Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Imagemaking

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Imagemaking par California Institute of the Arts

4.5
étoiles
2,667 évaluations

À propos du cours

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Meilleurs avis

LC

8 oct. 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

RJ

18 août 2018

This is more challenging that it seems. It forces you to think creatively and critically with a seemingly simple subject. I recommend this course for anyone who wants to work with their hands a bit

Filtrer par :

451 - 475 sur 589 Avis pour Introduction to Imagemaking

par J-Man

25 mars 2019

Quite a free and open guide which kind of minimises it as a tutorial. However it shows how iteration and alternative methods can help with creation.

par Sarah N

3 nov. 2016

This course is very good for beginners of using images and need to know how to set images together and anyone did not studied graphic design before

par Brandalyn A

31 oct. 2022

This course was fun, but I feel some aspects were not explained in a language that was easily understood by those newer to graphic design.

par krystal G

5 mai 2020

It's a good course that introduce me to art and design. Anyway, it take a lot of time and might not suit for who didn't have basic in art.

par Lana

24 mars 2019

I felt like standalone course its probably good, but as a part of specialization it is a bit repetitive of the design introduction course

par Chimdiebere A

21 sept. 2020

The course was a very enlightening one. I liked every bit it. I would like it if the course could cover digital image making in details.

par Seung H L

9 sept. 2020

I did not like how less people contribute to the course.. some people neglect the comment and don't read some comment about the artwork.

par Mihaela-Lucia M

25 août 2020

great course for learning and practicing your skills. I gave 4 stars because some of the assignments were unclear and a bit confusing.

par Anita G

28 déc. 2020

i really enjoyed the course, however more insight in imagemaking would be great. Some assignments also were a little confusing

par Ana A

14 mai 2016

This course teach you to think out of the box and if you have the courage and try, you will take it for the rest of your life.

par H. A

9 juin 2020

The course is incredible, it gives a wide range of options to execute the assignments beautifully! I learned a lot

par zhra s

21 juil. 2022

I do not know the reason for not passing the course, obtaining the certificate, and completing the Brinage course

par Jel C

14 janv. 2017

I liked how there's such an open approach to the course and it gave me a lot of chances to practice design.

par Kelly L

7 avr. 2018

I wish there was more lessons on specific creative techniques. Otherwise good class. Well worth the time!

par Beverley H

25 oct. 2016

Really enjoyed the challenges it made me face with designing my own booklet.Has inspired me to do more.

par Justyna B

12 juil. 2019

Great course and quite heavy on the assignment part. Nevertheless, this is where true learning starts.

par Susan M

24 mars 2017

Good introduction to important workflow concepts for creating and designing publications from scratch

par Kasturi K

30 mai 2020

very very interesting , highly recommend if u looking for a good course to do during this quarantine

par Eumorphia K

20 juil. 2016

Very interesting through creative assignments you can learn and refine things about image telling.

par Stacey J J

11 juin 2020

fun course - lots of hands-on assignments and the videos did a good job explaining the concepts.

par Winnie W

14 juil. 2017

More theory and example will give students more detail about image making. Not only a notion.

par Mohamed K E S

26 juin 2017

again for this kind of course, peer review isn't really effective.

but the content is nice.

par Mustafa O Ç

8 avr. 2017

Thanks for this creative course that learned us different ways andaspects of image making.

par Verasha N

17 mars 2021

This course helped me to tell a story or convey a message through the use of images.

par Chris

10 mai 2020

Great video content. Assignment targets can be difficult to understand at times.