Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of GIS

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of GIS par Université de Californie à Davis

4.8
étoiles
4,481 évaluations
1,377 avis

À propos du cours

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Meilleurs avis

VM
4 oct. 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

BJ
27 déc. 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 1,336 Avis pour Fundamentals of GIS

par David H

26 oct. 2020

Nick is a great instructor. He explains everything very clearly and the lessons proceed in a good progression that builds on the last topic covered. Coursera's platform works well, though there are sometimes some refresh issues it generally works well and is easy to use as a student.

par MD Z S

12 juin 2020

Those who are keen to learning GIS, this is a must course to enroll. The instructor, Nick Santos is absolutely amazing and anyone would definitely enjoy learning from him. This course will not only make the basics of GIS robus but also make you step up learning GIS more to the depth

par Chris C

14 févr. 2018

This is a great course to understand the fundamentals of GIS. While you may feel lost and confused at certain times, don't worry as it will all come together when you complete your peer-reviewed assignment, provided you are motivated enough to seek out the solutions to your errors.

par Jacqueline J

1 sept. 2020

For someone new to computer oriented classes I am glad that this was a "your pace" kind of class. The instructor did a good job explaining the course and the "homework" or projects through the course helped me succeed in the peer reviewed final assignment. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

par Rebecca R

20 juil. 2020

Highly practical content, focussing on how to use ArcGIS - toured many of the features and capabilities within this software as well as covering basic understanding of modern GIS. Assignments provided really good practical experience, they were well thought out and well explained.

par Deleted A

7 août 2016

This course is a good introduction for anyone beginning to work with GIS, because it starts from the very basics. The course has a great format and content; it's one of the best I've taken on Coursera. The tutorial assignments and project are great for practicing the concepts.

par Thanura H V

24 janv. 2021

This helps me to engage in surfing knowledge regarding Arc GIS. The fundamentals were taught very clearly with friendly manner of the assignments. Thank you all for the contribution. Recommending others to do this course and will pave the way to create the passion to learn GIS.

par Keshav R

8 avr. 2020

This one of the best course in Coursera in the field of Geographic Information System. The course materials are up to date and the instructor is also very qualified and his ways of teaching is awesome. I strongly recommend this course to everyone who are involved in this field.

par Talita N T

26 août 2020

The course was very good for me! I have been working with GIS for many years and even so I learned some ArcMap functions that I didn't even know existed. Nick is super didactic and even those who do not have English with a native language can understand. Thanks for the course.

par James C

28 avr. 2016

This course was perfect for just getting into GIS. I have taken a few entry level GIS courses and the videos / practical application that this course provided was some of the easiest to comprehend. Thank you for all of the material and I'm looking forward to my next class!

par Douglas B

21 déc. 2020

It is an extremely well-designed course that shows much thought.

I have a couple of suggestions for Nick Santos. As my advisor repeatedly stressed DATA ARE PLURAL. I cringe every time you say the data is.

You move your arms too much when speaking. It is a distraction.

par Cristian R V K

10 avr. 2018

Excellent course. The lessons were clear. The progression system is on point. The assignments were well designed and really got me motivated to continue. Highly recommend it to anyone. Definitely taking on the second course of the series. Thanks to the team behind this.

par Isabella B

12 mai 2020

Fundamentals of GIS was a very comprehensive course for those interested in learning the foundations to Geographic Information Systems. The course is well paced and the real-world assignments are particularly good for demonstrating the different areas GIS works with.

par Pabasara P W

11 mai 2020

I enjoyed taking this course. It was easy to navigate from the beginning. The instructors' (Nick Santos) explanations were very clear and easy to understand. The assignments were interesting and fun at the same time. The time spent on the course was well worth it!

par Carol P

8 mars 2021

The course is a great start for those interested in learning or pursuing a career in GIS. It also highlights the Spatial Join Tool that can possibly fix most analytic issues. The modules have been designed well and an exercise with each module is really helpful.

par Juan A H B

1 mai 2020

Es un curso que te permite avanzar a tu propio ritmo, lo cual se agradece mucho, además te ofrece los recursos necesarios para tu aprendizaje y las explicaciones son buenas. siempre y cuando leas atentamente las indicaciones no tendrás ninguna clase de problema.

par Evelyn P

30 janv. 2021

Nick is so clear in his lectures, the assignment were easy to follow, quizzes covered many important aspects of ArcGIS, and the final assignment was very relatable to real world solutions. Was such a fun course and I loved learning a little bit more about GIS.

par dora k

14 janv. 2021

The best course I had so far on coursera. Nick Santos is great, he goes above and beyond to make sure we get everything right, explains stuff clearly and he is very thorough. the course setup and logical order is also great. Can only recommend and thanks Nick.

par Sofi S

13 mars 2020

The concepts were very clearly and concisely explained; the practice assignments (1-3) were very helpful in developing experience working with ArcMap; and Dr. Santos is a great lecturer. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants an introduction to GIS.

par Alexandre M

9 janv. 2017

Highly recommended! The content is a fascinating introduction to using ArcMap and real-world data to create basic maps. Individual skills are taught in a stepwise fashion and culminate in an enjoyable final assignment. Nick is a terrific teacher - well done!

par Ángel B

19 févr. 2018

I had previous experience with ArcGIS because I had to learn on my own, but this course taught me a lot more tools than I thought I would get from a "fundamentals" course. The teacher is very detailed and thorough, yet very easy to understand. Great course.

par Huanglei P

27 déc. 2017

Although it is a fundamental course, Nick illustrated core concepts of GIS and most useful operations and skills on ArcGIS. When finishing this course, you are able to do some primary analysis and draw beautiful and professional maps in ArcGIS! Really cool!

par Katharine S

6 févr. 2017

Really awesome instructor! He walks you through everything. He assumes you know little about computers and programming, which is great for people trying to gain a deep understanding of why things work the way they do. Really helpful introduction to ArcGIS!

par JCarlos P

12 nov. 2019

Mr Santos and his team have done a great job in this course. I'd highlight two points that I appreciated a lot: the final assignment closely relates to the course's content and the right balance between depth and breadth of the weekly topics. Congrats.

par Karyn D

30 juin 2018

I have been using ArcGIS for a long time and I am very comfortable with the program features that I use frequently. I expected this introductory course to be all review, but was very pleased that I learned so much more already. On the the next course!...