Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Imagemaking

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Imagemaking par California Institute of the Arts

4.5
étoiles
1,860 évaluations
381 avis

À propos du cours

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Meilleurs avis

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 376 Avis pour Introduction to Imagemaking

par Britt B C

Jun 11, 2017

I felt like this course was a super waste of my time and if anything should have been an intro class. There wasn't much that came out of it. If you have ever taken an intro to art class it's essentially the same thing. I feel like there should have been more to gain from the class than just making projects

par Aaron M

Dec 25, 2019

Instructions were very unclear and were interpreted differently by each student. Instructor was very dull compared to the other instructors. Because each student interpreted the instructions differently, grades were all over the place and it was very hard to understand what we were supposed to do.

par Miloslav V

Aug 29, 2019

Lectures are just weird. I managed to get 91% when accidentally submitting week 1 work to week 2 assignment. Course is too artsy and so full of questionable hipster quirks.

par Gaetano S

Apr 29, 2016

I personally did not find it constructive enough to spend money on.

It is way too general and basic. I expected something more articulated and not so elementary

par Christine E

May 17, 2020

The assignments were complicated and it wasn't always easy to follow.

par allaa s

May 10, 2018

I Didn't find it helpful actually

par Edi O

Sep 21, 2016

The course is delivered in a simple manner, easy to follow and with clear instructions. I'm not sure how much a peer review is a valuable contribution once most of the students don't really know how to criticize properly the peer's assignment, either always giving the full mark or evaluating according to its personal ideas and not necessary what the exercises called for. Anyway, it's still a very valuable alternative to formal education, specially if the student is committed enough.

par MV N

Dec 17, 2017

Very useful for image-makers, to clarify many aspects of creation and composition, with very useful practice activities, that set the knowledge and make your way of making images be wider. After the course you end with a big set of different images you never thought you would be able to do, plus a little book. I've enjoyed it a lot. You also learn to comment and make a good critique of images, as well as to improve your way of composing without he comments of your peers.

par Angela M F

May 17, 2016

Very practical, great exercise, easy to understand and follow through, the student doesn’t need major computer programs or high quality technology in order to complete each assignment. The design of each assignment is made to use your imaginations, hands on tools and materials. Love the videos, clear, to the point beautiful made. Lots of room to work and do something quite good and unique if the student want! I am really having fun!

Thank you!

par Jordan L P

Jun 29, 2020

It is one of the most insightful courses I have ever taken. It gave me a brand new way on how to see art, convey it in ways I couldn't imagine doing before. The instructions were self-paced, crystal clear, and the instructions are clearly defined to help you (and me) follow through it with the given assessments or assignments each week. Truly, it is a wonderful (maybe even life-changing) experience for me.

par Helene C

Dec 04, 2017

By taking this course, you will gain better understanding of how to create an image, manipulate its visual aspects and the meaning it carries. As the title of this course implies, you will be making images from scratch or assembling ready made images that will develop into something else. I personally enjoyed the four weeks sequence. Recommended to novice or intermediate seeking some brushup.

par Sabrina S

Jun 21, 2020

Super inspiring course with a super creative instructor: I really loved Gail Swanlund's unconventional way of teaching. Her videos are really poetic, encouraging and teeny-tiny bit crazy as well. I had a lot of fun experimenting, creating and making images, but also giving feedback to other students and seeing their creative work. Learned a lot, but in a really playful (and unusual) way!

par Valentina D

Feb 16, 2017

Great course! Thanks to the organizers from all my heart! I received a charge of inspiration, learned a lot. Thanks to all the classmates for their feedback and good wishes! It was great to see the works and approaches of others. I was able to realize my old ideas, the course has pushed me to the point to be more focused and self-disciplined. I feel more positive and able! Thank you!

par John M

Nov 11, 2019

This was one of the most enjoyable classes I've taken so far. Gail encouraged me to have fun with the image making process. Learning the different styles of composition was also extremely helpful. I realize peer reviews are an important part of learning, but I would also like to have actual staff/teachers provide feedback and assessments.

par Michelle G

Sep 11, 2017

I have really enjoyed the Introduction to Imagemaking course. It has inspired me to do more visual research and helped me gain a deeper understanding of that process. It has also inspired me to get hands on and generate lots of different images; I feel i have stretched my boundaries in doing this.

par Daria Z

Apr 27, 2017

So far it's been just about 1 week since i have started the course, but I'm really excited, i like the tasks! The course is built in a way that really motivates you to create! After all it's a core goal for the Graphic designer! Keep it up! Let's see what happens next! Good luck to every one!

par Julie S

Mar 08, 2019

This course seemed really right brained and artsy - which I guess was the point. I'm used to a lot more structure and instruction. But I really had fun with the course and assignments. I learned a lot about what I could do in imagemaking that I really had never explored before.

par Ferdinand P

Sep 01, 2016

Image-making will let you appreciate how a design is formed. Having finished the course, I look at designs now as more than just a representation of something. I see designs now as art forms, styled to express not only its connotative meaning but its denotative meaning as well.

par Samantha F

Mar 11, 2019

This was a great course. It helped me commit to an idea and follow through with it over the course of th four weeks. It also helped me to think outside the box and not be afraid to start imagemaking from scratch and build on it through practice and experimentation.

par Alice C

May 22, 2020

I had the opportunity to stop for a moment and deepen the different work processes for creating images. I found it interesting to see the same object in different perspectives and make it in totally different ways, to then tell a story with a narrative rhythm.

par Roberto M A

Sep 30, 2018

Excellent course, with a very practical approach and a wonderful strategy of learning by doing. During this course we receive very important knowledge and information about composition, storytelling and techniques of image-making. Simple excellent!

par Muhammad I

Jul 01, 2020

It was a wonderful experience of image-making. It was also the first time I came out from my comfort zone and actually did some design work to my portfolio. Thanks, Coursera, Thanks CALARTS, and thanks to our teachers who made us a visual person.

par Michelle H

Jan 09, 2017

Engaged, passionate and enquiring teachers who produced excellent course materials. Great assessment format with feedback and grading from fellow students. An inspiring course encouraging an experimental and open approach with making images. :D

par Juan C E

Nov 22, 2016

This is an inspiring course, and a challenge to go back to the basics. As I was at college 2 decades ago, this has been a powerful experience of re-discover and put to work my talents and skills. A true turning point in life! Thank you.

par Xiomara C

Jun 23, 2016

You make me work... grab crayons and paint. And that's exactly the kind of things I needed to do to make images, just theory wouldn't make a thing. Very well structured course, the Coursera plattform is amazing!!! (pardon my english)