Chevron Left
Retour à An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) par Université de Rice

4.8
étoiles
2,822 évaluations
820 avis

À propos du cours

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

Meilleurs avis

VL

May 29, 2017

The best python course i ever had thanks to the teachers therereally awesome, and the classes are very pleasant. if your aout there trying to start with programming, i definitely recommend this course

GV

Apr 25, 2020

it is really a good, and interesting course offered by coursers. the teaching staff and the proffers exp land in a detailed and understandable way and made the course essay to understand and workout.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 806 Avis pour An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

par George T

Sep 28, 2016

The course was interesting but I think Coursera is not quite what it used to be. The courses are more expensive (This one was $100). You can't do it free in a practical way, which on principle excludes people. They are simply replays of old videos and people are not inspired to participate in the forums.

par Israel L d V C

May 09, 2017

Good course for someone who already knows how to program on another languages and has some experience. Needs a way to work assignments offline or on a mobile platform.

par Yidnekachew B

Apr 07, 2017

an online editor is not good

par Aaron H

Oct 09, 2018

Practical.

par Gary Z

Aug 09, 2016

Too easy.

par Mengyun Z

Aug 24, 2017

peer review cause a lot of trouble for me, everytime submit on time, turns out overdue. And none of the mentor or coursera staff want to solve this issue, just ask me to post more and begging for review.

The course itself is fun, but since all the module are already optimize by Rice U Professors, more suitable for people who doesn't know python and want to get start, not very useful for industry purpose.

par Mai F M E

Jun 11, 2020

the course is not suitable for beginners and it may make them frustrated at the beginning of their journeyto learn programming

par robert t

Mar 25, 2016

huge waste of time, they will give you very little information and what is expected for you to be able to do with that information is astronomical, you will never learn any of the details of how computing works, how functions work, the mechanism behind these computations, or anything. To give you an example, you will first watch a horribly made video on boolean logic, alter going to youtube to get a better explanation of 'And', 'or' , and 'not', you'll see an example done with If, else, and elif, then be asked to do homework problems using and, or, not. This huge gap between the information given, and the information you are expected to know to solve the problems they give you is too large, I found differential equations easier than this

par Andrej D

Aug 29, 2016

I am very disapointed about this course. This course is more about how programming, then teaching about programming in python. The lecture is too long and information value is very low. In my opinion, this course is for somebody who never programming, it is not depend in which language. If you wont to know how if, for, functions works, what is variable etc, then this is the right place where to learn this basics.

par Stevimir E

Oct 20, 2017

The course is incorrectly structured. It progresses too quickly into hard projects instead of teaching the fundamentals of Python programming. No wonder why people are cheating and/or looking for quick solutions online, even at the very beginning of the course.

par Chris C

May 08, 2016

Only able to audit the class, no longer able to take quizzes and tests. I recommend the Python classes from Michigan over these if you are looking to avoid paying for old material.

par Vaibhav G

Jun 26, 2016

not upto the mark.

Not meant for intelligent students

par Harry H

Nov 09, 2016

joe warren ur better than this

par Seongwoo K

May 02, 2020

It is a wonder to me that a specialization created seven years ago still excels in many aspects while there have been a lot of new CS courses available online, which means this course has some unique and long-standing qualities in it.

First of all, everything is organically structured. Videos, readings and exercises are designed with the greatest care to deliver each week’s key concept. Quizzes are not only for testing but make learners ready to implement mini-projects. You would realize the projects are best implemented only when you thoroughly understand and rigorously apply what you’ve learned. The projects are technically integrated into Codeskulptor, a web-based platform that was specially customized for this course.

Secondly, these interconnected materials are delivered in very humane manner. Learners may be having hard times because of a strangely new way of computational thinking. But don’t worry: the professors’ energy and friendliness will raise you up. The chemistry between them created a welcoming vibe which reminded me to come back to the class for nine months.

Due to the good impression from this course, I got great interest in the master of CS program at Rice University. I know, as of May 2020, the entire academia is going through tough times because of COVID19 and the application numbers may be under the professors’ expectations. But I hope MCS will be back on track with these great faculty members and pedagogical quality.

Many thanks to Scott, Joe, Luay, John, and all the other people who helped to create this specialization. I am grateful to have this class.

par Audra

Jan 11, 2018

I love how the instructors have the students create games for the programming assignments. Even though these programs are very simple, the excitement of making something interactive helps carry me through the frustrating parts. I also like that there are many videos, example programs, templates, and "tip" pages to help if you are not getting it--other Coursera courses I have taken had very little in the way of assistance, so if you were really struggling, you probably wouldn't finish. This course isn't like that. The rubrics for grading assignments are also very specific, so you get clear feedback on what did and did not work in your program. If you are interested in learning programming, I would highly recommend this course!

par Ron W

Oct 03, 2016

I've taken several different online Python courses, completing some and not others. This one works for me. The interactive aspect allows you to see the results of your coding graphically. Other courses tend to start with theory and basic concepts detached from practical application or illustrated in isolation. This course has you applying the basics that make simple actions happen (programs) in their interactive interpreter.

If you're like me and have tried the other courses by MIT (edX), Udacity, those offered on StackSkills, CodeSchool, Pluralsight, codecademy, et. al., this one rises to the top because of the balance of academic instruction and graphical interactivity (and despite the lame jokes! -just kidding, guys).

par Joao A

Mar 12, 2016

Best computer programming series I've taken in Coursera so far (I've done principles 1 and algorithm thinking 1 already and in paralell). You can start in this very basic course and end in Algorithm Thinking which is a great course full of insights even for an experienced programmer as I'm (same is valid for the principles of programming, especially regarding the testing assignments) with no previous experience. My nephew is 15 years old and in high school and he is loving this course (having hard time though). To me, this specific course was very basic but as I didn't know anything of Python and as I love games I enjoyed a lot even though I already knew all of the material except for the Python part.

par Renjith

Jul 30, 2019

An Introduction to Interactive programming in Python is an excellent and master piece course which I have ever learned. The trainers showed new way of developing codes and feel the easiest way of writing program. As a beginner I simply felt the teaching is so easy to learn and courses are well articulated. The python programming using the software codeskulptor is so exciting. It gives multiple features like visualizing the code and understand how the object and classes are defined and how the state changes. How the transitions take place. I thank coursera and the professors of Rice university for their tireless effort for making such a wonderful learning experience. Thank you all for helping me.

par Judy S

May 06, 2019

as a starter and never write programming before, it is quite tough. I wrote in to ask question, but reply is quite general to ask me to re-go thru video or document. Definitely i did not get it or understand it, thus ask the question but the reply is ask me to read the book again.. something like that. Is this a good answer?

I hope the respond can be more specific. Other then the reply, i quiite enjoy it and like the way it structure the programming. At time, i am very struggle and forum reply can be quite technical to me. But so far, i manage to get thru. I spent more than 10 hours to do the mini project.... hahaha..

I thought this program is no min skill requirement, right?

par Dalibor S

Mar 26, 2016

Best python (or programming) course for beginners I have seen (and I tried a lot of them).

1) Codesculptor helps a lot (no need for endless saving, running IDLE etc) - you go immediatelly

2) Interesting examples + exercises with templates (where you just fill in some part of code) maintain motivation and interest high. No basic boring stuff like "print fibonacci sequence". Also - more focused on actual programming than on mathematical/logical solving of exercises (as I viewed in some courses)

3) Small enough increments to not being overwhelmed, yet still motivated by new stuff.

To sum it up, I am looking forward to subsequent courses in this series.

par Christos P

May 25, 2020

This course is certainly interesting, especially the games you get to try each week. It has several problems/exercises to help you better understand the concepts. Only tiny point to make is, you should watch from "Introduction to Mathematical Thinking" (stanford) the videos in the first or second week about True/False statements, it really helped me better understand this, since it's quite more complex than at first glance. Although you don't need it for this course I found it helped me better grasp the idea, which is used in python programming. Lastly, the instructors are really great, and I found the jokes they made actually funny!

par Шадрин А А

Mar 16, 2017

This is an amazing course. It's both joyful and useful in terms of information and the way it presents. I'm very thankful to Rice's professors and Coursera team for an opportunity to study this course. I'm about to use the knowledge I've got here to pass the exams and enroll in university. Though I still didn't complete the whole course because I have to concentrate on some particular themes for the exam I definitely will continue learning here after exams or even sooner. Can absolutely recommend this course for beginners and for the ones who have some misunderstanding in some particular fundamental topics in programming on python.

par XIN L

Sep 16, 2016

Great professors and great design of the course. It does not only cover all the main elements of how to code with python, it also incorporate them into game design so our interests of learning can keep high as always. I found this course very interesting and the guidelines and code clinic tips are very helpful. Especially the peer assessment, it provide opportunities for me to learn from other people's codes and provide advice to others' works meanwhile I can also think about my own code and enhance next time. Overall, I will strongly recommend this course to others that like to learn python or computer science.

par Deleted A

Nov 27, 2017

I took this course because it seemed like the best intro to Python for my goals that Coursera had to offer. While the content lived up to its expectations, the video lectures by the professors made the course stand out. Their sense of humor and watching them compete against each other, playing the games that we were assigned to program, added a human touch to the learning experience. It made you feel attached to the course the same way that you feel attached to watching characters of your favorite TV show. I highly recommended this course for people who want to learn Python from scratch.

par Deleted A

Dec 21, 2019

This is the first MOOC course I have ever taken. And this course allowed me to make the largest step in my Python knowledge. This very course helped me to move from state"What? Python? What is that?" to the state "I know what Python is and I know how to use it".

A that time I was able to complete only this course of the specialization. I regret that I did not continue the course, if you have possibility, take the whole course and you will be the Master of Python, I promise!

Joe Warren, Scott Rixner, you are my heroes! If I ever become programmer, that is mostly your achievement, not mine!