Chevron Left
Retour à Les cartes et la révolution géospatiale

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Les cartes et la révolution géospatiale par Université d'État de Pennsylvanie

4.7
147 notes
49 avis

À propos du cours

Learn how advances in geospatial technology and analytical methods have changed how we do everything, and discover how to make maps and analyze geographic patterns using the latest tools. The past decade has seen an explosion of new mechanisms for understanding and using location information in widely-accessible technologies. This Geospatial Revolution has resulted in the development of consumer GPS tools, interactive web maps, and location-aware mobile devices. These radical advances are making it possible for people from all walks of life to use, collect, and understand spatial information like never before. This course brings together core concepts in cartography, geographic information systems, and spatial thinking with real-world examples to provide the fundamentals necessary to engage with Geography beyond the surface-level. We will explore what makes spatial information special, how spatial data is created, how spatial analysis is conducted, and how to design maps so that they’re effective at telling the stories we wish to share. To gain experience using this knowledge, we will work with the latest mapping and analysis software to explore geographic problems....

Meilleurs avis

DA

Apr 07, 2019

from the first week it introduces the student to the subject it breaks the ice between the student and the subject.If you want to start this is the perfect place for you.

CS

Feb 09, 2019

This was a great introductory class to geospatial thinking. I really like how the class is set up, the content is easy to digest and explained in an exciting manner.

Filtrer par :

26 - 49 sur 49 Examens pour Les cartes et la révolution géospatiale

par Adam M

Jan 08, 2018

Very Helpful and Educational. Would Recommend to Students Especially.

par Caden G

Sep 20, 2017

Great intro to not just GIS, but mapping and geography principles as a whole.

par ASEEM A

Jul 03, 2018

Good introductory course

par Martin K

Jan 16, 2017

Superb!

par Abdirahman M

Oct 23, 2017

This was great course in GIS foundation. One of my favorite online course ever.

par David R

Mar 09, 2018

Really enjoyed this course. It was carefully structured and presented in a light-hearted way, without dumbing down. The labs were interesting and introduced this old geographer to new ways of mapping and presenting information to learners.

Will be using story making maps with my adult learners and hope to build on the experience.

Great course, great ideas, well presented. A fabulous experience and really cheered me up!

par Muhammad A B

Jul 01, 2018

its change my old style work now i am working with advance way after complete this coursera.Regards

par Anita S

Jul 11, 2017

This course is really worth of it, for knowing, creating maps in open source software.

par Adam K

Oct 16, 2016

Really enjoyed this course! Would love to see more.

par Andy F

Aug 25, 2017

Very useful in gaining a greater understanding of GIS as a whole.

par Colette

Apr 02, 2019

Very interesting course and has a workable timetable with a worthwhile end project which cements the knowledge and learning.

par Salma T

Apr 01, 2019

Excellent course. I learnt alot.

par Deleted A

Apr 07, 2019

from the first week it introduces the student to the subject it breaks the ice between the student and the subject.If you want to start this is the perfect place for you.

par Edlira

Mar 28, 2019

SUPER :)

par Ali D

Nov 12, 2019

it's really joyful and huge information that I got with

par Elijah M

Jan 31, 2017

Great cause

par Joy S

Jan 13, 2018

super informative. Learned things I never thought about before.

par Mohamed S M

Jul 17, 2017

this course is amazing

par beth g b

Nov 07, 2017

This was a great course and intro to geospatial data and mapping. Lots of theory was taught, while the hand on activities were most valuable. Recommended.

par Arthur

Apr 27, 2018

idea: use locations of co-students in mandatory excercise. Will provide insights in many relevant aspects of the field where location is privacy sensitive by law and feeling

par carl a

Nov 13, 2017

If you like cheesy jokes, he's your man. Good short intro to GIS with some interesting examples and hands on with ArcGIS online

par Chris M

Jan 05, 2018

The course itself was good and an interesting take on an element of GIS and cartography not necessarily covered in other GIS modules, sadly I must mark it down quite heavily as the final peer graded assignment is poorly constructed, Its marking guidelines have no structure at all and encourage a completely personal objective grade from the reviewers.

I have undertaken GIS courses from the University of Cali. Davis and the marking criteria are clear and concise, fair and unambiguous, giving the person studying a fair chance at a quality grade based on effort, this sadly is not the case for this course exam.

par Kathy M

Jan 10, 2017

did not learn anything useful at all.

par Raul E G j

Apr 28, 2019

Not Very good