Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Imagemaking

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Imagemaking par California Institute of the Arts

4.5
étoiles
2,096 évaluations
439 avis

À propos du cours

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Meilleurs avis

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 435 Avis pour Introduction to Imagemaking

par Sakshi J

Jul 02, 2018

I really enjoyed working in this course. It is action oriented and demanding. The instructions were precise and clear, and the results led to new learnings.

par Ar. S D

Aug 15, 2020

a great course for exploring the image making process. Thank you so much for this beautiful course adn all the information and reading materials provided.

par Nene W

Feb 06, 2017

thought provoking course and the practical aspects were especially enjoyable. like looking at a subject in fresh new ways, then you would love this course

par Rui

Mar 09, 2019

I really appreciate the listed styles and artist in week 2. It really helps for people who likes modern art but do not know that many excellent artists.

par Aba N

May 23, 2017

Gail Swanlund has done a great job of pacing the course and progressively teaching this image-making course with lots of great examples and resources.

par Magdalena P

Jun 14, 2019

This course is really hands on and allows you to practice as you learn regarding composition, imagemaking and the different techniques involved.

par Diana A

May 20, 2018

This course is amazing, I really enjoyed all the content. If you wanna expand your creativity about making images, you should take this course.

par Sharon S

Jun 15, 2017

i loved it - it gave me the opportunity to freely explore perspectives and investigating the world in order to do my works. I had a great time.

par Francois B

Jun 26, 2020

It was the course in the graphic design that I thought I'd be least interested in and ended up being the one I enjoyed the most. Thank you :)

par Guthrie A

May 09, 2019

Great exercises and the final project was very fun! I learned a lot about myself and ways to discover things I don't know. Highly recommend.

par Henintsoa T A

Sep 13, 2016

I loved it, it pushes me to get out of my confort zone. the course helped me a lot especially in discovering new technique for image making.

par Kassy S

May 27, 2016

From the lectures, we've got the techniques of making various types of images and also the basic points of making images and compose images.

par Viktoriya F

Jun 02, 2020

Excellent course. I never thought that I am able to design my own book from scratch. Thanks a lot for a new knowledge and believe in me!:)

par Celeste S

Aug 08, 2019

A really cool course. I loved the way how every topic was develope and the way this made me watch the things in a different perspective.

par David A V D S

Apr 28, 2018

Has been hard comprehend all the process that is need to express a message, but have help me a lot this part of the course. Very well!

par Claudia M L T C

Sep 20, 2020

A great way to learn about composition, variety of styles and waaay more, all in a chill virtual classroom. Nice, just what I needed!

par Adriana C N T

Mar 21, 2019

I really liked this course, for its content and practice exercises. Awaken creativity and the results of my work, I surprised myself!

par Ellie R

Sep 29, 2018

Great course that pushes you to explore the breadth of possibilities in creating images aside from the traditional and realistic way.

par Hasan I M

Dec 26, 2019

I think some video music need to lower a bit. Cause, can't hear the teacher's voice clearly. Besides this the course is helpful.

par SYED Q

Jul 18, 2017

I really like that course and I will try my best to do more. Its really Important for every Graphic Designer and becoming artist.

par Stephania A Q

Oct 23, 2020

a very good course. very complete, I really learned a lot, although I would like it to be longer and with a more advanced level

par Alexander H

Jul 31, 2017

Increíble este curso práctico donde de ejerce todo lo aprendido en los anteriores.. Toda la especialización esta muy bien hecha

par Oluwaseun O O

Oct 23, 2016

i was never comfortable with image making, but this course had given me a lot of confidence and i made a drawing i was proud of

par Oksana P

Jan 29, 2017

Thank you very much for this great course. I have learned a lot and definitely gained new skills that will help me in my work.

par Salem F A

Apr 14, 2019

Thank you coursera and thanks for the teacher for the great information

I learn a lot in the previews courses thank you again