Chevron Left
Retour à Histoire du rock, Partie 1

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Histoire du rock, Partie 1 par Université de Rochester

4.8
étoiles
1,072 évaluations

À propos du cours

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

Meilleurs avis

BL

12 mars 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

SM

1 oct. 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

Filtrer par :

276 - 300 sur 311 Avis pour Histoire du rock, Partie 1

par Jeanie S

21 juin 2016

I

par James G R

5 nov. 2015

A

par Denise M

3 déc. 2017

This course is a great overview of modern rock music. I think it is greatly enhanced by using the text which is a nice reference to have on its own. One thing that really needs to be improved are the written transcripts for the videos. Sometimes I preferred reading the transcript as opposed to listening to the video but I found that the transcripts were at times very garbled, inaccurate to what was actually being discussed by Professor Covach (names, places, etc.), and need general editing for grammar. I know that transcription has probably been done on a very basic volunteer basis but it should be reviewed again in comparison to the actual video discussion because frequently, the two media are not aligned.

par Jan-Willem J

27 août 2015

This is a great course that is very informative. It brought many performers to my attention that I had not heard of before or that I had not appreciated before and has enriched my appreciation of music. The course focuses mainly on the history and development of rock music, rather than the technical side of the music itself. It is a pity that the course itself only discusses the music, but does not feature the music itself. I suggest that you keep a streaming service, such as Spotify or Deezer, open in a separate window on your browser, so you can pause the lectures and listen to the music as you go along.

par Debra M

4 sept. 2021

The quiz questions could use some work; many are based on obscure details rather than conceptual learning. The professor seemed genuine and was very informative. His love for music showed through his presentation of information. If any criticism could be offered on delivery, it would be to have the professor SLOW DOWN his delivery a bit. He "gets going" and goes faster and faster. Overall, I'd recommend this course to anyone who might be interested in American rock history, the British Invasion, and Psychedelia.

par Marcelo F

9 juil. 2020

Until what I have seen today it is a great course. However it is in many ways "too american". It should be rebranded History of American Rock. Despite that, it is very informative and have quite a good insights of what has been happening in America at the time and how Americans perceived themselves their culture and the British Invasion. Congrats. To this extend I am loving it!.

par Angelina W

4 févr. 2016

Excellent general course about the history of Rock in the Western World. Lots of names of musicians, companies, and music make the course seem to revolve around memorization. Even so, the professor does describe the historical element in logical chains of events and biographies.

The quizzes could have been offered every week. There's no need to clump the quiz material.

par Bertha L D G

11 nov. 2021

El curso es excepcional. No solo aprendí más sobre musica tambien aprendi un poco de la cultura social que se vivía a la par. Fue muy interesante conocer la sociedad de esos tiempos. Únicamente coloco 4 estrellas porque -segun desde mi perspectiva- siento que falto hablar de los grandes exponentes del Jazz. Despues de eso, el curso es excelente y critico.

par Sam A

4 déc. 2015

Really enjoying this course (nearly done).

The subject is perfect for my age (about 50) as I grew on much of this music and play guitar.

Wish there was a way to incorporate the music.

I am pausing, going to youtube and back constantly but it is worth it.

par Albert M V

21 avr. 2017

It was a great course. I love the professor's explanations and it was quite well organized. It would be good to have a document with all the links to songs and albums on Youtube or whatever, so you don't have to manually search for each track.

par Robin A

22 avr. 2018

this course i great if you want to increase your knowledge about rock music,it has helped me a lot to understand different genres of music and how it came into picture of music.

very helpful course with lots of examples to understand perfectly

par Claudia L V C

21 juin 2021

De todo el curso, resalta la vocación del profesor por educar, expone datos interesantes y brinda recomendaciones para que el alumno busque por su propia cuenta. Se recomienda llevar el cursos y escuchar las canciones explicadas a la par.

par Dennis G

26 août 2019

Enjoyed class. Got a little weary of watching videos toward the end. Definitely will consider future classes. More time on The Beatles and Rolling Stones would make the course more interesting.

Thanks for

par Robert J P

20 sept. 2020

While I enjoyed the course it does appear a bit dated in its delivery .Links to interviews' and performances would be easy to do and would enhance the experience for the learner.

par Rodolfo F L

6 oct. 2016

Could be improved using musical videos or complementary material. Is a little be boring just listening to lectures. :(

par EDGARDO A M R

11 oct. 2020

Muy buen curso, pero faltan mas imágenes y videos de bandas a las cuales hacen referencia. Pero, aprendí bastante.

par Zachary B

15 oct. 2015

Instructor is very articulate. The layouts for all of the lessons are very simple and easy to maneuver.

par Yana N

24 mars 2016

Thank you for the course. It's really interesting! I enjoy it so much, especially the quizzes :)

par Wayne M

26 oct. 2020

Very well produced and great visuals. Sessions were just the right length and not dragged out.

par Mark L

7 oct. 2015

Good course, but I was disappointed that clips of some of the music weren't played.

par Juanjo R C

21 mai 2018

lástima que no esté en castellano 100%. Me ha parecido muy útil. Muchas gracias

par Dave E

10 janv. 2020

Buen curso! Muchos datos importantes sintetizados y bien explicados.

par Mark S

16 janv. 2017

Well done. Lot of material covered. I enjoyed it.

par Garry K

13 juil. 2017

A lot of great info and it was easy to understand.

par Jade

8 sept. 2018

Engaging and an overall very informative course.