Chevron Left
Retour à introduction à html5

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour introduction à html5 par Université du Michigan

4.7
étoiles
25,594 évaluations
6,771 avis

À propos du cours

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Meilleurs avis

NP

18 mai 2020

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

CS

6 août 2020

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 6,738 Avis pour introduction à html5

par Suparna R

31 mai 2020

One of the best online courses on HTML5. The course syllabus was quite vivid, wide-based, and detailed, ranging from scratch to the best! Besides, the Course Instructor, Colleen van Lent was outstanding as she guided through all the hooks and corners of HTML5 and discussed even the points where students can stumble upon or make flaws! Being a beginner with zero knowledge about web designing, this course is simply a boon to rely upon! I am whole-heartedly satisfied and have gathered much confidence up till now to explore more in the domain of Web Designing. The experience was simply Great!

par Liran M

24 janv. 2016

The good: This course really shows how to code in the 'right' way both syntax and semantics, so the theory is covered better than in other courses. There are good explanations on how to host your site, whch is not less important than learning coding.

The bad: More examples and practice are needed, it's hard to get everything so quickly. I had some initial background so i handeld that ok, but for total newbies it might be too frustrating. The final assignment should be changed imo to peer review, the quiz is not the right way to do it imo.

Thanks, learned alot.

par Randi L G

14 juil. 2020

Very well rounded and informative introductory course to HTML5. I was able to learn a lot from both a standpoint of basic knowledge and in considerations about accessibility, validation, and peer to peer interactions in coding in order to ensure that I'm able to construct the best possible code that I can as I continue practicing and improving my web development skills. Many thanks to Dr. Colleen van Lent and the staff at the University of Michigan for offering this course on Coursera. I look forward to taking the next courses in this specialization!

par Juliana S R

24 juil. 2016

This course is not about learning more, but learning better. And this will definitely leave you knowing more and better at the same time. Amazing introductory course. Straight to the point, teaches you valuable practices and guidelines to write HTML5 that not only works, but works correctly and is accessible for everyone. I recomend it not only for HTML beginners, but for anyone who likes to learn effectively.

Thank you and congratulations to the amazing Lecturer of this course and anyone that has helped putting this course together.

par V K M V D

16 juin 2020

Great course! I enjoyed it thoroughly . Anyone who is looking forward to learn something new, can opt for this course. The quizzes and reading materials are really informative and well organized. The instructions are very clear. Well,the videos could be more elaborate about the concept but they are straight into concept.All the basics are very well covered but I feel more could be taught in the videos. The teacher seemed to be very interactive and possessed good teaching skills. Anyone who is interested can go ahead and enroll.

par Samuel A

11 juil. 2017

Very easy to follow the video guides and assignment instructions. The professor is very clear in her explanations. In fact, I found her candidness when making mistakes one of the most helpful aspects of this learning experience. While I had a background in basic HTML before taking this course, I feel like all of the content that was covered in the lessons reinforced my knowledge and I now feel more confident in my ability to look at other webpages (with the browser inspect tool) and actually understand how the page is organized.

par John P

24 mai 2016

An excellent course by a Computer Scientist (PhD)! The course was very well presented, at a steady pace and in a lovely, clear voice (pity some courses online aren't so professionally clear).

The assessments, and especially the final one, ensure that one focuses and aims for perfect, syntactic and semantic code - which is what all developers should be striving for now. I'm very pleased that I achieved 100%! Great job, **Colleen Van Lent** ... now I'm interested in the second course in the series, "Introduction to CSS3".

par MAWIEN M M

11 mai 2020

This was one of the best online courses I enjoyed. I am really happy with the instructor for she is not teaching for money but trying to make best web developers around the world. She is teaching to show that she can teach, I really respect her for that .

She is one of the greats!

I fully recommend this to those who are struggling on how and where to begin their journey in web development careers.

Thank you very much to Michigan University and my Instructor for course, and I can't wait to join you in the next course.

par Emily L

22 févr. 2016

The course is clear and well-paced for someone who is beginner like me. The instructor was great. Even if you've worked with earlier versions of HTML, this is a good update to HTML5 and how to code cleanly, with good syntax. The coding along lessons are both fun and challenging, so download Sublime or a text editor right away and try things out in your first lesson if you want to get the most out of it. Overall, this was a really good course. I am excited to continue taking the rest of the Web Design certificate .

par Matthew C M

4 nov. 2019

This course was incredible! I had the most fun learning and competing with myself to make the deadlines. The information and level of the course is exactly what I was looking for. With this information I believe it will be possible for me to continue learning about html without other courses even though I'm really looking forward to completing the 'web design for everybody' specialization as well as other specializations ( In particular courses on computer programming and other web design specializations ).

par Naushina K

21 sept. 2019

After trying many paid and free platorms /sites I have found this one to be one of the best in terms of learning the subject matter from a complete beginners perspective. The instructor was clear, articulate, cognizant of the issues and thoughts that may be running through the head of a newbie like me, and most imortantly, passionate! I also liked how I was pointed towards different resources which I can continue to go back to, to refresh and build upon what has been learnt. Looking forward to learning more.

par Alaina S

29 avr. 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the content shared within this course. I do feel as though I have a basic understanding of HTML5. I also became familiar with resources that I will always be able to utilize should I have questions or need to review in the upcoming weeks as I continue learning. I am proud of my first “ugly” web page and look forward to incorporating CSS to liven my work. There were also great takeaways regarding various accessibility features. I look forward to beginning my next course with Coursera.

par Sean H

1 juil. 2016

Great first course for anyone - even those without any coding background. This is truly HTML for people who are 100% new to web design, so if you already know the basics, then you might want to play the videos on fast and take notes for anything that sounds new - then move onto the CSS course for styling. If you know nothing, absorb as much as you can and practice, practice, practice. This instructor is excellent at providing detail and ample resources to get your journey as web designer started!

par Mary Y

20 avr. 2020

This was a great course! Prior to taking this course, I was petrified of coding. However in order to expand my experiences as a graphic designer, it makes sense to at least dip my big toe in the coding pond. Professor van Lent's video lectures are easy to comprehend and follow. She also encourages trial, error and failure as part of learning, and expects new students to do so. That teaching style provides a relaxed feeling and helps alleviate the anxieties of learning to code. Thanks Professor!

par N S

4 nov. 2020

As an introduction to web, the course did a great job. You can't learn to code unless you do it yourself, and this course is also about giving you the tools to start your journey, but this is not a hands on guide to every tag and little information. The course does not contain any unnecessary material, also the quizzes and final project is great to test your learning. The greatest thing about this course is, it makes me want to go forward and take the rest of the courses on web development.

par Eren Y

9 juil. 2020

This is a great introductionary course with some useful points on how to pick up when the course ends or how can you further develop yourself on with HTML. Pretty straight forward and teaches you the importance of accessibility and semantic values as you go along to pick your tags to build your own website. I especially loved the teacher because even though this is a MOOC she's really trying to push you forward to teach you something. Well done Michigan University and Miss Colleen Van Lent!

par Kim S J

14 avr. 2020

Great course for an absolute beginner wanting to learn about HTML. Even for someone who is somewhat familiar with HTML like me, it is still very useful to start from the very beginning. Colleen's emphasis on designing a webpage that is valid on many browsers and accessible to a wide range of audience is very good. Overall, I enjoyed taking this course and looking forward to learning about the next one in the Web Design Specialisation. Thanks very much to Colleen and the teaching staff.

par samed s

31 août 2019

The course was beyond my expectations. Even if the videos belong to 2016 they are still doing a great job.

First of all lecturer is really supportive, transparent and has a sense of humor. <Especially sense of humor is a really great asset for a lecturer :)>

She condems "helicopter parenting" but she is doing "helicopter lecturing". (I am using this term in a positive way of course!) As if she is watching you, she warns about all the mistakes you will make. Take your precautions and enjoy.

par yi y

14 mai 2016

I have been in the web dev field for almost a year. The intro says that this course is not for beginners, but I still took it, since I want to learn HTML systematically. My original plan was to skim through most contents and focuses on those I don't know before. This course goes beyond by expectation and is very useful to me. I feel getting systematic knowledge from it.

In addition to the course content, the professor conducts the lecturers in a very clear way. I like her teaching style.

par Ricardo P

11 nov. 2019

The best part of the course is all the resources they provide throughout.

It doesn't matter if you learn better from a teacher or from reading a well-written textbook with examples because they provide both options.

The teachers are likable, thorough and knowledgeable.

The quizzes end exams are perfect. You do have to read and pay attention to the lectures but the quizzes are not designed to make it impossible for you.

I would definitely recommend it for a total beginner like I WAS.

par Megan C

15 sept. 2016

I would highly recommend this particular intro into HTML course as the instructor is especially thorough in walking you through the "rules" so-to-speak. I've taken several MOOCs, as I'm studying to be a Front End Developer. The UofM tutorial is by far the best I've completed, as she "filled in the gaps" others failed to cover. I've since enrolled in their CSS & JS courses; the CSS (I'm finding) is produced similarly and has already been an worthwhile investment of my valuable time.

par Souparna D

25 août 2020

This course is really good for beginners. It helped me a lot to understand the basics of HTML5 and few other topics like web hosting and validating sites and accessibility. The project and quizzes are super beneficial as it improves your confidence and knowledge on HTML5.Peer graded assignment enabled me to witness and review other people's web pages and their reviews on my web pages. I would highly recommend this course for people who want to get started with web development.

par dee-hu

13 sept. 2019

I really appreciate Dr. Colleen spends lots of time introducing the foundations of how the web works, how code works in a certain way. I did other courses before, lots of them only focus on teaching you writing something seems work, but at the end of the day, I still didn't understand why and got stuck on writing my own code. This course is different, it teaches you the fundamental things, that even web technology or language changes, you will still understand the core.

par Beatrice B

18 févr. 2016

Thanks so much! A great course and a fantastic teacher! :)

Before this course I was a total beginner and now I know the basics of html5. I can write a working code and know what to do with it.

It starts with an overview on the history of the Internet and its developments, until html5. Explains how to create a basic webpage, writing a HTML code. And it ends explaining how to eventually send the page to the web. In a very easy, interesting, efficient and understandable way.

par Ashwin P N

8 mai 2020

I knew about HTML since my schooling but never knew meaning behind those tags and wondered why are there so many tags if one can use the other which looks similar.

By learning this course i was able to understand Semantics i.e. where exactly each tag is to be used and why it is so important to use them as intended. I whole heartedly thank Madam Colleen van Lent of University of Michigan for providing the best learning experience online.

Best Regards,

Ashwin P Nair

India