucidar el futuro de la sociedad. El rol de las instituciones, los Estados, la economía, las minorías o las mayorías, en frente de urgencias humanas como la movilidad. Me pareció un curso fascinante que me va a permitir investigar por mi propia cuenta más información al respecto y relacionada con mi región.

par Lucia M S

23 janv. 2021

I really enjoyed every single reading and video. Lots of information perfectly well organized. The insights and light they give to each topic are profound, and very well thought.

Thank you for having this high level of analysis and introspection for a topic that is still in the shadows for many and that needs so much more exposure and global input.

Lucia M. Schechter

par María C T

15 févr. 2021

Excelente curso, los videos son didácticos y se complementan bien con los textos. Muy interesantes los acercamientos de la profesora y las fuentes bibliográficas que utiliza. Genera reflexión en torno a las relaciones de poder de la migración que se establecen Norte-Sur. Recomendado.

par Matthew L

3 août 2020

Course with interesting content. The first few weeks are a more globally-focused, but then on it takes a strong European focus. Videos are in French and are clear, and English subtitles are available for non-French speakers. I found the tests a bit too easy though.

par Germ�n G

28 déc. 2020

Es un curso que te instruye sobre el proceso que ha tenido a lo largo de la historia el tema de las migraciones internacionales y todos los pro y contra que este fenomeno conlleva para los diferentes países de salida y acogida. Un excelente curso.

par Marianna G

22 oct. 2020

The course is very good especially if you have no knowledge at all regarding migrations. The only thing I could point out to be improved is to use more recent data since most examples are dated from 2015 or 2016 and a lot has changed since then.

par Marcelo C

1 sept. 2019

It was an amazing class, with a clear idea and developed in small sub-topics, that together help you understand, based on the past, what global migration means nowadays not only for developed countries but also to underdeveloped countries.

par SOUMIK M

23 févr. 2019

The course is quite enriching and student friendly to complete. Students shall be able to gather enormous amount of knowledge from this course. It would have been great if input of other eminent personalities were also available.

par Samantha D

29 juin 2020

I enjoyed the short videos followed by the readings, which helped fill in the gaps to certain things said in the videos. Very easy to follow and a great class to take if you're interested in migration issues!

par Huma K

23 sept. 2018

After learning and getting deep insight knowledge from an excellent faculty of Sciences Po, Paris, I have learnt a lot about International Migrations and consequences and factors related to it.

Thank you!

par Amarjargal

31 juil. 2020

My work experience and career in somehow to linked with migration activity, therefore it was good to gain structured information and deepen knowledge on migration and its interrelation with development.

par Lizbeth G

2 juin 2020

A great introduction to the migration complex situation. It will help me a lot to improve my skills and knowledge in my duties at work. I am looking forward for more courses like this one.

par Алексей П

2 oct. 2020

Overall, the course is interesting and I liked it. But, unfortunately, the lectures are in French with English subtitles, which somewhat reduces the perception of the material.