Chevron Left
Retour à Information Visualization: Foundations

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Information Visualization: Foundations par Université de New York, Tandon School of Engineering

4.7
90 notes
20 avis

À propos du cours

The main goal of this specialization is to provide the knowledge and practical skills necessary to develop a strong foundation on information visualization and to design and develop advanced applications for visual data analysis. This course aims at introducing fundamental knowledge for information visualization. The main goal is to provide the students with the necessary “vocabulary” to describe visualizations in a way that helps them reason about what designs are appropriate for a given problem. This module also gives a broad overview of the field of visualization, introducing its goals, methods and applications. A learner with some or no previous knowledge in Information Visualization will get a sense of what visualization is, what it is for and in how many different situations it can be applied; will practice to describe data in a way that is useful for visualization design; will familiarize with fundamental charts to talk about the concept of visual encoding and decoding....

Meilleurs avis

EM

Jun 24, 2019

Great intro to basics about information visualization. Would be a bit better if after doing the assessments the correct answers were provided as a guide to the peer review.

RH

Oct 29, 2018

Great course! Not too complicated and covers fundamental topics about visual encoding and decoding.\n\nThe explanation is clear and concise.\n\nThank you Professor Enrico!

Filtrer par :

1 - 20 sur 20 Examens pour Information Visualization: Foundations

par Nithish B R

Jun 10, 2019

Well explained from a conceptual sense. Good to get a basic hands on experience with Tableau as part of the course.

par Thabo T

Sep 06, 2019

Great course, it really game the skills and confidence to know what to do given a dataset

par Saif R

Dec 04, 2018

The course has great content, but it is not the easiest to follow. The videos present information in a sequential way, then the project are exciting and perhaps a tad too challenging. I would have loved more intermediate exercises that are shorter in weeks 1 and 2 before diving in the project in week 3. That said, the course is of great quality and I recommend it to anyone looking to learning about how to create effective and beautiful visualizations. You will also get introduced to Tablue which is an added bonus.

par Mathieu L

Apr 02, 2019

A very complete and instructive introduction about data visualisation

par Ian W

Sep 06, 2018

Good introduction to information visualization.

If you finish this class, I suggest you finish all courses in this specialization because it's great and not too hard. :)

par Trud F A

Oct 29, 2018

Very good course - it gives a good overview over the basics!

par Camilo C

Nov 06, 2018

(Taken in Audit Mode) The course is great, Enrico is a great teacher and the introductory topics are great if you are searching for improving your data visualization skills. Simple explanations of a very broad and interesting topic.

par Santiago S

Nov 21, 2018

Great course, I've enjoyed Prof. Enrico clear video explanations about the covered topics. The course serves as a fresh start if you are looking to improve your data visualization skills and knowledge. Examples included during the classes helped a lot to understand what's behind the scenes. Easy to follow along, it was made with a balanced mix of both: practice and theory.

par Fabian R

Oct 02, 2018

Some minor bugs but overall a really great course

par Eaphy M

Jun 24, 2019

Great intro to basics about information visualization. Would be a bit better if after doing the assessments the correct answers were provided as a guide to the peer review.

par Jeanne M L

Jun 24, 2019

Good introduction to learning Tableau in addition to concepts.

par Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

par Chad R D

Jul 09, 2019

Very concise and informative course.

par Andrea T

Aug 23, 2019

Great course, thorough, easy to follow and full of resources to deepen the knowledge.

par Santiago T

Oct 17, 2019

It helped me put some theory behind data visualization concepts I work with every day. After this course, I know better why some graphs seem better than others and have some guidelines as to where I should start when creating a new visualization depending on the type of data I have.

par Raphael d F S

Oct 30, 2018

Very good! The videos and materials are great. Enrico's knowledge is impressive and inspiring.

par Emilio A A S

Dec 07, 2019

A very good introductory course on the information visualization foundations.

par Raja D H

Oct 29, 2018

Great course! Not too complicated and covers fundamental topics about visual encoding and decoding.

The explanation is clear and concise.

Thank you Professor Enrico!

par Vishnu P P S

Jun 24, 2019

The course is well taught at a good pace. The assignments are fun and tough in a sense, it makes you work. The only bad thing is the PEER REVIEW system. You'll have to spend some time waiting for peer reviews to happen.

par Carl C

Apr 17, 2019

Very good foundation into data visualization.