Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of GIS

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of GIS par Université de Californie à Davis

4.8
étoiles
5,154 évaluations

À propos du cours

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Meilleurs avis

A

16 mai 2021

GREAT COURSE TO JUMPSTART FOR ANY NEW LEARNERS IN THE FIELD OF GIS. It is extremely helpful to learn the basics & the projects help any new learners to understand what kind of work is done in ArcGIS.

BJ

27 déc. 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 1,575 Avis pour Fundamentals of GIS

par Mubashir S

29 juin 2020

very helpful

par Fabián N R

29 mai 2020

great...

par Alex J M

13 juil. 2020

ok

par Kyle A

25 avr. 2020

As an introductory course, I found Fundamentals of GIS to serve me incredibly well. The material was laid out clearly and the team at UC Davis has put together very easy-to-follow video lectures and practical "lab" activities.

The video lectures were well edited and the instructor's affable and approachable nature emanates from the screen. I found the video content engaging and helpful.

The lab activities are self-directed using a PDF written up by the course instructors. The instructional step-by-step PDFs acted as excellent tutorials for using the primary software covered in this course, ArcGIS.

Though I appreciated the use of forum posts to review material at the conclusion of every section, I didn't find many meaningful discussions occurring in them. I would've appreciated seeing some early forums assignments such as "Share some examples of GIS material use in your favorite region."

Overall, I enjoyed the course and gained knowledge I didn't have previously. I have a basic understanding on the use of ArcGIS to complete basic projects as well as a broader sense of GIS in the world and its uses. Thank you UC Davis!

par Lisa A

17 févr. 2022

Nick is an excellent professor. He explains concepts in a straightforward, easy to understand way. It's awesome that we get a year of the student version of ArcMap to play around in. The assignments were helpful and instructions were easy to follow. I'm looking forward to learning more about how to aggregate data and build maps in future courses. I will say though that there were some difficulties on the tech side doing this course. For one, I have a Mac so I had to purchase and install Windows for Mac since ArcMap only runs on Windows. So that took some time and I think ~$150. Second, the link they initially send to you to install ArcMap doesn't come in the right format (It needs to be in a .txt format). My husband (who's a coder) had to help me convert it to the correct format so I could actually install the software I needed. Questions related to technical problems on the discussion boards don't seem to be answered promptly (or sometimes at all). If not for these issues, I'd give the course 5 stars.

par Jennifer M

9 févr. 2022

The course content was great and I learned a lot! The assignments provided a good introduction to hand-on GIS work, and the lectures explained things in an easy-to-understand way. However, some of the material (e.g., the video about how to get your ArcGIS license) was out of date. There was also an issue with one of the assignments involving a graded external tool that caused a lot of stress for many students (the assignment refused to mark itself as 'complete' even after completing the task, preventing students from completing the course and necessitating a lot of back-and-forth with the Coursera suport team), and the course staff didn't appear to be monitoring the discussion forums to address this issue.

par Olivia R C

14 avr. 2020

Nick Santos is a great teacher. I found that the first half of the course was extremely well explained. I found it very easy to follow, and was thankful for the slow yet engaging pace of learning. However, I felt that the course got a bit "rushed" towards the end. Particularly in week 4, there were a few lectures that I did not completely understand. A few things were also a bit unclear in the final assignment, which was stressful considering it was graded. I think this has given me a good range of skills for starting off with GIS. Thank you!

par Conor J R

20 mai 2016

A good introduction to GIS focusing on the fundamental principles with a good practical element included. There is a lot to take in over four weeks so it does require plenty of time to absorb all the required learning and complete the assignment. Plenty of information and resources are provided and the lectures are clear and easily to follow. The only criticism I would have is that there is probably too much emphasis on Arc GIS, it would have been nice to learn some more about open source platforms like QGIS.

par Jose D L

16 juil. 2022

Great course but I didn't give it the 5 stars becuase for the 2nd assingment, the Cummulative Area table that was required to complete the assignment was not inlcuded with the data, therefore I could not complete this assignment. It seems like other people had that same issue too. I hope they correct this issue or if this was a mistake in my part, I hope they provide a better explanation of where to get this table so future students don't have to skip this assignment too.

par YAPO J S A

3 déc. 2019

Le cours est assez intéressant et permet de commencer à se familiariser aux Systèmes d'Information Géographique. En plus grâce à ce cours, il est possible d'obtenir une licence originale de l'un des meilleurs logiciels SIG gratuitement pour une durée d'un an. Il n'y a pas de plus meilleur avantage que cela! Même si le cours est en anglais, ce n'est pas une barrière pour les francophones, alors allez-y et lancez-vous!

par Grant J

23 juil. 2020

Great intro to GIS. Covers many basic elements of ArcGIS - enough to get you started understanding data and making maps. The only reason I give it 4 stars is that it is taught in ArcMap, which ESRI is phasing out (almost all customers are switching to ArcGIS Pro, but they are not providing student licenses yet). Nick is a great teacher.

par Robbie S

14 août 2021

Good presentation style and pace of learning for someone with basic or no GIS skills. The only drawback was multiple activities were missing data from the downloadable dataset, which added an unnecessary level of frustration. The forums were helpful for that.

par Sofía L S

1 juil. 2020

I found this course very entertaining. I learned the basics by listening and practicing. The best part of it is the opportunity to apply concepts on real maps. Tip: don't forget to download Demo's material to follow what Nick explains during the videos.

par Nicolas R P

11 mai 2022

Es un muy buen curso de introducción! Sin embargo, considero que algunos temas podrían actualizarse un poco más e incluir nuevos temas relacionados con aplicaciones móviles.

par Jonathan k

5 mai 2022

Would have liked to follow along with the demos a bit more. Found it jumped to a new data set without being fully provided with the files.

par Neema K

15 juil. 2020

i specifically loved the practical assignments

par Brenna G

3 mars 2021

I do not feel like this course was as informative as it could've been. There were a number of things I ended up watching other videos to get the full idea of what to do. The final assignment was an absolute pain! I resubmitted multiple times because people would grade harshly, but then say "great map!". Peer review is not an effective means of grading when people do not leave thought out feedback. I am not satisfied with this course and I had hoped to do the whole specialization, but will not be doing that after finishing this course. The professor should be a little easier to get a hold of to make this course feel authentic.

par Mohammed A

8 juil. 2017

Great course also best instructor my problem is the grading by others is taking really longtime I've been waiting two days until now and no one even looked at my assignment. also I tired posting my problem in the discussion thread even begged but nothing.

par Margaret F

18 oct. 2016

The course and the content was great, but the grading process was terrible. Will probably finish the specialization, but wish there was a better way to be graded for the money.

par Madeline G

25 févr. 2020

The course itself was great, but I think the grading system could definitely be improved on the final project!

par Kenny C

16 janv. 2020

the software is outdated and the assignment instruction is not clear at all!

par Jacob G

14 févr. 2018

Needs to be updated to cover the use of ArcGIS pro.

par James M

30 juil. 2017

Peer review is unreliable.

par Tim D

11 avr. 2021

For myself, I experienced issues trying to work the course projects with the student ArcGIS course work during the process. I reloaded three versions each upload going down one version to the 10.3.1 and the course files were not available to be found on my computer. At the end, I was able to bring in the final project and located the files, and did tinker around with some of the data, but not enough to submit for Peer review or to take the Final Week 4 quiz. Go figure! Because I was not able to work the course projects, I was a deer in headlights at the end. I did use the group sections to identify other users experiencing the same issues. I found dated concerns, with no comments. Because I could not identify and referenced coursework updates, I can assume it is aging and does need to be reviewed and refreshed.

par Neil K

17 févr. 2017

Needs to be more concise.

Nick seems very passionate and trying to reach a broad audience, but overly explaining topics is creating "lecture fatigue" for me. For instance, every video starts with "welcome back... this is why people like this... [meat of the video]... this is what we just talked about.... see you next time". I really just need the [meat of the video] part. These videos are 5-10 minutes long each. They are very short and therefore I do not need an introduction/closeout for each individual one. The Module Overview and Module Recap videos are sufficient to serve that purpose.

Overall, I learned the basics and will probably take the next GIS course because I like the Coursera framework, but I think this particular course could be much more condensed.