Chevron Left
Retour à The History of Modern Israel - Part I: From an Idea to a State

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The History of Modern Israel - Part I: From an Idea to a State par Université de Tel Aviv

4.6
étoiles
744 évaluations

À propos du cours

How did the State of Israel come to be? How is it that an idea, introduced in 19th century Europe, became a reality? And how does that reality prevail in the harsh complexities of the Middle East? Presented by Professor Eyal Naveh, with additional units from Professor Asher Sussers' "The Emergence of the Modern Middle East" course, This course will take you on a journey through the history of Modern Israel. In this 1st part of the course we will explore: How did the 19th century idea of a Jewish state become a reality? So the next time you hear about Israel in the news, you will be informed enough about the history of this area to comprehend the many sides and narratives that interact to shape the complex reality of Israel today. Please note that there is a second part to this course "The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state" which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel-sovereign-state). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

Meilleurs avis

TA

26 sept. 2019

"The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State" is a time demanding course for all of us nowadays to know the real history of modern Israel. Thanks Coursera for the such opportunity.

SS

29 sept. 2020

It gave me more insight for me about Israel history. The tutors explained it in a simple way, although some parts of the materials were a little bit difficult to understand

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 214 Avis pour The History of Modern Israel - Part I: From an Idea to a State

par Kelly

1 déc. 2015

A good synopsis of the history of Israel. I enjoyed learning about this subject, and especially enjoyed the interviews and conversations.

par Agnès L

12 janv. 2018

Great course, I learned a lot from it. I would have liked more details and larger class, maybe some optional readings

par Sarah S Y

20 avr. 2017

Interesting course. Good quick way to gain a better understanding of the conflict between Israel and Palestine.

par Mary L P

17 janv. 2016

Excellent course. I enjoyed learning about Israel and will help with understanding world events.

par Deleted A

21 mai 2020

very informative one, which will provide you an insight to the evolution and history of Israel.

par Abbas M

25 déc. 2020

Very interesting to learn about the process leading up to Israel's creation. Great course!

par Shi Y

8 févr. 2016

good for people who wanna know the brief. would be better with more details and sorties

par Christopher T C

17 janv. 2016

Very good class though at times it could be hard to hear some of the audio lessons

par Göktuğ E

11 mars 2022

Professors were so qualified but, voice quality was not fine. It can be improved.

par Varun N

26 mai 2020

Good one for those interested in Israel and the larger politics of Middle East

par Sandra O

21 nov. 2015

The teaching for this class is 1st rate. Much information and nuances given

par Julen B

19 oct. 2017

Really interesting but sometimes it is difficult to follow the translation.

par Teymur S

11 févr. 2016

There is a problem with subtitles.Sometimes they are different from speech.

par Mike J

11 nov. 2015

Interesting course, but rather too short and not going very deep

par Leonel C

15 août 2020

A good, even if short, historical review

par Steven Z P

19 nov. 2016

a bit tedious but lots of information

par Idan F

23 mars 2016

Great way to learn. Tests are to hard

par Yang X

20 mai 2018

good to learn about the history

par INGRID T H

29 juil. 2017

It is a good course.

par Elaine H

14 févr. 2022

​good...

par Reinaldo V d C

20 oct. 2016

good

par Michael G

7 juil. 2017

V

par Stephen H

27 févr. 2016

Good, concise course.

The reason I didn't give it a higher rating is because I found it difficult (not impossible) to follow some of professor Eyal Naveh speach. His first language is not English, so I do not expect him to speak perfect English. However, I would expect the subtitles/transcript not to have basic mistakes. This became important when professor Naveb interview another person in Hebrew, as I found I could not really trust the subtitles.

I think it wouldn't take much to make it an excellent course.

My cheeky suggestion is to have a specialisation with The Emergence of the Modern Middle East by Professor Asher Susser as nucleus and a series of shorter, more in depth courses on certain of the bigger countries, such as Egypt, Turkey and Iran, similar to this one on Israel.

par Alan M D

22 mai 2021

This course is Part 1 of four hours and Part 2 is 12 hours a total of 16 hours. This should ONLY BE ONE COURSE of 16 hours! A significant proportion of this course is also given by Professor Asher Susser and the material he provides is EXACTLY THE SAME as for part of his Emergence of the Middle East, Part 2 I believe. In other words, this is a RIP-OFF! I already paid for Prof Susser's excellent teaching and although I enjoyed most of Part 1, it should all be new material and not mixed with old stuff I have paid for twice. I think Tel-Aviv University is trying to make students pay double and should be ashamed of themselves.