Chevron Left
Retour à Statistiques déductives

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Statistiques déductives par Université Duke

4.8
stars
1,563 évaluations
281 avis

À propos du cours

This course covers commonly used statistical inference methods for numerical and categorical data. You will learn how to set up and perform hypothesis tests, interpret p-values, and report the results of your analysis in a way that is interpretable for clients or the public. Using numerous data examples, you will learn to report estimates of quantities in a way that expresses the uncertainty of the quantity of interest. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The course introduces practical tools for performing data analysis and explores the fundamental concepts necessary to interpret and report results for both categorical and numerical data...

Meilleurs avis

ZC

Aug 24, 2017

This course by Professor Çetinkaya-Rundel is awesome because it is taught in a very clear and vivid way. Lab section and forum are so dope that I love them so much! Definitely strong recommendation!!!

MN

Mar 01, 2017

Great course. If you put in a little effort, you will come out with a lot of new knowledge. I recommend using the book after you have seen the movies. It gives a deeper picture of how it works. Great!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 276 Avis pour Statistiques déductives

par Diego R G

May 25, 2019

A very good introduction to the fundamentals of inference and NHST. It's very important that you do all excercises and readings or you will not learn as much. Also, the course won't provide a lot of information on how to use R, but if you spend a good amount of time on your project and make sure that it's good you will learn enough. I had to review a lot of R projects that were not very good, which suggests that some students aren't learning what they should.

If you want to learn statistics or have limited knowledge on the topic, and also want to learn a bit about how to use R, take the course. If you already know statistics and you only want to learn R, then this might not be the course for you, as the emphasis is on statistics per se.

par Duane S

Mar 08, 2017

This course is an excellent overview of inferential statistic tests / hypothesis tests and confidence intervals. The organization and material is quite good, with exercises and applications using R.

par Jeremy L

Sep 20, 2018

Solid 3 stars. Lots of material is covered quickly and I learned a lot. The lectures are informative and supplement the book (I definitely recommend reading the (free) book). On the negative side, I noticed that the online discussion forum for the course isn't monitored by the instructors and the mentors seem to respond to only some questions. I noticed that almost all of the questions posted by students in the past year that went unanswered. I mean no one even bothered to respond to them at all. That's shameful, esp. if those students who submitted questions are paying for a certificate.

par Chanuwas A

Nov 21, 2018

The course is very useful and helps me understand the formal testing process of data analysis. I just hope it would cover more of non-parametric testing techniques and dive into a bit more into effect size testing. Anyway, It also provides a lot of insights into important statistical measures of information, which could potentially be extended to the field of predictive modeling and machine learning.

par Henri M

Feb 14, 2019

G

r

e

a

t

C

o

u

r

s

e

.

I

l

e

a

r

n

e

d

a

l

o

t

.

par Natalie R

May 21, 2019

Well-taught, but they need to provide more resources to help people learn R. R is not a user-friendly app and I needed to google how to do a lot of the things they're asking us to do. Needless to say, I can google how to work in R on my own without paying Coursera a fee.

par Ian R

Feb 07, 2018

The course did teach statistics but there were some problems with R commands, assignment expectations and grading outcomes. For one, this course really needs to do a better job of emphasizing that the student is expected to use R commands provided by Course 1 (I think it's called "Exploring Data") as well as this one. It would be helpful if students had easy access to all of the labs in that course as well as this one. Secondly, the list of expectations given out for the final project omitted several requirements (apparently we are expected to use R commands learned) though this is a small problem.

The biggest problem is the peer-grading. Reviewing other peers was actually very helpful in that it does teach you about your mistakes. For example, I realized after grading others that I had made two major errors and was ready to redo my project if needed or, if I passed, never make those types of errors again. This feeling that you are learning and that this is a quality course is taken away when your grade doesn't match your work. In my case, I got a perfect score which is nonsense. Like I said I made two big mistakes one of which was not including a confidence interval when I should have. What if I made others that I didn't see?

Feedback is important. It is a big part of learning. So is the ability to actually use the skills being taught (the R commands were taught much less clearly than say in Datacamp which this course suggests we use even though it is NOT free and I signed up for the Duke course specifically because it taught statistics using R). It's a good course overall and you will learn statistics; but when you're charging people a fairly high monthly fee, you should deliver on your promises to give feedback and to effectively teach one of the major course goals.

par Try K

Mar 23, 2018

While I understand and appreciate that the scope of the class is more focused on the application / ideas of the statistical methods without delving too much into the mathematics, I would appreciate if some of it was used to explain why some equations work the way that they do. For example, in talking about F test statistics, it was difficult to understand the reasoning behind F = variance between groups / variance within groups until I had to look up other explanations elsewhere. While I believe that the instructor teaches well in most parts, I often find it difficult to follow along because she goes through a lot of assumptions and I'm unclear as how / why she is allowed to go on her assumptions.

par Aydar A

Nov 03, 2017

It was good. But I feel like I've spent half of the time untangling sly phrasing of questions.

par Daniel H

Jun 29, 2019

An overview of inference, light on the math, light on the theory, and with an unfortunate failure to reinforce what may be the most important part of practice: what should be done when conditions for a particular method are not met. When you teach students how to evaluate the conditions required for certain methods, but then walk through those methods even when the conditions aren't met, you reinforce poor practice. If you want to use an example where the conditions aren't met, STOP once you find out the conditions aren't met. STOP and REINFORCE the fact that you cannot use a method without meeting conditions. It is not a valuable exercise to walk through the plug and chug calculations anyway. STOP, discuss why you can't proceed, and then move on to another example if you want to give your students an opportunity to practice taking the method through to its conclusion.

par Jamison T

Jul 05, 2018

I should not be charged if I have completed the project and simply waiting for other users to review it. This is dependent on how many users are taking the course at any given time. A bad system that results in users paying more for uncontrollable uncertain factors...

par Rui Z

May 14, 2019

Professor Mine is terrific. I'm sure she has a great depth of knowledge and grateful that she's able to deliver her knowledge out to listeners. She uses meaningful examples all along the course, no dry pure mathematical cases at all. That helps a ton to digest concepts. And she constantly repeat some core concepts and how to interpret a statistic right. I didn't realize how important this was until I was challenged with questions, then I came back and hear again her interpretation, and the whole thing became clearer. She's one of the best professors I've ever listened to, and I've been through grad school, met so many professors.

The current mentor Rolf was great at supporting. He answers a lot of questions in the forum. He's very responsible and supportive. So if you're considering on taking this course, take it now as mentor will change!

I haven't finished the course yet, but the enrollment rate seems to be quite decent, so I wouldn't expect it to take too long to get final project reviewed and get certificate. I assume this is an important issue for any course takers.

The only downside is that there could be more R code teaching, especially on complicated simulations. That way it may be more friendly to R beginners. I know it's important to do research ourselves for codes, but beginners could lack of proper terminology or vision by nature to do the research on Google. Especially when I'm physically in the Main Land of China, where it takes some efforts to even get on Google, so doing code research took a lot of my time and was a little frustrating towards the end.

But again, the overall course and support are great! If this is not a 5 start course, I can hardly give out my highest mark to any other courses. It helped me to understand inferencial statistics, practice R, and think more like a statistician.

par Hao C

Nov 06, 2019

Teaching: I really like the clear and concise teaching style of lecturer and the wide range of simple real-life example used to explain the course content.

I’m a social science student. Although I’ve studied quantitative research methods before, this course gives me some new insights into inferential statistics. I think I will never forget the statistical meaning of p-value after this course!

Course Structure: The course structure is well organized with clear focus in each week.

The first and second weeks are easy to follow, but the third and fourth weeks are more challenging.

Textbook: The textbook used in this course is a good supplementary material, although it is not necessary to read the textbook. Course videos have already explained everything that we need to know at intro level. However, it is worth reading the textbook for the third and fourth weeks.

Assessment: The assessment of quiz in each week is relatively easy. The exploratory data analysis required in peer-reviewed assignment is slightly challenging, because it might be hard for beginners to touch every required point.

par Jorge L

Oct 20, 2016

Terrific course, i got here after starting the Data Science specialization on John Hopkins uni on Coursera, but there bit on statistics is awful, a waste of time.

I decided to give Courser another shot and definitely not regretting it, this course really go over the basics clearly and make sure to make enough exercise to revisit that clearly explain the fundamentals.

I was happy as getting to the final assignment i found myself doing quite an advance analysis and inference that i notice i really understood the topics on the course.

par 이제민

Aug 06, 2016

It has a little expensive tuition fee than other courses such as Data Science (Johns Hopkins) and Data life (HarvardX_edx). But I decided this course rather than choosing the others because I felt that it was well organized and quite good supplements. What I like most about this course is instructor. She looks like enthusiastic to give a her idea and wisdom. It attracts me to take this course even though it is expensive relatively. Anyway, I appreciate her for dedicated teaching in advance.

par Kuntal G

Oct 06, 2016

It is really the best Statistics course that i have ever done. After doing all the course in statistics i'm very much confident in statistics. The course and Specialization is very clear, concise, nice explanation with example videos to have better understanding of the theory. It is highly recommended course for anyone interested to learn statistics in their career. Please do the maximum the course in the specialization to have good grasp of statistics if you are beginner like me :)

par Dario B

Nov 06, 2018

Very interesting material. Statistical inference was one of the great mysteries for me, and it is indeed a technical topic. But the professor does a great job in presenting the material in an intuitive way, giving an awesome introduction. Very interesting real examples too.

Looking forward to have a proof-based equivalent course, though maybe I should focus on a forma probability course first.

par Ondina F P

May 17, 2019

Very good explained course, with lot of useful exercise, so you can be sure to understand the theory. Th practical examples in R are well designed and explained. This is definitely a must for someone interested in statistics, with beginning concepts that you need to keep in mind for further coursers. The teaches is also excellent, explanation and examples are very good. Recommended!

par John F W S

Nov 05, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, it is pitched at just the right level for someone who is sometimes busy with part time work. It does ask that when you study, you study well. I've not learned any programming before these courses, so sometimes my knowledge of R is lacking. But it is rewarding to learn R to really see these statistical ideas come alive.

par Jose N d l R

May 25, 2017

If you are new to this, get ready to sweat. This course teaches many many concepts and if you think that it tiptoes around it you will be surprised. You might walk away and forget some of the methods and tests since there are too many, but you won't get away without learning to interpret and reasoning absolutely everything that you compute or do.

par Jesus

May 16, 2016

Great course, the professor is able to explain and articulate complex ideas into a digestible manner. If you ever taken a statistics class you know would know how incredibly rare it is to have such a great professor able to explain the material as well as she does. Thanks you very much Dr. Mine Cetinkaya-Rundel for teaching this course.

par Jacob T

May 07, 2019

The best online course I have taken so far. It teaches you all the statistical methods you need to do for inference. The lessons are well taught and organized in a way where each lesson builds off the previous. The final project is also a great way to put everything you learned throughout together.

par Amarendra S

Feb 26, 2019

Had a great learning experience with in depth knowledge of statistics, inference and hypothesis. Structure of the course helped me grasp things in an organized way. The use of real time data to explain concepts had a great impact in making things easier to understand and relate to things around us.

par José J P A

Jul 04, 2016

Excelente curso. Vale totalmente la pena tomarlo. Es muy importante atender la lectura sugerida y tomar notas. Complementando la platica junto con la lectura sugerida estoy seguro que tendrás las herramientas necesarias para iniciar un desarrollo en el ámbito de análisis de datos.

par Praneeth K

Apr 17, 2017

The course is structured very well and has some great content, suitable for anyone who is just beginning with statistics in R or if you want a refresher on statistics. Dr. Milne is a great instructor, i have taken some other courses of her's and was never disappointed.