Chevron Left
Retour à Imagery, Automation, and Applications

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Imagery, Automation, and Applications par Université de Californie à Davis

4.9
412 notes
79 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome to the last course of the specialization (unless your continuing on to the capstone project, of course!). Using the knowledge you’ve learned about ArcGIS, complete technical tasks such raster calculations and suitability analysis. In this class you will become comfortable with spatial analysis and applications within GIS during four week-long modules: Week 1: You'll learn all about remotely sensed and satellite imagery, and be introduced to the electromagnetic spectrum. At the end of this week, you'll be able to find and download satellite imagery online and use it for two common types of analysis: NDVI and trained classification. Week 2: You'll learn how to use ModelBuilder to create large processing workflows that use parameters, preconditions, variables, and a new set of tools. We'll also explore a few topics that we don't really have time to discuss in detail, but might whet your appetite for future learning in other avenues: geocoding, time-enabled data, spatial statistics, and ArcGIS Pro. Week 3: In week three, we'll make and use digital elevation models using some new, specific tools such as the cut fill tool, hillshades, viewsheds and more. We'll also go through a few common algorithms including a very important one: the suitability analysis. Week 4: We'll begin the final week by talking about a few spatial analyst tools we haven't yet touched on in the specialization: Region Group to make our own zones, Focal Statistics to smooth a hillshade, Reclassify to change values, and Point Density to create a density surface. Finally, we'll wrap up by talking about a few more things that you might want to explore more as you start working on learning about GIS topics on your own. Take Geospatial and Environmental Analysis as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first, second, and third courses in this specialization, "Fundamentals of GIS," "GIS Data Formats, Design, and Quality", and "Geospatial and Environmental Analysis," respectively, before taking this course. By completing the fourth class you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the Specialization capstone....

Meilleurs avis

SM

Jul 17, 2017

The course contents are up to date and equip the learner to face the real world of Remote sensing and GIS. I encourage those who still hesitate to get enrolled to make their decision soon.....

OF

Apr 14, 2018

With this course, I could finally understand how to analyse and process many type of imagery. It is very well explained and the instructor shows that he knows the topics.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 77 Examens pour Imagery, Automation, and Applications

par Paul E

Aug 21, 2016

Whilst the material in the course is fine (although repetitious in places), the pacing is fairly poor.

Ultimately, there are three things covered by this course: a brief overview of remote sensing, hands-on raster classification and hands-on work with Model Builder work (using hydrology as an example framework). These then combine into the final submitted assignment. Many of the remaining lecture topics don't particularly link in to anything you'll be doing and are just "for interest's sake". Also, a lot of time is spent on the more intuitive aspects of Model Builder, but little to none is allotted to troubleshooting and the less intuitive aspects (for example, how to incorporate variables throughout a model or other issues with generalising a custom tool built within Model Builder).

If taking the course, be aware that the final submitted assignment requires formulating your own research question and unless you're already working in the field, can necessitate a significant amount of literature review for even the given example research questions. The gap in expectations and assistance is more of a chasm.

Unless you have the better part of a week free to commit to the course, it is advised that you skip ahead to the final assignment immediately and spread it over the full four weeks, spending the first week formulating the question, the second producing the classified raster and the third the model builder model, including any research necessary for this step. This gives the last week to produce products for submission or continue the work from the third week.

Hopefully in upcoming repeat sessions of the course, pacing will be improved, the grading rubric provided before final submission for the sake of transparency and clarity, and a little more guidance and actual feedback available in the forums, which are largely deserted at this point.

par Evan W

Jul 19, 2019

Feedback in the forums was sparse and often required a long wait time to get a response from an AI - if at all. Glitches regarding certain tools made completing particular projects difficult, and solutions were not always implemented to help students navigate these difficulties easily. The specialization is great, but this particular course has been the most frustrating for me.

par Jolaade O

Dec 20, 2018

I have learnt a lot, really excellent, the assignment and discussion forum makes you want to do more

par Bojan K

Dec 21, 2018

Very useful and helpful course on raster analysis and the use of satellite imagery in spatial analysis. Thanks a lot!

par ABDALLA M E E

Jan 02, 2019

very good course

par Ahmed M A A

Feb 05, 2019

thanks

par Akhil C

Jan 19, 2019

This is my personal review regarding this course. I am an Urban Planner by profession with a graduate as well as post graduate degree in Urban Planning. But still I can say that the way coursera teaches me the minor concepts regarding GIS, I didn't got this level of teaching even in my masters degree. The best part of this course was the final assignment as it was a bit different from the earlier assignments. This was more of an open ended assignment in which me as a learner utilized my own brain to do an analysis in my own area of interest. I am really thankful to coursera for helping me out to do the same.

par POYING L

Jan 23, 2019

like to learn about how to work on satellite imagery

par OGHENEVWEDE E

Feb 18, 2019

Great course, high level work on GIS, great videos and assignments.

par Lisbeth H

Feb 19, 2019

Si quieres aprender acerca de detección remota, este es el curso indicado. He aprendido muchísimo acerca de imagen y creación de modelos para correr procesos en SIG

par Priti R

Feb 26, 2019

Great course to learn applications of remote sensing and imaging in GIS!

par بهاء ع ح ع

Feb 21, 2019

good

par Carlos T H

Sep 08, 2018

Excellent!!!

par Kasi P

Sep 11, 2018

Amazing course with in depth concepts on Remote Sensing and GIS Applications

par Alex V

Dec 02, 2016

outstanding.

par Tudor C

Dec 05, 2016

The presenter is very knowledgeable and very pleasant. Also the content of the course is an unique find and of a great value!

par Romulo S G d O

Nov 20, 2017

Exceptional!

par Sara O

Aug 20, 2016

An excellent and thorough course. I learned a lot.

par Tyler W

Jan 08, 2017

Great value! Excellent overview of GIS-based analysis

par Janix K A

Aug 10, 2016

Very suitable for my GIS career

par Keith S

Oct 13, 2017

Spectacular. I am using these skills for risk assessment and I have become far more efficient and confident in my spatial analysis abilities.

par Yiran W

Aug 29, 2017

Great course!

par Pratyush

Jul 25, 2017

This course was awesome, although a bit difficult with the last project, but by the time you come to that you'd be well prepared to face it.

par Evan R

Aug 28, 2017

This course has everything a GIS analyst need to get started! All the core concepts has been throughly explained and put through practice.

par Cornelya F C K

Aug 06, 2017

Great course and great instructor! In the fourth course in the GIS specialization, you learn about satellite imagery and how you can use this type of data to test hypotheses. The course will push you to explore more on your own and apply the things you have learned in all four courses. I highly recommend this course!