Chevron Left
Retour à Geospatial Analysis Project

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Geospatial Analysis Project par Université de Californie à Davis

4.9
étoiles
201 évaluations
58 avis

À propos du cours

In this project-based course, you will design and execute a complete GIS-based analysis – from identifying a concept, question or issue you wish to develop, all the way to final data products and maps that you can add to your portfolio. Your completed project will demonstrate your mastery of the content in the GIS Specialization and is broken up into four phases: Milestone 1: Project Proposal - Conceptualize and design your project in the abstract, and write a short proposal that includes the project description, expected data needs, timeline, and how you expect to complete it. Milestone 2: Workflow Design - Develop the analysis workflow for your project, which will typically involve creating at least one core algorithm for processing your data. The model need not be complex or complicated, but it should allow you to analyze spatial data for a new output or to create a new analytical map of some type. Milestone 3: Data Analysis – Obtain and preprocess data, run it through your models or other workflows in order to get your rough data products, and begin creating your final map products and/or analysis. Milestone 4: Web and Print Map Creation – Complete your project by submitting usable and attractive maps and your data and algorithm for peer review and feedback....

Meilleurs avis

MD
5 juin 2017

This is an integrated project to go through the knowledge aquired during the entire specialization. I partaked in many MOOCs but this one in GIS has been one of the best I had never taken.

DE
29 mai 2017

Excellent course and excellent specialization! I got new knowledge and great pleasure from studying! Many thanks to Coursera, UC Davis and personally to Nick Santos!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 57 Avis pour Geospatial Analysis Project

par Marit d L

22 oct. 2018

Very good course, although I would like to see the assignments for the final project/course not being peer reviewed but rather by professionals. That would make the certificate even more valuable. Peer review has some large disadvantages. Nevertheless, the experience in GIS that I gained by doing this project is huge. Thanks a lot!

par Anthony L

31 déc. 2019

The content of this course (and the entire GIS Specialization) was great. The teacher is amazing. The only problem with this course is that it does not appear to be popular. I am now finishing the capstone project and it seems like we are 4 to 5 students active on the forums.

When the grade is based on peer review, this is very stressful! I don't even know if the other students will complete and review my assignment on time before the deadline.

To be fair with UC Davis, I think it is OK to rely on peer review for the first 4 courses of the specialization; this would reduce their workload. However, I really think that grading for the Final Project should be done by UC Davis. This will remove any risk of plagiarism and lift up the people who really worked hard on their project.

In addition, I had some issues with some of my peers who made me fail an assignment, without any justification (this was in another course of the same specialization). I think it should be the duty of the UC Davis team to intervene in such a case, especially when you have such a small number of students doing the Specialization.

par Gary S

17 mars 2017

A good course with clear instructional materials and excellent presentation. However the reason it does not get 5 stars is that when I signed up to the GIS specialisation in April 2016 I was led to believe that course instructors would review my capstone project. Indeed, this was one of the incentives for me in signing on to the specialisation. I realise that with the number of students undertaking the course this did not become very practical, so that the capstone project was peer reviewed instead. I found this somewhat disappointing though as the feedback gained was often quite limited and it reduced the value of the Certificate.

par Bojan C

12 juin 2017

I found this Project really useful. It was the opportunity to put in practice a lot of things that I learnt from the previous courses. Time allocated for it is appropriate. Through whole Specialization I appreciate cooperation and help from the peers and instructors. I appreciate also possibility to get Student License for ArcGIS Software.

Room for improvement: There would be very beneficial for us as course students to have a feedback from instructors. I understand that it would be significant effort for them and I believe it wouldn't be paid but, I think at least for this Capstone Project should be considered some professional assessment of the job we done. I appreciate feedback from my colleagues, too, but I am afraid most of us are not as competent as we should be to evaluate appropriately other's people Capstone Project work.

Final grade in my opinion at the scale from 1 to 10 is 9.

par Maarten B

2 juin 2017

A very good, in-depth course. Well written, clear objectives and courses. Nick Santos is a very good instructor. For me it was an introduction into GIS. I have two years of professional training as an Hydrographic Surveyor, but this really was all new to me and it was a pleasure to follow the courses.

Thanks to Nick Santos, my fellow students (for evaluating my work and giving me valuable feedback) and the Regents of Coursera.org. Without Coursera I would not have been able to change careers into GIS!

par Dmitry E

30 mai 2017

Excellent course and excellent specialization! I got new knowledge and great pleasure from studying! Many thanks to Coursera, UC Davis and personally to Nick Santos!

par Aleck T v M

22 nov. 2016

Great class, helpful professor and admin!

Definitely scratched the core of arcGIS, and will be doing more analysis in the future!

par Gokce S

12 mars 2019

The grading system was not very efficient and there were so many plagiarized submissions.

par Skylar B

2 nov. 2019

I liked putting in practice what I learned in the previous courses. A big issue I had is that the final project requires you to make a web map on arcgis online, depending on the size of your project or if your final data is raster based this is almost impossible to do with the license the program provides you. I think this should be warned about in the beginning so that you can better plan your project.

par Sayed S

24 déc. 2018

Thank you very much for presenting me at the GIS course on the famous coursera website

I would like to extend my sincere thanks to Dr. Nick Ali for his explanation in this session and to thank the rest of the team supervising me for everything in this session to help us

And also special thanks to the technical support for their efforts to respond to any inquiry as soon as possible

I wish you all more success and excellence

par David M

12 mars 2017

This course, this whole specialization, was extremely challenging and at times frustrating but also rewarding and very thorough in what it covers in GIS. Further, Nick Santos is an outstanding professor who gives the necessary time to students!

par Moctar D

5 juin 2017

This is an integrated project to go through the knowledge aquired during the entire specialization. I partaked in many MOOCs but this one in GIS has been one of the best I had never taken.

par Pratyush

23 nov. 2017

Excellent course, I really liked pursuing the project of my choice and facing and demolishing all the challenges I faced on my way to the completion of the project.

par Juan C G H

2 mai 2018

Excellent. It is organized like a real project and makes you follow all the necessary steps to achieve your objectives.

par Jesús A A E

29 août 2017

Outstanding!

Having completed all specialization will make you a perfectly qualified GIS professional.

par Aurora H

22 nov. 2016

Great class! It was very helpful to bring all of my new skills together for one final project.

par Aakash B R

21 nov. 2016

i loved participating in this course. I really learned a lot. :) thank you

par Henloy A

2 févr. 2019

Great project platform to showcase what we learnt in the courses

par Md. S

18 nov. 2016

Very resourceful course for those who want to learn GIS.

par Cort C

13 nov. 2017

Perfect "cap" on the end of a great specialization.

par kailash p

8 mai 2018

Nice and very Knowledgeable course Thanks Team

par yasmine

2 déc. 2018

Excellent course, I learnt a lot! Thanks

par Kareem_Essayyed_Ali

9 févr. 2018

it really was a great experience

par Gintare M

6 oct. 2018

Great course!

par Syed M Z S

20 nov. 2016

excellent