Chevron Left
Retour à Public Health in Humanitarian Crises

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Public Health in Humanitarian Crises par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.8
237 notes
68 avis

À propos du cours

This course introduces a set of public health problems experienced by people affected by natural disasters and/or conflict. It discusses the many changes in people’s lives when they are uprooted by a disaster, ranging from changes in disease patterns, access to health care, livelihoods, shelter, sanitary conditions, nutritional status, etc. We will explore what humanitarian interventions could look like if we want to mitigate the effects of disasters. The course content is a mix of theoretical knowledge and many practical examples from recent disasters. We think this course is unique because it contains so many practical ‘real-life’ examples and is taught be instructors and guest lecturers who together have over 200 years of experience in this field. The course consists of 10 modules totaling approximately 9-10 hours of delivered content with an additional 2-3 hours of self-work (quizzes and writing and evaluating a short peer-review assignment) as well as lively discussions forums. The course has been designed in a way that each module builds on the lessons of previous modules. However, modules can be accessed in any order and some can stand alone. You do not have to pay for this course if you choose to enroll without a certificate. Sometimes referred to as auditing, enrolling without a certificate means that you will have access to all of the videos, quizzes, assignments, and discussions. The only difference is that you will not receive a certificate upon completion. Click the Enroll Without A Certificate link to sign up and begin the course. Even if you enroll in a session that has yet to begin, you may access most of the course materials right away by clicking the Preview Course Materials link. However, you will have to wait for the session to begin before posting on the discussion forum or accessing the final peer-reviewed assessment. Visit the Learner Help Center for details about session schedules....

Meilleurs avis

JM

Jun 21, 2018

Very valuable course for people new to health, but not new to humanitarian work. Highly recommended for those interested in learning more about public health in humanitarian crises!

AB

Mar 28, 2018

this course was exceptional, well prepared, every module have clear and achievable objective, the presentation was excellence according to quality of the video and the content

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 67 Examens pour Public Health in Humanitarian Crises

par KABERA R

Dec 22, 2017

As a humanitarian clinician ,learning some public health aspects is worthy and has helped me to understand so many issues related to my current work in the field.

Eg: The clinical care is for individual or person interests and the public heath approach is for the population interest in general.

par Anna R

Jan 03, 2018

Very interesting

par Jolanta G

Aug 08, 2017

This is one of the wonderful courses, which explains a lot of unanswered questions . I would highly recommend to everyone who dreams about the peace in the world...

par Md. Z R

May 04, 2018

Excellent.

par ABOUDEM B C M

Apr 05, 2018

Nice one

par Joanna K

Jan 10, 2018

Good basic overview of Public Health in Humanitarian Crises- giving a comprehensive overview. I found it a useful and interesting course.

par John W B

Aug 01, 2017

The course is very good and I will recommend it to others.

par Lilian A

Oct 30, 2017

A perfect course to guide you in humanitarian response.

par Gurseva K

Dec 15, 2017

This course should be a part of every environmental engineering and environmental health program

par JOSEFINA J

May 02, 2018

This course helps in the understanding & identifying humanitarian crises and the role of public health care managers. I think it accomplished its goals and objectives of imparting and sharing that knowledge to create experiences. Very good job; Mija Ververs and Dr. Gilbert Burnham!

par Célio N

Sep 03, 2017

Amazing Course. With this tool I will be able to do a better job!

par Michael E

Dec 04, 2017

The course is an eye opener to diverse health conditions associated with humanitarian crisis. Of particular interest is the understanding that these conditions or challenges are not just limited to communicable diseases.

par Charles T C W

Jul 27, 2017

Complete satisfactory learning experience

par Richard S

Aug 23, 2017

Very interesting material and great lecturers.

par Yolanda L B

Dec 13, 2017

A great course!

par Kyle M

Mar 10, 2018

I think this is the perfect springboard for entry level humanitarian professionals who considering a career in humanitarian aid, and global and public health

par Akhator J

Dec 17, 2017

I recommend this for all physicians

par Narek V

Dec 27, 2017

Public Health in Humanitarian Crises is a actual problem

par Akodjoua E B

Dec 09, 2017

very helpful and important course

par raya a

Jul 26, 2017

This is the course for everyone interested in the humanitarian field or for professionals looking to refresh their information. The content is very rich, well structured, evidence-based as well as visionary. I benefited a lot despite my years of working in this field, and I am looking forward to other insightful courses in the near future. Thank you

par Tony C

May 13, 2019

Very informative, well organized course

par VIVEK K

Apr 05, 2019

Thank you for wonderful course on public health aspects in times of humanitarian crisis. It helped me to think outside the box and read more to understand the issues.

par shibu t

May 14, 2019

Its was great course

par Rachael M

May 14, 2019

Excellent!

par Aijaz P

May 14, 2019

EXCELLENT COURSE. Well organized. Knowledge delivered in understandable manner. Lot new dimensions were discovered