Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of Immunology: Death by Friendly Fire

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of Immunology: Death by Friendly Fire par Université de Rice

4.7
étoiles
192 évaluations
28 avis

À propos du cours

Course 3 of a three course specialization called Fundamentals of Immunology. Each course in the specialization presents material that builds on the previous course's material. This is the third leg of the journey through the defenses your body uses to keep you healthy. In the first course we learned about innate immunity and B cell function. In the second course we studied T cell function and coordination of the immune response. Fundamentals of Immunology: Death by Friendly Fire introduces students to the basic functions of the adaptive and innate immune systems. The early lectures survey cells, tissues and organs using metaphors, cartoons and models to improve understanding and retention. After describing the form, function, origin and varieties of antibodies, subsequent lectures provide details on the mechanism of the generation of variation. The course provides animations of gene rearrangement and class switching and descriptions of affinity maturation correlated with detailed physical models of antibody structure. The final lecture reviews these concepts in anatomical context. Testing employs multiple choice questions testing facts, concepts, and application of principles. Questions may refer to diagrams, drawing and photographs used in lecture and reproduced in the outline. What You’ll Learn: A survey of immune cells and how they attack pathogens, with emphasis on the mechanism of inducing apoptosis and details of Antibody Directed Cell-mediated Cytotoxicity. The inflammatory response and mechanisms of generating tolerance, presented in sequence to emphasize the decision making involved in controlling attacks. A survey of autoimmune disease, their characteristics, cause and treatment. Survey of hypersensitivity reactions, including allergy, anaphylaxis, anemias, granulomas, and a variety of skin responses. This is accompanied by identification, prevention and treatment. The final discussion of preventing transplant rejection is preceded by a detailed unit on antibody technology and the methods of testing for incompatibility....

Meilleurs avis

MF
8 sept. 2020

Highly recommended to Biology and Life Science students.\n\nI liked the enthusiastic way of teaching from Dr. Alma\n\nIf you have a small interest, go ahead.

IS
21 avr. 2020

Amazing course, brilliant lecturer, entertaining and fascinating presentation of complex material that contributes to quick memorization.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 29 Avis pour Fundamentals of Immunology: Death by Friendly Fire

par Wenlei Y

8 avr. 2020

This course connects the knowledge points introduced in the previous two courses, offers a systematic overview of immunity from a cell level to an individual level, and provides information with clinical implication. The practice quiz has a few mistakes, but you can figure them out in the discussion forum. Overall, I recommend it!

par Chris P

13 janv. 2020

Third course of lectures in a series that gives a great introduction to immunology. This is a more applied course compared to the two earlier courses, but I'd recommend starting with the earlier lecture series unless you have a prior grasp of immunology fundamentals.

par Irina S

21 avr. 2020

Amazing course, brilliant lecturer, entertaining and fascinating presentation of complex material that contributes to quick memorization.

par Durbar S

3 janv. 2020

the course demands the application of the other two courses. the material was sufficient. Prof. Novotny was really good and funny.

par Sunil S

17 mai 2020

The best and concise course on the important fundamental immunological process.

par Lorenzo T I

27 oct. 2020

Dr. Novotny never failed to amaze me from the first course up to this last part of the series. This specialization provides a well-structured flow of thought that will help you digest the humungous amount of information and overwhelming terminologies inherent in the field.

par Arunangsu S

21 août 2020

I never had a professor like Dr Alma Mam. She has been excellent throughout the specialization course. Although I will have to go through all of this again to grasp the concept even better thanks for making it so smooth

par MUHAMMAD Z A F

9 sept. 2020

Highly recommended to Biology and Life Science students.

I liked the enthusiastic way of teaching from Dr. Alma

If you have a small interest, go ahead.

par Piatkova M A

15 juil. 2020

I really like this course, it's a great chance to understand the complicated things in a simple and funny way

par Sholeye M I

7 juil. 2020

Excellent lecture and a very good content and a brilliant and funny lecturer.

par Prarthana S

27 oct. 2020

Very interesting course with great insights into the field of immunology

par Dr. V V

15 juil. 2020

Interesting course and more informative. Thank for Teacher

par GUTALA S

21 juil. 2020

Very useful go me and I had gain more knowledge from u

par Ritika A

28 nov. 2020

Had an amazing experience learning with this course

par SANDRA M S

14 août 2020

This is really amazing.. Prof. Alma is the best

par Prashanna K

10 mai 2020

Excellent content with a very good instructor.

par JASEERA N

16 juin 2020

Excellent presentation

par Rui H

22 févr. 2020

Very helpful to me.

par AGRAHARI A R G

20 sept. 2020

very good course

par Mohamad A M

8 avr. 2020

perfect course

par Sathyaprakash

12 sept. 2020

Very good one

par MOHAMMAD G A A

30 juil. 2020

Good course

par fernando g u

14 juin 2020

excelente

par Nikhesh C

29 avr. 2020

very good

par Mintu S

30 sept. 2020

Cool!!