Chevron Left
Retour à Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Ideas from the History of Graphic Design par California Institute of the Arts

4.7
étoiles
2,162 évaluations
450 avis

À propos du cours

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

Meilleurs avis

PD
26 nov. 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD
4 déc. 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

Filtrer par :

426 - 446 sur 446 Avis pour Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

par MARISOL P V

4 oct. 2017

Great!

par Charudatta J

26 juin 2020

nice

par DINESH K K

14 juin 2020

good

par Battina D G

10 mai 2020

GOOD

par Katie S

14 sept. 2020

This course was great--really wish it was a bit longer and went through more information. While the course information was good, there is a problem with peer reviews in this course. I found obvious plagiarism and/or a complete misunderstanding of the assignment every week in my peers so something needs to happen with the assignments--in one week I flagged over 4 of my peers. Maybe instructors need to select various images not found online that the students review? Something at least...

par Samantha F

5 avr. 2019

This course provided a solid foundation in graphic design - though limited to a Western history. Today it seems as though Bauhaus-influenced minimalism is an all-encompassing design approach. As a new designer, it would have been beneficial to understand alternative or reactionary approaches (maximalism is a new design buzzword, for example) and traditions from outside the USA/Western Europe schools of design - especially as these are difficult things to research independently.

par Sami L

6 déc. 2016

The course being concentrated exclusively on the design ideas of United States, it's quite literally "some ideas from the history of graphic design". Some of the choices for the contents of the course were, from the continental point of view, rather odd, though that did not make them any less interesting. As a summary: the course was interesting enough to be passed through.

par Bhavna S

22 mai 2017

I found this course very interesting and intensive. There is so much history to understand, interpret and re-contextualise as a designer.

par Luis H

3 juil. 2016

A nice introductory course.

However, I found the latter half of the course too skewed towards the USA.

par Riya A

28 juin 2021

I found this course boring because there was so much history and so many things have to be remembered.

par Dmitrii P

9 avr. 2017

Week 4 - too much of materials, and test questions does not match the text

par Sebastian J M G

13 août 2020

I dont like how classmates grade the work, even if its a good one

par arshla j

24 sept. 2016

Informative and sometimes fascinating.

par Gary D G

7 juin 2020

To many videos and reading

par Erick A R A d l S

24 févr. 2018

The course is very light.

par Tarun V M

1 mai 2020

purty gud

par Mi Z

2 août 2018

This course is really dry and I feel what I learned in the videos are not necessarily connected with the assignments. This is the 3rd course under Graphic Design certificate and is my least favorite one.The ones about fundamentals of Graphic Design and Typography are both really helpful, but not this one.

par Ala'a N E

2 oct. 2019

This course wasn't interesting at all, nor assignments. Please try to enhance the way of presenting the theoretical information.

par Liudmila V

27 juin 2016

This course is about nothing, it is poor illustrated and uninformative. The lecturer's manner is anno

par Sarah E M

14 juil. 2020

I don't recommend at all

par Kathleen D

11 sept. 2016

This course is