Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Imagemaking

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Imagemaking par California Institute of the Arts

4.5
étoiles
1,729 évaluations
346 avis

À propos du cours

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Meilleurs avis

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

Filtrer par :

226 - 250 sur 343 Avis pour Introduction to Imagemaking

par Petra L M

Oct 30, 2017

thank you

par Kristian J L D R

Mar 25, 2017

Very Nice

par liangzi l

Jul 28, 2017

Amazing!

par Erica S

May 19, 2016

loved it

par Eimy S M G

Jan 03, 2020

I loved

par Doaa M M

Aug 02, 2019

جيد جدا

par udit k

Jan 30, 2018

thanks

par chise

Feb 09, 2020

goood

par lily r

Jun 19, 2017

Nice!

par M R

Mar 04, 2020

szxd

par ahmed a e

Oct 30, 2018

good

par B B

Feb 18, 2017

<3

par ruben

Jun 30, 2018

.

par kati s

Sep 26, 2016

A

par Corinne M

Apr 14, 2016

G

par Monica E G

May 27, 2019

The contents of the classes itself is really really good, the videos, the assigment. But my 4 starts is because the method of coursera is annoying, having to go to forum many times to ask people to review so you can go on in the course, so the forum doensn't work to share knowledge is just for people to ask for review. Also there is no moderation about the reviews, I had a lot on reviews just saying "good"or well done". I expected at least the final course would be checked. One thing that made me waste time is that for 3 times I had to go to chat with us to ask to unlock my course, I didnt do that I would have to wait more than a week for star the new week and I had the impression is an impressiona that coursera make this to make us spend more time on the plataform.

par Keith W

Jun 08, 2016

Very good course with fun and challenging assignments. My only criticism of this series of courses (the graphic design specialization) is the grading process and lack of instructor interaction. While the peer grading is setup so that it's not too difficult to receive a decent grade if you do the work, there is virtually no instructor feedback on assignments, which is a bit dissapointing. I realize this may be due to the huge number of students, but usually when I pay for a class, interaction and feedback from the instructor is part of the package. Perhaps if you did that, though, then the tuition cost would be much higher.

par Niladri S J

May 18, 2020

The course was great in terms of imparting the skills to create a range of representation, and composition strategies for spread. The course is helpful for students who would create layouts of books with illustrations, brochures, or other marketing communications, etc. However, I think we needed more practice as the last two weeks had only one assignment per week. I would have loved two more things - in general, a bit longer videos on the theory and explaining more of it, and review of some examples for week 3.

par Sue D

May 12, 2016

I love taking courses by the California Institute of the Arts. With that being said this course wasn't the best. It seemed there was not enough information provided. The assignments were too simple. It also seemed like this very material was covered in an earlier course. At least it was available for everyone, not just those that paid. The critiques are the most important part and it was still provided for this course. For that reason alone I raised my review from 2 stars to 4.

par guy k

Jun 18, 2019

There is a lot of great information. The instructions in some of the assignments are not the clearest. I didn't have a flowing learning experience. There is too much information and sources. It got me a bit out of it instead of focused. I can see it working not online because there is truly great information presented. I think some adjustment should be done for a better user experience.

par Teri L

Jul 09, 2018

Introduction to Imagemaking by the California Institute of Arts is an easy, accessible course online. Of course, it is a build-on to all the skills and vocabulary learnt from the last two courses. From this, the assignments are quite fair and understandable and are build-ups to eventually make a short pictorial narrative at the end.

par Olli V

Feb 13, 2018

A well-structured and inspiring course that broadened my perspectives on imagemaking. Although it's clear that imagemaking is definitely an open-ended process, I felt there could've been more examples of digital imagemaking techniques and compositions to give a more comprehensive template for creative thought. Recommended!

par Rose G

Dec 13, 2019

I really enjoyed the course and doing all the assignments, I could clearly see the potential of my creativity and my style. I thought some of the videos were a little difficult to sit through, maybe the voice was too calm/soft and got sleepy? But the material was great, it was a lot of fun and learned a lot.

par Paul M

May 09, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and it was one of the most helpful along with the Typography course, but it felt a little impersonal and short on information when I compare this one to the previous ones. I would love to look at more examples of imagemaking and uses of hierarchy.

par Stephanie N

May 03, 2016

Much of the course seemed to cover what was previously discussed. About the only thing this course did for me was to introduce me to In Design. The teacher was OK, but she seemed to lack enthusiasm, particularly when she was demonstrating the book-binding.