Chevron Left
Retour à Histoire du rock, Partie 2

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Histoire du rock, Partie 2 par Université de Rochester

4.8
254 notes
55 Avis

À propos du cours

This course, part 2 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the early 1970s to the early 1990s. This course covers the music of Led Zeppelin, the Allman Brothers, Carole King, Bob Marley, the Sex Pistols, Donna Summer, Michael Jackson, Madonna, Prince, Metallica, Run-DMC, and Nirvana, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Emerging out of the experimental and ambitious years of late-60s psychedelia, rock splintered into a variety of styles in the 1970s as the music business continued to expand. By the end of the decade, punk and disco had challenged the excesses of the hippie aesthetic, as rock became more commercially streamlined and radio friendly. The emergence and rise of MTV transformed pop music and propelled the careers of Michael jackson and Madonna, while heavy metal and hip hop dominated the late 1980s. Nirvana leads alt-rock's return to simplicity in the early 1990s....

Meilleurs avis

MM

Sep 24, 2017

Excelent. Actually now is more fun to read about musicans (recently Iggy Pop & Black Sabbath) because context is better understood. (A bit weird that Tom Waits is not even mentioned)

NB

Nov 01, 2015

John Covach's lectures are clear and well-thought out, and he does a good job of fielding the "fan mentality" that so often plagues other rock history and music history courses.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 54 Examens pour Histoire du rock, Partie 2

By Emilio V

Feb 03, 2019

A must, If you want to understand and enjoy the history of rock.

By John C

Feb 01, 2019

Excellent course. I really enjoyed it.

By Kinga S

Nov 20, 2018

I took both parts of the course and I miss it already! Professor Covach has not only very entertaining way of talking about the music but the genuine love and engagement is so visible, that you can't not to smile when watching his lectures. Not to mention the knowledge, oh boy, that's a huge piece of history with the mind-blowing diversity we're talking about. Which also makes it impressive how much of the information is included in the course. And it made me hungry for more!

Anyway, I loved both parts of the course, it was pure joy and I managed to learn a lot about music history from the early XXth century, which I'm sure I wouldn't pursue on my own.

Thank you for tremendous time, Prof. Covach!

By Baczo Z

Oct 09, 2018

Focused too much on non-rock styles, such as disco, rap, etc., but en large, pretty nice course.

By Ray W

Aug 16, 2018

Love these two courses.I new alot of the topics but was suprised with a few of the topics.very well organized and understandible.Thanks for a fun course.

By Juanjo R C

Jun 30, 2018

El curso está muy bien, lástima sea todo en inglés. Lo que hago es abrir una nueva ventana con los subtitulos y traducidos automáticamente al español, de esta manera el ordenador me queda en 2 ventanas, el video y los subtitulos .

By Christos K

Apr 29, 2018

Excellent course, really enjoyed it!

By Ferdinand P

Mar 18, 2018

Amazing class, just as good as the part one. I learned a lot and made myself several awesome playlists, which I will keep enjoying after this course!

By Loren E K

Feb 14, 2018

John Covach is a fantastic teacher that has a obvious love of music in general. I would definitely take other courses from Mr. Covach if they were offered. Great class!!

By 현석 김

Jan 11, 2018

good

By 동현 김

Dec 23, 2017

I love this class as a Korean who loves Rock music, which never dies!

By Christos N

Oct 09, 2017

HELLO TO EVERYONE.

AS A ROCKER AND A RADIO PRODUCER, THIS COURSE WAS EXCATLY WHAT I NEEDED.

THANKS A LOT TO THE PROFESOR .

By Maris

Sep 24, 2017

Excelent. Actually now is more fun to read about musicans (recently Iggy Pop & Black Sabbath) because context is better understood. (A bit weird that Tom Waits is not even mentioned)

By Koos J

Sep 20, 2017

Another very interesting course. Enjoyed it so much and I'm so sad it's finished now!

By Jeanine D

Sep 08, 2017

Fun topic although having only a person talking can make the course tedious at times. Would be good if there was a Spotify playlist for the course.

By Eric F

Jul 30, 2017

Hello, I am very enjoy about this course. It is a very good overview of rock history and trigger to study some topics deeper. Just a remark, some sessions have not english subttiltes, it is very helpful ;-)

Thanks again.

Regards.

By Travis W

Jul 24, 2017

As with all of Professor Covach's courses, this one is five stars plus.

By Virginia C

Jul 23, 2017

Interesting survey of rock music. Lectures are well organized and flow smoothly.

By Daniel B P

Jul 06, 2017

Super!

By Carrie F

Jul 03, 2017

So much fun! I grew up in the 80s, so this second half of the class has been like memory lane for me. I'm a teacher on summer vacation, and I can't think of a better way to spend it than learning about rock and roll!

By JUAN E G A

Jun 22, 2017

Wonderful!!

By George B

Jun 15, 2017

Amazing!

By Jesus A B S

May 30, 2017

Loved it!

By Ashish G

May 21, 2017

excellent summary of the the period from the late 60s to the 90s. A course like this can never be comprehensive but there has been a lot of thoughtfulness in the sampling process as well as in drawing some threads for the student to mull over and make up his/her own mind.

By Kseniia I

May 05, 2017

So much facts, interesting lessons, smart and intelligent professor!