Chevron Left
Retour à Les cartes et la révolution géospatiale

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Les cartes et la révolution géospatiale par Université d'État de Pennsylvanie

4.7
étoiles
169 évaluations
60 avis

À propos du cours

Learn how advances in geospatial technology and analytical methods have changed how we do everything, and discover how to make maps and analyze geographic patterns using the latest tools. The past decade has seen an explosion of new mechanisms for understanding and using location information in widely-accessible technologies. This Geospatial Revolution has resulted in the development of consumer GPS tools, interactive web maps, and location-aware mobile devices. These radical advances are making it possible for people from all walks of life to use, collect, and understand spatial information like never before. This course brings together core concepts in cartography, geographic information systems, and spatial thinking with real-world examples to provide the fundamentals necessary to engage with Geography beyond the surface-level. We will explore what makes spatial information special, how spatial data is created, how spatial analysis is conducted, and how to design maps so that they’re effective at telling the stories we wish to share. To gain experience using this knowledge, we will work with the latest mapping and analysis software to explore geographic problems....

Meilleurs avis

PH

Apr 28, 2020

Well organized course structure and comprehensive reading materials.\n\nI have used 30% of the knowledge I learned from this course in the past two months in my work.\n\nRecommended.

DA

Apr 07, 2019

from the first week it introduces the student to the subject it breaks the ice between the student and the subject.If you want to start this is the perfect place for you.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 60 Avis pour Les cartes et la révolution géospatiale

par Kenneth B

Apr 06, 2017

I thought the course had good overall information and provided an online mapping tool using ArcGIS despite access and technical issues which I recorded in the forums. I felt getting rushed at the end of the course for the major map project and peer review and final exam all in the last week. The map project itself should be Week 3, peer review Week 4, then final exam Week 5. All students should use the same ArcGIS Online too for the final map project, instead of allowing everybody a free-for-all to use whatever map tool they wanted to including images. I was steered to be more lenient in reviewing submissions of simple PDF or image map without interactive content. This made for an awkward and rushed peer review with little time to address access or technical issues. The final map project should be standardized for all students using ArcGIS Online for an equal playing field and applied learning.

par Saurav G

May 03, 2018

Great course , completely covers all the fundamentals and provides interesting insights properly. Recommended to all geospatial enthusiasts.

par Chris M

Jan 05, 2018

The course itself was good and an interesting take on an element of GIS and cartography not necessarily covered in other GIS modules, sadly I must mark it down quite heavily as the final peer graded assignment is poorly constructed, Its marking guidelines have no structure at all and encourage a completely personal objective grade from the reviewers.

I have undertaken GIS courses from the University of Cali. Davis and the marking criteria are clear and concise, fair and unambiguous, giving the person studying a fair chance at a quality grade based on effort, this sadly is not the case for this course exam.

par Katie B

Jun 22, 2020

This is a very nice introduction for folks who don't know anything about GIS and its applications--the course will introduce you to some of the basic terms and concepts of GIS and mapping. There are different mapping assignments each week that introduce you to different ways to engage with digital mapping. The directions that walk you through the mapping exercise are very clear. There were small discrepancies between some of the directions and the webpages because this class was created over five years ago and the host of the webpage (who is different from the instructor) has updated it since then. But, that doesn't impact what you are quizzed on. The course will also introduce you how to analyze maps, and how this field is applied in today's world. This course is great for total beginners, like I was.

par David R

Mar 09, 2018

Really enjoyed this course. It was carefully structured and presented in a light-hearted way, without dumbing down. The labs were interesting and introduced this old geographer to new ways of mapping and presenting information to learners.

Will be using story making maps with my adult learners and hope to build on the experience.

Great course, great ideas, well presented. A fabulous experience and really cheered me up!

par Finn

Feb 26, 2020

The best GIS courses and nicest teacher! You will receive tons of knowledge and resources for self-learning. GIS is my major and thanks to Prof.Robinson, I know more about it and I‘m inspired by him. You will also have a lot of fun here because the class are easily accepted by newcomers. I am sure that you will enjoy the humorous study atmosphere. Highly recommend it!!

par Artem L

Apr 07, 2020

Really enjoyed the course and the details and fun way of interactions in the video and the great reading material. As i was engaged with another GIS course, I followed the tutorials quickly through as I was practising on the ArcGis software rather the online toolkit. It indeed helped me to develop a GIS Map part of the MIT challenge for Covid-19

par Chen W

Feb 03, 2017

Love the knowledge, the humor, the inspiration. Overall, Dr. Robinson has taught us a great deal about how to make great maps, how to leverage location info (many sorts) and how to link info together to reveal interesting and insightful findings. I am very grateful I have taken the course and looking forward to being able to make use of it.

par Dylan F

Feb 07, 2017

Instructor really made this course. If you want to learn about map theory and WHY maps are interesting and important, you need to check out this course. Dr. Anthony Robinson did a commendable job keeping the material compelling and the class a worthwhile venture. I can only hope he will hold more courses in the future.

par Prokofev A D

Jun 13, 2020

This is just a great course. Excellent presentation of quite complex material with easy language and cool examples. I believe this course is a great opportunity to learn very useful mapping skills and learn about the current application of geospatial technologies.

par Asako Y

Mar 06, 2018

An excellent introductory course that covers basic theories and concepts about mapping and engages you with a useful map creation assignment during the last week of the course. Lectures, videos, and texts and a list of resources all useful.

par Ricardo G

May 31, 2017

I had some previous training on GIS, but still I have found this course interesting, enlightening on some aspects , instructive on many others and, above all, very well organized and designed for distance learning. Totally worth the time.

par Nevena Y I

Oct 11, 2018

I liked this course. I gained new knowledge every week and I solidified the old ones. I recommend it to other students. I enjoyed these weeks a lot. Thank you very much for the new knowledge, it was a great course.

par Gustavo E R G

May 21, 2020

Un curso muy completo para iniciar y entrar en el mundo del analisis espacial y de los SIG's. Más allá, es un curso que motiva a las personas a que se interesen en estas herramientas para los problemas del hoy.

par Peng H

Apr 28, 2020

Well organized course structure and comprehensive reading materials.

I have used 30% of the knowledge I learned from this course in the past two months in my work.

Recommended.

par Deleted A

Apr 07, 2019

from the first week it introduces the student to the subject it breaks the ice between the student and the subject.If you want to start this is the perfect place for you.

par Cody S

Feb 09, 2019

This was a great introductory class to geospatial thinking. I really like how the class is set up, the content is easy to digest and explained in an exciting manner.

par NIKOLAS S R P

Feb 26, 2020

This course has shown that it's possible do so many things in the webGIS workspace. There area some free tools that can help us in simple maps.

par Danny C

Jul 26, 2017

Great introduction to GIS, and geospacial concepts. I would definitely recommend it to someone trying to get a feeling for what GIS is.

par Colette

Apr 02, 2019

Very interesting course and has a workable timetable with a worthwhile end project which cements the knowledge and learning.

par Luayi S A G

Nov 17, 2017

Is a very important course that illustrates Geospatial RevolutionIt also shows important facts about maps

par Muhammad A B

Jul 01, 2018

its change my old style work now i am working with advance way after complete this coursera.Regards

par carly w

Jun 10, 2018

So amazing!! Would 100% recommend for anyone with an interest in Geography and Geospatial analysis.

par wesam

Sep 21, 2017

Very good Basic course for GIS

good information, good ordering of material

I advice to enroll

par David A R R

Mar 29, 2017

A Fancy course for learning the basic of cartography and interpreting maps!!

Excellent!