Chevron Left
Retour à How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course) par École polytechnique

4.6
étoiles
2,092 évaluations
776 avis

À propos du cours

What you will achieve: In this project-based course, you will outline a complete scientific paper, choose an appropriate journal to which you'll submit the finished paper for publication, and prepare a checklist that will allow you to independently judge whether your paper is ready to submit. What you'll need to get started: This course is designed for students who have previous experience with academic research - you should be eager to adapt our writing and publishing advice to an existing personal project. If you just finished your graduate dissertation, just began your PhD, or are at a different stage of your academic journey or career and just want to publish your work, this course is for you. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-Centered Courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Meilleurs avis

SM
11 avr. 2020

The content was very good and explanation was excellent just there was a slight problem with instructors accent but don't worry you will get used to it no time but the course is excellent and helpful

SR
3 juin 2020

It was really helpful to me, I hope it will be useful to all researchers who are intensively working for publishing papers in journals. I thank all course instructors who handled the video sessions.

Filtrer par :

601 - 625 sur 768 Avis pour How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course)

par Sanjay J

12 mai 2020

Best

par Parrthipan B K

5 mai 2020

Good

par Doc M Ȝ

12 sept. 2019

good

par Alexandra R

26 mai 2021

m

par Abdulrahman S A

7 janv. 2021

h

par Badie G

17 oct. 2020

The contents of this course are excellent and very important. The delivary was straight and simple. However, it's clear to me that this course was not updated for a long time. You see sometimes the Speech to Text function either delivers wrong representations or just misses the spoken words. The organizers can communicate with the instructors to correct the captions.

In addition, the last assignment need redesign. I was confused (and looks to me others are too) of what exactly was required. It makes sense to write your own checklist which acts as a summary and an actual tool to be used by the students later, but lack of a reference made it vague. For instance, one peer review actually put up an abstract of a paper, not a checklist. Another I found some introductory sentence like "this is a checklist for...", but then nothing is shown. Since we were asked to develop a table, that what you would expect to see, not what I saw for at least 3 peer review assignments in addition to my own Preview of the final assignment.

par Yara Y E

5 mai 2020

This course is well-structured and informative. I learned everything from how to write a well laid-out scientific paper to choosing the appropriate journal and, finally, having it published. It added to my knowledge of basic principles and it drew my attention to aspects that I previously overlooked.

However, there were two factors that hampered my learning journey. Firstly, it was sometimes difficult to work out what some of the instructors say due to their foreign accents. As a result, some parts of the transcript below the video were not translated into the intended words. Secondly, I do not prefer to have my assignments corrected by other peers since they will never be as proficient as instructors giving the course. The peers who reviewed my assignments assigned grades that do not match the efforts, and gave poor remarks such as "good" and "done," with no comments or recommendations.

Nevertheless, I would love to thank Coursera and École Polytechnique for putting together this useful, interesting course.

par SORAIA D M F

8 mai 2020

Dear Ecole Team,

Greetings from Uruguay! My name is Soraia Marino, I'm a gradute student of International Business Bachelor.

I hope you are doing well during this quarantine. I appreciate this course a lot because in the future I would like to keep writing Academic Papers on the field of Culture and International Business. I already had submmited some papers but unlucklily I did not succeed. I guess, one day it will happen to me and I will be very happy.

I appreciate all the effort editing the videos, sharing new papers and making recomendations for our future work. Therefore, I experimented some difficulities regarding the second peer assigment, most of the assigments I correct were not even close to be acceptable , it did not reach the minimum pages. What is more, the reviews I got were not even close to be fair. I would strongly recommend to reduce the numbers of pages or show an example in english of a Check list before submitting the assigment.

Thank you so much.

Best Regards,

Soraia Marino

par Mário R P T

10 juin 2020

This MOOC allows us to obtain some systematization about the most suitable process to write and publish a scientific paper. However, the entire course is done with PhD students from the 1st year, which does not seem a good strategy, as they still need to have more knowledge to carry out a course with more success. On the other hand, the English of the students is very French, and most of them cannot understand themselves very well, with the exception of Heloise, whose command of the English language is the best of all. Despite this, the effort of these students to engage in a MOOC must be valued.

par Carlos O

3 nov. 2020

I found the course a quite good experience, it forced me to write (or put in practice) some of the stuff that was not gather together yet. On the other hand, it was sometimes quite difficult to understand part of the videos due the strong accent of some of the colleagues, even subtitled. A couple of exercises were demanding and, depending of the academic moment of each one, they could be pretty annoying. But in the end, it worthed the effort. "Merci à l'équipe pour la création et la mise à disposition de ce cours!" (Google translator also helped a lot!) :)

par Carmela B B

10 avr. 2020

I have enjoyed this course, the information is good and useful. I am an undergraduate student, so I have some difficulties. For instance, in week 3 the assignment was writing an abstract. If you don't have experimental results, it is not possible to write this abstract. I would like to suggest change this task, for that undergraduate studying who are also interested in doing the course. In my opinion, this course is not only useful for paper, but it is also helpful for final experimental projects degree and master studies.

par Richelle A M

11 août 2020

The course gave useful tips on how to properly write the essential elements of the manuscript. Several points were also made which I did not know before like you need to know your community and the editorial board of the journal.

I hope the learners will be serious in answering the assignments. Some of the assignments I peer reviewed were just submitted without effort just because they want to finish the course.

Congratulations to the Course team!

par kashyapi t

18 févr. 2020

it was indeed a great initiative by the institute ecole polytechnique to teach how to write and publish a scientific paper and i thank each of the professors who has provided immense knowledge and clarity through short precise videos and learning materials. Eager to learn more and awaiting for some more course on research publication paper. Just a humble request kindly provide the materials in english since i couldnt understand french. please

par Tahmin M

1 mai 2020

Very informative and helpful for masters/phd students in the field of science. The complete course will give you not only an overall idea of publishing a scientific paper but also the instructors being phd students will talk about some special tips to avoid desk rejection of paper. In the last week, I really find it helpful to gather information from an editor and an author's point of view. It was really helpful.

par Jessica M T F

21 avr. 2020

Overall it was a very good online course which can help students to achieve the goal of a publication. However I think in the final week these sessions with the researcher and the editor were too long and not that relevant for this course. Besides that, valuable information was provided and very practical tips too. Thank you all!

par Husam E A M I

15 juin 2017

hi........

i am really enjoyed the course ...get more

confident in my self to start writing my paper, It is so great course

can you make more specific tasks about the question you ask us to answer in the discussion

and i would really like to learning using one paper as example and discuss it from writing till publishing

par KAJULURI S S

25 juin 2020

Excellent course for the guys to get involved with research writing. I am novice at start but now I got atmost knowledge on how a scientific paper is published and the process that follows to get your paper published. I thank coursera as well as the instructors who detailed it to me.

par Md. S I

21 mai 2020

Thanking Course Teachers & Moderators ...

I'm feeling good to complete this course. It was a pleasant experience.

But a simple change regarding the review system especially checklist review would make this course more batter. More participation as a reviewer is required.

par Fizza F

24 janv. 2020

The course made me note some really important tips and techniques, which I can actually implement before submitting a paper to a journal. It was user-friendly and was in simple language. I appreciate the hard work of the team behind this course. Thank you.

par London T

22 mai 2020

This course covers the basics of writing a scientific paper, towards publication in an academic journal. One suggestion for the course is to include examples of poor, mediocre, and good abstracts, introductions, presentations of results, etc.

par Damrongrat S

23 mai 2020

The course is great and I encourage everyone to join it. However, I found that there are some distractions from the speakers' gestures and some words that are hard to interpret for non-native. Still, it is very good, overall, and I love it!

par Bahareh K D

30 mai 2020

Hello dear friends

This course was helpful and full of valuable information, but honesty, somehow boring.

Furthermore, the French accent was hard for me to understand.

I appreciate all your efforts and time for this course.

par Gabriel J S

18 avr. 2020

The most helpful exercise is the last peer-reviewed checklist. Other topics are only scratched superficially and one would need to understand French to be able to read every additional source that is provided for reading.

par Amal A

29 juin 2020

The course was very good, the content, the quizzes, and the assignments that we had to do. The instructors were also good except for their accent which was not so clear, but don't worry they are understandable.

par Gujjula R R

22 mai 2020

Good, but English language not good for mentors, you have provide more information how can write paper by using software and also you have to give at least one example templet . I expect more for this course.