Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of GIS

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of GIS par Université de Californie à Davis

4.8
étoiles
4,486 évaluations
1,380 avis

À propos du cours

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Meilleurs avis

VM
4 oct. 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

BJ
27 déc. 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

Filtrer par :

151 - 175 sur 1,337 Avis pour Fundamentals of GIS

par 吴陶樱

30 mai 2018

I'm majoring in GIS for master's degree, but I didn't take it as my major for bachelor's degree, so I lack fundamentals of GIS a lot, and this course builds the fundamentals of GIS for me, a very useful course. If you want to learn something about ArcGIS, this course is really helpful! I'll keep learning this specialization.

par Luis C S

19 avr. 2018

Here, instructor Nick Santos can teach an absolute GIS beginner enough concepts to start creating professional-quality maps by the end of the course. The instructional videos are clear and have a high production value. I would recommend this course to anyone looking to start using ArcGIS to start or supplement their careers.

par KARNATI S R

19 mai 2020

Before starting this course I had no idea about GIS but now I am totally familiar and can work on GIS. The instructor helped and supported till the end of course. Now my interest towards GIS increased because of this course. The best part is only this course provides with licensed ArcGIS software to work on the full course.

par James W O

8 mai 2020

After trying several courses on GIS, in this course, I finally got a course that as given me the foundation i have always wanted. I feel I can now build on this to develop my skills in spatial analysis. The instructors and especially Nick are great-they have structured the course in such a way that anybody can easily follow

par Maria d V

7 mai 2018

Everything is very nicely explained. I love that you can both watch the video's and get the text belonging to it. Also the assignments are good to follow. However, sometimes there is a question in the assignment and then there is no answer. I would have liked it if the answer would be included somewhere in the end or so.

par GABRIEL I B B

22 nov. 2019

A great introductory course in GIS! At first I thought it was too easy, but when you get to week 4 and work on the final assignment, everything that was taught will be utilize for you to finish the assignment and it is really challenging. All in all a complete, well thought of and challenging introductory course in GIS.

par Laura E P

12 mai 2020

I am part of a wildlife field project with a small budget. I wanted to be able to start analyzing our GPS-GSM data myself. With these fundamentals, I am able to start. I thought the course structure was great and really benefited from taking this course. I look forward to the next course in the specialization.

par Safuwan A

5 oct. 2016

I studied GIS & Remote sensing in the university, but it never became meaningful to me until now.

With real world experience modified into tuition and interactive learning and practices; its just lovely.

I have really got a feel of GIS and I want more of it again & again...

Kudos to the team.

I am much obliged !!!

par Martin D

23 nov. 2016

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to gain knowledge and learn some basic skills in GIS. Like the name of the course suggests, it gives you a sound foundation to build on. The lecturer, Mr Nick Santos, has a real talent in teaching and does a fantastic job in sharing his passion for GIS.

par Andriambolantsoa R

22 mars 2016

This is an excellent course for anyone starting with GIS. It covers all the bases you need to know to make your first map and share it with the world. It also in the way covers the most important thing in GIS : making selection.

The course is well structured and easy to follow. I highly recommend this course

par Victoria M

20 juil. 2017

A great introduction to GIS. The lecture material is clear and easy to follow with weekly assignments making good practice for theory learnt. Nick is a great communicator and his passion for GIS shines through. I've thoroughly enjoyed the course and look forward to the next module in the specialisation.

par William A

29 mai 2016

This is an excellent introduction to GIS and ArcGIS, especially if you are a professional that needs to start learning GIS while balancing work. I am taking the entire speciality, which is really worth doing--four weeks is not enough for this field. The instructor and materials are thoughtful and clear.

par Raden M A

4 juin 2020

Really good course to demonstrate the basic elements of GIS, perfect introductory for those who never have any experience in GIS. Maybe the course could improve if the final assignment is not really focused on proprietary software and let students complete the assignment using open source alternatives.

par Andrei D N

23 oct. 2016

Wonderfully structured ! This course helped me start with GIS from scratch and walked me through up to a point when I was able to search for data, evaluate and analyze data and make my own map files.

Recommend for beginners and self taught intermediates who need to grasp some core principles correctly.

par David K

14 févr. 2021

Very thorough introduction to GIS. I really enjoyed this learning style where you are able to take notes directly from the lecture video clips. Hands on assignments were great for actually having to figure out problems and apply the skills you just learned in the lectures. Definitely would recommend.

par Rishabh S

11 mars 2019

Thanks a lot to University of California, In India we don't use GIS in City Gas distribution industry, but after learning this course I get to know the importance of this software. And providing free version for the student help to experiment with the software at my own pace.

Thanks a lot to Coursera

par Himanshu s

4 mars 2020

It is very good course for learning the basics of GIS as this course provide the important information that is required to learn GIS. Videos provided are quite descriptive which are easy to understand and assignments also helpful to understand the concept and help to be familiar with the Arcmap.

par Alex B

1 nov. 2020

Excellent overview course providing exactly the right amount of detail to feel like you've got a good foundation, without ever making you wonder if a section is more specialised, or more basic than you need. Good, balanced assessment structure - enjoyed the opportunity to peer review at the end.

par wamunyima k

3 avr. 2020

This journey has been good for me especially lessons by our lecturer Nick Santos gives very clear and descriptive explanations. Its very interesting to lean this course. its really helpful to me, wish my friend can join me, because this course is not common but can be applied in all the sectors

par Luke F

4 mai 2020

Good introduction to GIS. I thought I knew the fundamentals because I've played around with QGIS before and made some simple maps, but this course was more rigorous and taught me some GIS tools, standards and things to watch out for when geoprocessing that I wouldn't have thought of otherwise.

par Lourdes J

11 mai 2018

This was a great refresher course for me. it goes beyond basics to discuss troubleshooting ArcMap, sharing the map on the web, implementing a variety of symoblogy types, geoprocessing (spatial joins, etc.) your data, and making map books, all with practicality AND proper procedure in mind.

par Thomas L

24 juil. 2017

Incredible course- extremely informative and does a spectacular job at preparing one for other specialties in GIS. This introductory course opens doors for further study in GIS, Urban Planning, and Environmental Policy and Law, and allows a functional understanding of the basics of ArcGIS.

par Denise P

15 mai 2016

Easy to understand overview of basic GIS concepts and how to apply them in ArcGIS. The short videos fit into a busy day and can be slipped in between work and home life. Forums are easily accessible with helpful input from the instructor as well as experienced students. Highly recommended.

par Kiran K G

11 févr. 2020

It is the best course which covers all the essential basics which you need to know about GIS as a beginner. I highly recommend this course if you have 5-6 hours per week. You will appreciate this course once you complete it. I am looking forward to the next module in this specialization.

par Andrew K

4 nov. 2019

Great introduction to the basic concepts of GIS. I took a GIS class in undergrad roughly eight years ago and wanted to brush up, and this class definitely helped with that. I recommend buying the textbook they recommend having as it gives extra practice than what is offered in the class.