Chevron Left
Retour à Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides par Université de Washington

4.8
étoiles
312 évaluations
89 avis

À propos du cours

In the professional realm, most speeches and presentations we give are informative in scope. A scientist needs to explain her recent research findings. A financial officer needs to report on quarterly earnings to his company’s board. A technology professional needs to educate a consumer about a new product. Any time you need to convey ideas or demonstrate a process, you’re dealing with informative speaking. Informative speaking is a fun puzzle. You need to think from the perspective of your audience to identify what they need to hear in order to understand the key ideas. How much does the audience already know? What are the most important elements to convey? How should one convey these ideas with appropriate breadth and depth given the time constraints of the speech? This demands a strategic approach to speech design that we’ll undertake in this class. By the end of the course, you should be able to explain complex ideas vividly and accessibly, design clear and compelling presentation slides, convey your passion for a topic while maintaining your professional credibility, and speak dynamically from notes and/or a manuscript. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

Meilleurs avis

OS
2 mai 2020

Very informative and practical course.Very interesting and well structured course for building confident in public speaking and exercises are very interesting to keep learner on track.

JJ
13 nov. 2017

Excellent lecture structure. The logical progression of the lessons made it easier to understand and grasp the key concepts of the course. I would recommend this course to everyone.

Filtrer par :

76 - 90 sur 90 Avis pour Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides

par Eslam A K A

13 févr. 2021

Ok

par Rolandas R

31 mai 2017

L

par Santosh S

30 juil. 2017

Good course, particularly for informative speeches.

I am doctoral student nearing by thesis proposal, so I was wondering - how the course will help me to structure my presentation.

Though the course is helpful, but I would have loved little more treatment of such topics like presenting proposals, defense, data. This treatment is bit sketchy in the course.

However, I will highly recommend the course to any doctoral student or anyone who wish to get into academia.

par Evans P R

9 sept. 2020

Hola termine mi curso de forma exitosa,pero en la ultima semana aparece un comentario de que abandone,lo cual no es verdad si revisan mis trabajos y tareas están completas.

Gracias.

par Sarah R

22 avr. 2020

Enjoyed doing the course. I think I have learned skills that will be very useful in future. It was good to engage in all the assignments as it really does help build confidence

par ROMY S

29 janv. 2021

Excellent course to brush up those skills and there are some inherent nuances shared by Dr. Matt which are highly practical and important.

par César A

22 oct. 2020

An amazing course the teacher knows how to give an exciting class.. great!

par Nguyen T T N

10 juil. 2019

I prefer fewer peer-review

par Akella K M

4 nov. 2021

Great course content!

par Palani T A

22 janv. 2020

Very useful.

par Huda M S A O

20 mars 2018

w

par GIOSUE P

11 juin 2019

The course should provide less explanatory sessions and more practice-based tips.

The videos are often repetitive and do not provide enough ground on theories of perception - i.e. how are we perceived while we do something when we speak?

Mostly generic.

par Thomas M

12 févr. 2018

Don't know if the instructor was nervous or just not competent. Pretty much useless if you have any type of training in publich speaking.

1 He speaks WAY TOO fast...and seems nervous and insecure

2 No clear communication (which is funny as he is trying to teach you to communicate!)

3. Do not seem to understand the topic very well (typical Academia, who never actutally done any real work)

par Mohit S

19 mars 2018

This course could be made more interactive and informative.

par PINJARI S A S A

1 févr. 2020

good