Chevron Left
Retour à Patrick Henry: Forgotten Founder

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Patrick Henry: Forgotten Founder par Université de Virginie

4.9
étoiles
156 évaluations
84 avis

À propos du cours

“Give me liberty, or give me death:” Remembering Patrick Henry, the Forgotten Founder Patrick Henry was enormously popular during the American Revolution. Even Thomas Jefferson, who over time developed a deep loathing of Henry (some would say jealousy), had to admit that “it is not now easy to say what we should have done without Patrick Henry.” Edmund Randolph, a patriot leader in his own right, explained that “It was Patrick Henry … awakening the genius of his country, and binding a band of patriots together to hurl defiance at the tyranny of so formidable a nation as Great Britain.” Yet, today, Patrick Henry is ill-remembered; most Americans might recall at best perhaps a snippet from a famous speech: “give me liberty, or give me death.” The reasons for our historic forgetfulness are several: after the Revolution, Henry chose to oppose ratification of the U.S. Constitution, believing that it created a distant and too-powerful government, and he refused proffered position in George Washington’s administration, diminishing his historic memory. Equally important, Henry died in 1799 shortly after a political campaign in which, at Washington’s behest, he opposed Jefferson’s and James Madison’s ill-advised radical states’ rights attack on the U.S. government, and Jefferson spent the next twenty-six years systematically attacking Henry’s legacy. Patrick Henry, who helped to ignite a revolution, deserves better. This course will explore how he over¬came challenges to reach the pinnacle of Virginia politics and unite Americans behind a challenge to Britain – the eighteenth century’s super-power, why he opposed the U.S. Constitu¬tion, and why he then came out of retirement to defend the people’s Constitution against the attacks of Jefferson and Madison. Participants should evaluate Henry’s role in proclaiming a revolution and consider whether he had an equally important role in saving it. The course should also develop an improved appreciation for the complex political, economic, and religious forces that shaped the early republic. As a biographical course, it also demonstrates how personalities play an important role in even the most foundational national history. Image Attribution: The background image for this webpage is Patrick Henry before the Virginia House of Burgesses by Peter F. Rothermel (1851) with special thanks to the owner, the Patrick Henry Memorial Foundation. The painting of Patrick Henry's 1765 "Caesar had his Brutus" speech (discussed in the second lecture) is entirely romanticized -- neither Henry nor the House of Burgesses looked at all like this -- but it does show that hagiography of Henry, almost god-like veneration, began shortly after this death....

Meilleurs avis

LM

30 juin 2019

Excellent course for anyone interested in American History. Enjoyable lectures. Loved that some of the lectures were filmed at the actual location. Easy to understand. Highly recommend.

HH

5 avr. 2020

This was a wonderful course! Dr. Ragosta was knowledgable, and his lectures interesting and engaging. This course should be required viewing for anyone studying American history!

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 87 Avis pour Patrick Henry: Forgotten Founder

par Pete L

4 mars 2021

I found this course to be fact filled and very interesting in presenting a historic profile of a founding father that I knew very little about. The Jefferson-Henry relationship was fascinating,and being a history major at UVa I knew nothing about.

par Frank L

3 nov. 2018

I really enjoyed taking this class. I learned many new facts about the American revolution, and early America, with a better understanding of Patrick Henry. I enjoyed how John A. Ragosta presented Patrick Henry in his life and times.

par Bernadette F

24 janv. 2021

Like many people, my knowledge of Patrick Henry was quite limited (thank you, Thomas Jefferson). Learning more about his political, professional and personal life has given me increased perspective on the Founding Father era.

par Pat M

19 mai 2018

Week three editing is too redundant. The professor is outstanding. I am proud to ask for the right to say i have a certificate from this great scholar.Thanks fro holding the course. I learned every minute of it.

par Liz M

1 juil. 2019

Excellent course for anyone interested in American History. Enjoyable lectures. Loved that some of the lectures were filmed at the actual location. Easy to understand. Highly recommend.

par Hope H

6 avr. 2020

This was a wonderful course! Dr. Ragosta was knowledgable, and his lectures interesting and engaging. This course should be required viewing for anyone studying American history!

par charles e m

7 juil. 2017

I really enjoyed the course. It was well presented and easy to follow. I would recommend it to anyone who may have an interest in the people who founded our great country.

par Linda F

8 juil. 2021

Outstanding! The best course I have taken so far. I have learned so much about the forgotten contributions of a great patriot and a great man. Thank you so much.

par Jonathan M M

25 nov. 2020

Great course! I would highly recommend this class to anyone interested in the founding of our Nation. Congratulations to Dr. Ragosta on a job well done.

par patrick h

20 déc. 2018

very informative. Not a detailed presentation but certainly one which inspires a closer and more thorough look into the role of Henry in American History.

par Amadeus W

5 mars 2020

还是写一下中文的评论供汉语运用者参考一下吧。这门课的老师人很和蔼,课程绝大多数都是视频,然后除第一周外每周测试12道题。可能毕竟是人文类的课程很难要求学生们完成什么作业吧,就我个人而言觉得老师讲的很有意思,是顺着Patrick Henry的一生讲下来的,想要了解美国大革命的同学可以试着听一听这个课程。

par Mary L

14 avr. 2020

I truly enjoyed learning more about Patrick Henry. The course was educational and the professor's knowledge and passion of Patrick Henry was evident.

par Sarah W

1 mai 2020

A very informative and easy to enjoy lecture on a forgotten founding father. Dr. Ragosta's enthusiasm and knowledge of his subject are infectious.

par Jennifer E

7 nov. 2019

This course was excellent! I learned so much about this patriot that I didn't know before! I was so inspired by it, I went to Red Hill this summer!

par Hilde K

10 juil. 2017

There's so much to learn and it is presented in such an engaging manner. It made me want to go out and learn more about Patrick Henry.

par Suzan H

6 sept. 2017

Well presented. Little known facts about the life and political aspects of Patrick Henry made to keep a learner interested. Thank you.

par Charlie K

15 nov. 2021

Ragosta is an excellent presenter and needless to say knows his subject well. I greatly enjoyed this course and learned a great deal.

par Margaret M

31 mai 2022

Absolutely awesome! I could follow the lectures easily as well as understand the points made. I will take this class again.

par Connie N

21 avr. 2020

Very interesting and easily understood. I thought the speaker was very easy to listen to and I enjoyed the class very much.

par Diane D

27 juil. 2021

John Ragosta"s lectures were packed with information and presented in a friendly manner. The course kept me engaged.

par Fernando R

2 déc. 2019

This is an excellent course. I have learned a lot about Patrick Henry. Very detailed and the professor is excellent!!

par James B N

22 juil. 2017

Very interesting course presented in a way that motivates the student to delve further into the subject.

Great fun!!!

par Kimberly R

8 mai 2020

Great information presented in an easy to understand format. I'm actually sad the course only takes 5 weeks!

par Ronald A Y

18 mars 2021

Enjoyed the course and learned a lot about the man that isn't taught in our institutions.

par Janice O

26 avr. 2020

I thought the course was excellent - clearly presented and thought provoking! Thank you.