Chevron Left
Retour à Industrial Biotechnology

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Industrial Biotechnology par Université de Manchester

4.7
étoiles
2,278 évaluations
536 avis

À propos du cours

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

Meilleurs avis

MK
5 mars 2021

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

JC
28 avr. 2020

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 539 Avis pour Industrial Biotechnology

par Michael N

8 mars 2019

it was pretty good. I learned a lot. Im from Dominican Republic and i didnt know how wonderful and widely is this area of industrial biotechnology. it makes me wanna know more about all of this

par Wael G E

28 janv. 2020

a very nice course for a beginner like me to start understanding the wonderful world of biotechnology in industry. I would like to improve in this course is to offer a certificate of achievement.

par In A L T

30 avr. 2020

the first week was so of point but the other weeks are grate

and the other star for not having a certificate :(

par Shivani N L

15 avr. 2020

It could've been more interactive and the notes in the ppt's more short and sweet .

par BEATRIZ L P

6 avr. 2020

Great course, however you must offer a certificate

par Lahiru P H

26 sept. 2021

The course was super awesome... Thank you for offering me a financial aid and for issuing the certificate without any discrimination.... Thanks a lot COURSERA and THE UNIVERSTY of MANCHESTER... I love its content and I'm sure that one won't regret to spare time on this !!!

par Muthu 9

15 déc. 2019

This was a very interesting course. It showcased a variety of techniques that are currently being applied in the field of biotechnology. This course provided a wide variety of industrial applications of biotechnology being applied in various sectors.

par Aura A T G

10 mai 2021

Es un curso muy completo que te introduce a diversas áreas emocionantes de la biotecnología. Da ejemplos concretos y complementa bien tu conocimiento si estudias una carrera relacionada a estos temas. Definitivamente lo recomiendo :D

par Moiz K

6 mars 2021

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

par Shivaji B M

13 juil. 2020

such a excellent platform, educators are so well they explained each and every concept in very simplified way.I am very happy to gain a lots of knowledge abot actual industrial biotechnology

par Heidy X F G

16 avr. 2021

Me gustó bastante la temática que trataron en el curso, algo bastante interesante y aplicable para mi profesión.

par Amal A

8 oct. 2021

Very informative. Got to learn a lot as a high school student, but I had to do some extra research and reading on the respective topics for better understanding.

par Deepak Y

12 avr. 2020

Helpfull

par Atul B

12 oct. 2021

Some of the concepts were probably much more suited to an experienced practitioner as opposed to someone seeking introduction to principles of biotechnology

par Sebastian S

1 avr. 2020

Usable as a very general overview, detailed insight lacking.

par Wong K H

16 mai 2018

Highly useful. But I wish there was an explanation for terms

par Vedika N

2 févr. 2020

i really like the course and it was quite informative

par Sonali k

16 mai 2020

This course was very helpful and provide lot of information

par Debankita D

11 sept. 2021

Did not receive any certificate at the end, which was quite unexpected..After taking the assignments, there must be a recognition at least.

par Angelo R

8 mai 2021

The course certificate needs to fix, instead of Manchester it says Man and the rest is missing.

par Maily S G A

13 sept. 2020

Certificate problems. The university logo does not fully load on the certifcate.

par Patricia M N

15 juil. 2020

Thanks to all professors of the Industrial Biotechnology course. The course syllabus was very well designed with every topic being taught in depth; which allowed me to learn a lot and enjoy each topic. My only complaint is that given the advanced level of the course there was not certificate available. I would like that in the future the University of Manchester offers in Coursera a specialization degree in Industrial Biotechnology and later a master and doctorate degree in the same field.

Besides, I would like that, given the depth experience of University of Manchester in this field, also offer courses in Molecular Tools for microorganism identification in soils and water and Microbial inoculant formulation for environmental and agriculture uses.

Thanks again for this wonderful course,

Patricia Martinez

Best Regards,

Patricia Martinez

Mostrar mensaje original

par Leidy J G G

15 août 2020

It really was a course that contributed a lot to me, I am a student of engineering in agro-industrial processes and complement my knowledge about: -The enzymes, how they work, how they are manufactured, their classification etc. -Synthetic biology which is an evolving field, designing a genome,production of useful molecules, the central dogma, directed metabolomics -Biochemical and bioprocess engineering, the subject of material balance was really captivating for me, I managed to understand the subject with the everyday examples it describes. I could go on to describe all the knowledge that this course offers, but in reality I can only recommend this course. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

par Ethan H Q A

25 juil. 2020

I think that this course actually requires moderately strong understanding of Organic Chemistry to understand certain sections, such as the fourth module on pharmaceutical processes. The case studies used in that module could certainly be simplified and conveyed more effectively to students lacking the Organic Chemistry foundation and better labeling of diagrams would allow us to keep track of the numerous chemical processes. Overall, it provides a tremendously reliable projection of the future of biotechnology applications and how students like myself could apply basic science concepts to productive and life-changing research.

par Thakshila W

6 déc. 2021

I'm Thakshila and I'm specializing in biotechnology from a state university of Sri Lanka. Actually this course motivated me to think differently in biotechnology field. Because this course taught to think out of the box. Also, I'm really happy as I could get 100 marks for 5 assignments from all 6 assignments in this course with the final grade of 98.54% for the whole course. I really really really recommend this course for students those who are passionate in this field. And also the lecturers of this course are doing it very well and their teaching style is really attractive. Thank you