Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of GIS

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of GIS par Université de Californie à Davis

4.8
étoiles
3,803 évaluations
1,138 avis

À propos du cours

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Meilleurs avis

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

JA

May 04, 2020

Muy buen curso, me sirvió mucho, aprendí demasiado sobre las cosas básicas y el profesor es muy bueno !! Super recomendado si no saben nada de GIS y están empezando a comprender las herramientas

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 1,098 Avis pour Fundamentals of GIS

par Zamil A L

May 31, 2020

It was an amazing journey. I prefer this course to everyone who wants to improve their skill regarding ArcGIS.

par Mennatallah H A

May 25, 2020

My main downside is the Extra readings section. I don't have the book nor do I have the ability to obtain it!

par Tysson S d C

May 26, 2020

The course added a lot of relevant information that I believed was advanced. Thank you very much!

par Edgar C G T

May 30, 2020

It's a great beginning for someone that don't have idea about GIS I totally recommend.

par Arifunnahar

May 28, 2020

Coursera gave a opportunity to learned and enrich myself with a prudent community.

par Hugo F R V

Jun 01, 2020

es un curso bueno para aprender las bases de arcGIS. lo recomiendo

par Himanshu y

May 30, 2020

This is a good course. I've learned very much.

par Kayeron D B

May 30, 2020

Wonderful class! Very informative!

par Yoki S R

May 29, 2020

Great Courses, Awesome Teacher.

par Noor-E-Zannat S

May 29, 2020

Its very helpful.. Thanks a lot

par Farhan K

May 27, 2020

Very good introductory course

par Petar D

May 28, 2020

Very Good Course!

par Hmida E M

May 31, 2020

excellent course

par Fabián N R

May 29, 2020

great...

par YAPO J S A

Dec 03, 2019

Le cours est assez intéressant et permet de commencer à se familiariser aux Systèmes d'Information Géographique. En plus grâce à ce cours, il est possible d'obtenir une licence originale de l'un des meilleurs logiciels SIG gratuitement pour une durée d'un an. Il n'y a pas de plus meilleur avantage que cela! Même si le cours est en anglais, ce n'est pas une barrière pour les francophones, alors allez-y et lancez-vous!

par Shane N

Feb 20, 2017

I should have never paid for this course. By the time I got into the subject the refund policy was expired. Do not take pay for this course or program at all.

par Kathy M

Jan 10, 2017

not very well organized.

par Nihal A

May 23, 2020

This is a beginners course and at the start, I had very little experience with ArcGIS. This course gives you key information to get started with ArcGIS, like how to use the spatial joint, how to manipulate the attribute table and share data etc. The course information is very clear, keeps it relevant and you learn it in a very systematic order. In each week what you learn you get hands-on experiences with the practical assessment. I have done many courses at university face to face and this course is comparable to some of those courses. This course gave me the skills and confidence to make beautiful maps in ArcGIS.

The only part of this course I would change is the final peer review assessment instead of submitting it and get a mark. They should have a 4-step process, first, the student should submit the map and map document like normal. Second, the peer reviewer should get a document/form that goes through step by step what check and leaves feedback if done incorrectly. Third, Then the document/ form gets returned the student who goes through it and makes the changes or if they feel the changes are unfair comment why. Then the student should Submit the document/form with comments on the changes, with the final map and map document for marking. This is a bit more work but when each student while peer-reviewing and making changes they are learning what the did wrong. This makes it more of a learning process because few students in the discussion were confused where they went wrong.

par Srijita S

Jun 14, 2016

I am an Architect-Planner by profession. Was looking for this course for quite sometime. I finally found it on Coursera. I had a great time learning Fundamentals of GIS. I had never before worked in Gis though I had a very little theoretical idea. But, at the end of this course, I was able to analyse and make my own map, something I had never done before with GIS. The lectures were to the point, with most of the details covered. The assignments for practice were very helpful too. This course comes with a very helpful reading materiaI and a year long licensed version of ArcGIS too. I had a great time in taking up the quizes, and the peer reviewed final assignment. I highly recommend this course. Last but not the least, thank you Nick Santos for teaching so well! got back to class almost after 8 years and had a great time! I am sure that this will help me taking up further studies in my field.

par Zahra B

May 05, 2020

The course was well designed and could convey the information very well. I loved the way that the instructor was teaching and assessing the students and now I can tell that I have an initial idea about the GIS.

The only thing that I didn't like about the course was peer-review grading way! What I realized is that students usually review other's assignments based on their own assignment because they think they have done everything correctly. So they don't really pay attention to the review questions and what is asked to do and I believe this is a weak point of peer-reviewing!

However, I believe the course was that wonderful that is definitely worth taking and I will recommend it to my friends for sure!

Thank you for providing this opportunity.

par Sujit B

Sep 12, 2016

So far so good! I like the way the lectures and quizzes are presented. I am loving the instructor and his style. However, I have to go through the whole course before I could say how productive the course will be. Anyway, thanks a lot for the team!

Thanks a lot Nick Sanots, Coursera, UC Davis and all fellow learners. I was a week late and could not complete the final assignment in time. However, the course is great! The course is medium paced, and best even for newcomers and intermediates alike. The chapters presented in the course are very productive and vivid. I simply love the course. I don't feel there is any room for improvement. Its just perfect! I love this course. Looking forward for next session of this course and next course.

par Maria D

Aug 25, 2017

This was an excellent intro course. I took an in-person GIS for Natural Resource Managers course a year ago (also through UC Davis Extension), and I have been using ArcGIS occasionally since. This online course served as a great refresher and contained a lot of useful information that was new to me. I even felt like it was more helpful than the in-person course. And while this course is written to be useful to people from different professions all over the world, as a water quality professional in California I derived extra benefit from it being done by a watershed management lab in California that works with state and federal agencies. Thank you, I look forward to completing the Specialization and applying the new skills to my work!

par Maria A

Apr 24, 2020

An excellent course for beginners and professionals to understand dynamics of GIS. The course is well developed to understand the concepts and develop skill systematically. I appreciate the way course is designed without adding too much cognitive load and keep it simple, focused and practical. The assignments help you to develop maps from scratch and facilitate in completing final marked assignment. The maximum lecture video time is 13 minutes and the short duration keeps you engaged without losing your concentration. The quiz are really about the core concepts that you learn from instructor. The delivery of lectures is simple, focused and to the point. I must appreciate instructor and his team for developing such a great course.

par Andis Z

Dec 19, 2017

I think this was a very well put together course. For me, person, who had never worked with ArcGIS, there was no problem to follow the lectures and understand everything. The lectures were well structured, everything was explained in detail, which was also the case for the assignments a and even if I forgot something, I just checked again the lecture material and it got clear. One other thing to mention, even if I was really interested in obtaining the knowledge of ArcGIS software in the beginning already, during this course I understood that there are so many other things I can achieve with GIS and the knowledge I can obtain here can be really useful in my future career, therefore this is definitely not my last course here!

par Henrik R H T

Mar 22, 2016

I'm only done with week 1 of this course 'Fundamentals of GIS' and I divided the work load into two evenings. I'm a full time master student, but this way of learning is really great in combination with full-time work, study etc.

Even tho it's rather late right now and I'm tired, I'm really considering to take a few more modules. The structure and the content is so exciting and really drags me into the world of GIS.

The lecturer Nick Santos is really good, the pace is perfect and you are always able to go back to previous videos, documents or search the internet, ask your fellow students or the professor if something is bothering you or if you are just curious.

I HIGHLY recommend this course and the specialisation aswell.