Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of GIS

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of GIS par Université de Californie à Davis

4.8
étoiles
4,519 évaluations
1,396 avis

À propos du cours

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Meilleurs avis

VM
4 oct. 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

BJ
27 déc. 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

Filtrer par :

1226 - 1250 sur 1,354 Avis pour Fundamentals of GIS

par Rifqi A S

11 août 2020

This course is not lying about being fundamental, and it's a good thing! I was struggling to find a course to start GIS, and I am genuinely relieved to have found this specialization. Although I couldn't give a full star because of it not using ArcGIS Pro, but this course splendidly covers what is essential to start with GIS.

Thank you very much for Nick Santos and team to make this available!

par Hilary W

1 juin 2017

I found the course tutorials and materials really good and clear. I found achieving what I wanted on ARC GIS much harder than I thought it would be, so it was re-assuring where they indicated that people would re-watch the tutorials more than once (Can't tell you how many times I had to watch them to get some elements of the course!!). But encouraged to go on and do the next one.

par Christiane

26 avr. 2020

Comprehensive introductory course, providing links, ways to approach troubleshooting when learning online/by yourself plus background information. The videos that accompany the weekly assigments provide insights into the learning material that is actually being used in the assignments. By taking the weekly quizes one was enabled to assess their own learning process. Thank you!

par Antje C R

30 mars 2020

The guided assignments were excellent. In the lectures, however, I sometimes missed the forest for the trees. Since this course is for novices to GIS, an overall "roadmap" covering the forest of functions in ArcGIS would be helpful.

Nick Santos presents the materials in a clear, low-key manner, while conveying a good deal of enthusiasm - I enjoyed listening.

par Jon W

16 janv. 2021

Very well organized course. Nick is fantastic. It would help if the peer review process could be streamlined, as it is rather tedious. I burned a week waiting for peer reviews. My recommendation to other students is to always be taking multiple courses at a given time so you can focus on the other course while waiting for blocking issues.

par Robin v L

16 déc. 2020

Very well structured, comfortable learning curve, great material, great teacher.

The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is due to the heavy focus on ArcGIS. I understand that learning GIS requires a working environment to learn in, but the course is more "what can you do in ArcGIS" and less "what can you do with GIS".

par Phyllis T

20 janv. 2018

The course material was detailed and the facilitator made the subject understandable. Learning GIS was interesting. However, waiting for peers to review my work was frustrating. I reviewed more than 6 assignments for others but my assignment was only reviewed last minute after I sent requests in the discussion forum.

par Colby P

8 févr. 2021

Nick Santos is great and the course covers a lot of content, and I definitely feel like I have the fundamentals down. That being said, the Peer Review portion of the course is a frustrating ordeal. I expect it is in any Coursera course, but this was my first experience.

par 李博涵

5 mars 2017

In general, it's quite helpful for me, but it could be a little bit too fundamental sometimes, for example the professor would explain things like how to find a button... which may not be so necessary, but it's ok, I think I will enroll the next course of this series.

par Bruno A

21 nov. 2018

Very enthusiastic instructor.

Good starting course, very well structured (with just the necessary small repetitions to consolidate knowledge).

Good final assignment.

(Very small) caveat: could be clearer at times in conveying certain not-so-difficult notions.

par Nataraj N D

3 avr. 2020

It's an overall good course. But I think you may show more uses of tools in this course. And another thing is; English is not the native language for all classes of students here. So if you speak slowly that will be more helpful to understand.

par Nohelia F C

10 mars 2017

I have learned a lot in this course. It is very nice, but I think that it would be nice if the students can communicate with the teacher directly, because sometimes there are some comments or questions and it is only read it by the group.

par Prathana B

22 août 2017

Excellent course to kick off learning in GIS. But for me the peer review of assignment seemed a little discouraging. Other than that a great learning experience. If you are interested in GIS, I think you should give it a shot.

par AGWE D R

19 avr. 2021

This is incredible to complete this course from coursera and my special thanks goes to Nick Santos for delivering the Training. A would appreciate my organisation UNHCR and UNV to pay for all this special skills course.

par ESSILFIE K B

17 août 2020

I never had ideal of what GIS is but this course has really enlightening my view of GIS. And now am proud to say i know what GIS is and to analyse your data with ArcMap. therefore I recommend this to you also.

Thank You

par luisa m

5 mars 2016

Great course, right what I needed as I use with statistics and econometrics in development issues, but I needed to add the "spatial" element.

I would give the 5th star, if the slide of the lessons were available

thanks!

par Cornelis A G

14 juin 2020

The course is well laid out and you get access to GIS software for training and studying. The examples are well set up and give a good idea of what you can do with GIS. A complete course manual in pdf would be useful

par Francisco D d B

11 mai 2020

The course is awesome. I learned a lot and it helped me in many ways. The only thing that can be improved is the peer graded assignment, some students did not follow the instructions on how to grade our work.

par Julie B

4 juin 2020

Very well instructed. A few of the instructors were hard to understand, but the transcript help in this area. Overall the course was easy to follow and the coursework was challenging for a first timer.

par Aidan J

11 sept. 2019

some parts are hard to follow sometimes and can be monotunioos some times but over a great cour to get into gis with plenty of exrecises and avilable file as the one being worked on in the lectures

par EnviroTrek L C

18 nov. 2020

This is the best course in GIS I have ever done, especially considering that it touches the core GIS software-ArcGIS. I give credits to Coursera,Esri ,UC Davis and finally thanks to Nick Santos.

par Bonnie W

15 mai 2016

The first week was a little slow, but I'm glad I stuck it out. This was very helpful and informative. The labs are invaluable practice that accompany the videos well. Thanks Nick!

par Abdoul K F

14 nov. 2017

Un cours très intéressant qui part des fonctionnalités d'ArcGIS à la production d'une carte complète. Toutefois à ce niveau, on apprend pas encore à produire ses propres données.

par NELSON E

18 avr. 2019

T

h

i

s

c

o

u

r

s

e

w

a

s

v

e

r

y

g

o

o

d

a

n

d

f

r

u

t

f

u

l

l

t

o

m

e

.

i

h

a

v

e

l

e

a

r

n

t

a

l

o

t

i

n

F

u

n

d

e

r

m

e

n

t

a

l

o

f

G

I

S

a

n

d

h

o

p

e

t

o

c

o

n

t

i

n

u

e

t

o

l

e

a

r

n

m

o

r

e

a

n

d

e

v

e

n

j

o

i

n

t

h

e

G

I

S

g

r

o

u

p

.

t

h

a

n

k

y

o

u

v

e

r

y

m

u

c

h

D

v

i

s

f

o

r

y

o

u

r

t

i

m

e

a

n

d

g

u

i

d

e

n

c

e

.

N

e

l

s

o

n

E

n

y

a

g

u

par Arshad A S

9 déc. 2016

It was an Excellent Course I learned a lot and it was a great opportunity to learn GIS basics.

Thank you so much

Nick Santos (our instructor) and the UC Davis Extension Team