Chevron Left
Retour à The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs par Université de Toronto

4.5
étoiles
1,022 évaluations
306 avis

À propos du cours

This course provides an introduction to: 1. Basic concepts of The Strategies and Skills Learning and Development System (SSLD), their relevance for every day relationships and provide advanced concepts for participants who work in fields of social work and health care . 2. Basic practice principles and methods of SSLD, illustrated by relationship management case studies. 3. The SSLD framework for relationship management assessment; N3C (needs, circumstances, characteristics, capacity) and problem translation. 4. Core competencies in the relationship management application of the SSLD system: Observation learning, simulation, real life implementation, review and monitoring....

Meilleurs avis

M
23 avr. 2020

Really fun and felt like I learned a lot about myself. If you are looking for insight on your relationships whether it is your significant other, best friend, or family than this class is for you!!!!

JK
7 mai 2020

This course manages to be information-packed and interesting at the same time. Professor Tsang and his team engages the leaner in a conversation-like format in each lecture that is just the lenght!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 305 Avis pour The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs

par Marc G

26 août 2018

I have found this course a bit repetitive and somewhat common sense. The lectures are choppy, with way too many short video segments. I believe that sort of organization breaks the flow among videos that all refer to the same topic and makes it harder for the students to concentrate. Open-ended questions are also excessively frequent and students are asked to input text constantly even after learning very small amounts of material. This becomes tedious after a while. The contents covered are also very straightforward and I felt like the concept of 'needs' was incessantly repeated unnecessarily. The core of the course is good, but I think it could be shortened to perhaps 3 weeks instead of the current 6.

On a more positive note, one valuable piece of insight that I am taking with me after this course is the notion of N3Cs and a framework to conceptualize relationships in terms of the needs of the participants and whether they are being met or not. That is actually very valuable to me personally, as it helps explain many of the tensions and difficulties that I have experienced in my own relationships, and it helps me better understand the actions and thoughts of my current and previous partners, as well as friends and family. This is a very powerful idea, along with the knowledge that people’s needs and responses will vary depending on their capacities, characteristics and circumstances. It is crucial, I believe, to bear in mind the intersection between environmental pressures (circumstances) and personal attributes (characteristics and capacities) when interacting with others, in order to build stronger relationships rooted in honest understanding that will allow all participants to grow and flourish.

While I cannot say that I have learnt any concrete information from this course beyond this, I do believe that I have acquired a new mindset and the capacity to view relationships in a different light, and for that I am grateful to the instructors for the work they put into developing this course. Thank you!

par Jenifer M

14 janv. 2018

I wanted to like this course. The topic is so interesting, but it is incredibly poorly presented. It seems everything is very surface and there is no way to properly understand the material because the short videos don't give enough information. lt seems like they are trying to drag information from the professor who doesn't want to give it. The video quality is very poor as well.

par Cloud J

3 avr. 2020

The instructor just reading his book. He should go take the "Communicate strategy in virtual age" class also offered by UofT to make a better presentation.

par Vichawan S

20 juil. 2019

The course contents are somewhat specialised and I'm glad it's offered free of charge.

Learning this course helps in understanding dysfunctional relationship and how to change it from yourself

par Sarkis K

2 août 2019

The course discusses some interesting points, but the way they are delivered is terrible. Many short videos talk about very similar ideas, and in many cases, the subjects discussed in videoes are not well explained. It's not the best way to deliver this type of topic. If you're not a patient person, this course might drive you crazy.

par Sebass

16 déc. 2017

This is really one of the best courses that I have ever took.

This course really opened my brain up on why some of my relationships weren't working. Understanding that everyone has needs in every relationship. You have to remember this for every relationship you're trying to create, or continue to develop.

Even the smartest people I know should take this course. Just because you're really smart in lets say programming, English, Science, etc... doesn't mean you know the dynamics of Relationships. I wish they taught this in public school, but they don't.

Thank you so much!

Sebastian

❤⃛ヾ(๑❛ ▿ ◠๑ )

par Tammy J A

2 juin 2020

A truly wonderful class! Professor Tsang and his associates do such a great job of presenting information in such an easy to understand way using plenty of relatable examples that you can come away thinking, well yeah, that's just common sense and womdering if you've really learned anything - until you look back at just how much you have learned! Picking up and understanding the concepts is almost effortless because of the great way everything is presented. I see some of the other reviewers have complained about the short length of numerous videos but I actually find it easier to digest the information when it is presented in this way. And the short essay questions often asked are intended to make you think and apply what you've learned - that's the whole point of the class, to learn techniques to put into practice in your own life, it's not just an academic exercise. Anyone can benefit from the strategies and concepts presented in the course - they can be applied to many life situations. I would highly recommend this short but truly beneficial and enjoyable class to just about anyone and I actually already have!

par Bianca Y

27 mai 2020

The course was really interesting by the title alone that's why I decided to take it, and my expectations were definitely met. Throughout the whole series, I was able to see the value of SSLD framework and the N3C analysis in my life, because the lecturer would really give thorough examples.

I really enjoyed that the lecture also touches of several dimensions of a relationship like its termination & transformation, and also sensitive topics such as sex. It's nice to encounter a MOOC that isn't afraid to delve into the more difficult conversation, because I feel like I was able to learn more about these things since materials on it are not widely available on the web.

While the teaching could have been more "fun" or creative, I still really enjoyed the lessons I got, and how practical it is in my everyday life.

par Maya G

23 avr. 2020

Really fun and felt like I learned a lot about myself. If you are looking for insight on your relationships whether it is your significant other, best friend, or family than this class is for you!!!!

par Lauren K

28 avr. 2020

Interesting material, good course length, enjoyed the experience, came out feeling more wise/educated on relationships and human emotions - I do 100% believe these teachings will help me.

par Zalorén G

23 févr. 2019

I love the contents of the course and that the students are putting themselves out there.

par Cynthia A

11 mars 2018

I did not encounter "aha" moments of learning but the actual information was a great refresher and very useful. The subject matter does offer a bit of an outline to deal with relationship differences. The subject matters breaks down elements of differences and similarities in relationships in a manner that one (as a coach or counselor) can follow and apply. The most frustrating thing was the instructor's use of the word "like" after every other word; that was annoying. Please people learn to articulate properly when giving an instructional video.

par Emil

30 août 2018

I didn't like this course. The presentations were of student-made level. Also I didn't like the content, it was more similiar to a lexicon of teenage girl, than to scientist in psychology. It was not an interesting course.

par Bruna S D C

1 juil. 2020

I highly recommend taking this course, Professor A. Ka Tat Tsang is incredibly super intelligent and explains matters clearly. This course is very interactive, constructive, it is something that you take into life, and that in addition to helping you, you can help others and improve your relationships. I will miss studying this course, I highly recommend it, you will not regret it!

par Amalia S

3 mai 2018

Very interesting, with a practical approach and with many examples. Highly recommended as it offers a good insight on the way people form relationships and connect with others.

par Prolay C

13 févr. 2020

Excellent course on Human Relationship. I learned a lot and got a fresh perspective from this course, which I can apply to my life to improve all kinds of relationships.

par JUSTIN C N

1 juin 2019

The course is a good one, it brought to light the principle of SSLD, the need for self-awareness using N3C and the negative and positive aspect of social script.

par Jay W Y

4 sept. 2017

Recommend for people in relationship difficulties, therapists, relationship coaches, and teachers

par Jared E

15 oct. 2018

I thought the much of this course was simply evil and the advise to be malevolent, especially in regard to abnormal sexuality. This course recommends abuse. and hides it behind a pretension of psychology.

par Komal S

27 avr. 2020

If I could give it 0 stars, I would. The videos are short and content is messy. The instructor could have intelligently shared information rather than rambling on. Would not recommend at all.

par Julie T

4 août 2020

Really interesting course. Learned a lot of information about relationships that would definitely aid in the way I build and manage my relationships with others. Also helps with building more understanding and compassion towards others through understanding the reason why certain things such as breakups occur and the reasons why people look for certain bonds with others.

All in all, if you're looking for a course that explores and helps you understand relationships, this one's pretty good.

par Janki S

8 avr. 2020

Great course. Not only did I learn a lot, but things which I already knew got a new perspective. Not only did I enjoy it but it helped in personal issues too. Another very useful thing is that after the course is over one still has access to it. So one can go back and access the material again and think about it. I think I got more out of it in my second run through it!

Felt some of the examiners were a bit simplistic. But on the whole a great course. Would highly recommend it.

par Naairah S

9 août 2020

It helped me assess and address Needs- these show up in almost every interaction we have with others and also ourselves. It's a blueprint for building healthy relationships, understanding ourselves and others to make sure our needs are met for an encouraging future. The course also addresses the challenges that relationships are subjected to and explains the why's and how's behind them. This is an eye opener, check it out for yourself.

par Karl A R F

5 sept. 2020

This course gives you confidence and skills to manage your needs and the needs of people you are in a relationship with. The course sets you up for the complexities which relationships bring to your life but with rewarding, calming experiences as your emotion become stable and you provide an enjoyable and slow process in building a strong and caring relationships.

par Lok M T

21 avr. 2020

This course provides me a very comprehensive knowledge pertaining to human relationship by dissecting the human needs and 3C. It makes me better understand the nature of human relationship as well as equip me with the mindset to deal with any potential relationship issues in the future. A very good course worth taking to better understand yourself and your partner!