Chevron Left
Retour à Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.1
étoiles
429 évaluations
117 avis

À propos du cours

Introduces to the commands that you need to manage and analyze directories, files, and large sets of genomic data. This is the fourth course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Meilleurs avis

CW
5 août 2020

There were some typos and confusion about the need not to follow the example code for Exam 4.\n\nHowever, I thought that the course was good and useful overall.\n\nThank You!

JJ
22 juin 2018

Thank you very much Dr./Professor, Liliana Florea. I've learned a lot. It's a very good opportunity to improve my knowledge. This means a lot to me.

Filtrer par :

101 - 115 sur 115 Avis pour Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

par Emily L

28 oct. 2020

I learned command line for analyzing genomic data, but the exam questions were not clear and the videos were not that helpful. program versions used were very one, everything needs updating! I would not recommend this course if your are not looking for the specialization certificate.

par María E P R

2 juil. 2017

It was a really hard course, I think the focus was not in to learn what specific command lines tools does otherwise was how to use a command line tool . Another problem that I have was that the most of videos don't have transcripts or subtitles, this make it harder than usual.

par David h

13 avr. 2016

If you want to know the array of options of the various tools in the Tuxedo suite (and don't want to read a manual), then this course is for you. I was hoping that there would be some conceptual grounding in what each tool was useful for, but that was not present at all.

par Allan T S

13 nov. 2016

The video lectures are confusing and quizzes too

par Lawrence C

27 avr. 2017

This course was extremely time consuming because a great deal of effort was required to translate it into something I could use. I had a great deal of trouble with following the lecture videos. The demonstrations of the tools were typed on a screen that was too small and the command line tools were executed so quickly that it's hard to see where the screen full of data came from. The lecturer had such poor pronunciation that lectures' transcripts show that the voice recognition software could not understand and transcribe a lot of her words. For example, "command" sounded like "comment" and likewise was transcribed that way. More seriously, it was hard to hear the difference between "VCF" and "BCF".

par Рагульская А В

21 juil. 2020

There was no feedback in the forum. The last exam has misleading notes which is there from the beginning of the course (at least 4 years), but it seems that nobody cares to help students and to rephrase instructions. So, students have to help themselves. If you want to have the feedback about the course - check comments on the exam 4.

Exams require exact numbers which may slightly vary from version to version and from additional options which may be used (in the same way as it was shown during the lecture). Finally, it may take ages to people complete the exam even if the commands they use are correct. This does not help learning, however, consumes enormous amount of time.

par Yang Y

12 août 2016

The worst course I've ever take in Coursera. I can pass the course all because I have some background of this topic. The lecture taught me NOTHING!

Consider I just finish the previous course "algorithm for DNA sequencing" which might be the best course I toke in the Coursera, this course makes me very disappointed! If the previous course gives me the faith to continue learning something in Coursera, this course must be the reason that let me leave the Coursera left.

I can't even understand why there are some guys give this course 5 stars. If there is -5 stars option, I'll put this score in front of the lecturer and tell her WHAT A BAD COURSE her give us.

par rached

29 mai 2020

This course needs a profound review and restructuration. Many concepts are used before they are introduced. A lot of hesitation in the presentation that makes it very hard to follow and makes the text transcript wrong. More illustration and elements of context would help better than wasting time watching commands being entered in a terminal without knowing the purpose. Very low reactivity on the forums (some questions are there with no answer since 2016). Finishing this course took more time than all the others in the module which is very frustrating since it is a requirement to get the certificate. Urgent review is needed.

par David B C

26 avr. 2020

Dr. Florea is a good teacher. Also the material is very interesting. However I rate this course with only one star for the following reason: unless in march/april 2020 there's is no teacher of the University of John Hopkins in the discussion forum. Therefore, it's impossible to ask any doubts/motivation issues to go further to the lecture team. This I found very disappointing for the institution that John Hopkins represents. I understand that Dr. Florea cannot have time to dedicate to Coursera forum but someone else need to offer a feedback for all the students enrolled in your course and payed to follow your course.

par Kaichun X

15 mars 2020

Very bad course, this class did not provide any example file in the lecture the instructor used to demonstrate. NO one from the instructor teams answer discussion forums etc. The script for the video is also awful without any grammar and spelling check. A lot of tools can not be used now. So I need to find a new way myself to solve exam questions. This is really the worst course I have every taken in coursera and it is included in such a good specialization course series. Really hope JHU can re-consider replacing this course with another better class

par Makragić A

20 févr. 2017

This is the worst course I've ever listened, and I've listened my fair share of online courses! Do this course ONLY if you want to complete whole specialization!

Professor is simply awful, English is not her native language obviously, but even that is not the problem, she simply speaks sentences that doesn't make sense at all! And she obviously doesn't have computer science background, if she does then she is even worse then I thought.

par ALEJANDRO M P

14 nov. 2020

A very difficult course in all aspects. The first week was acceptable, but as it moves forward the level of distress and the lack of understanding raises considerably. In one word = disappointed.

par Kelly J Á M

8 sept. 2020

This is the worst course that I've been taken.

par Silpa S

11 févr. 2016

Very bad or non-existent support

par Pu Y

25 mai 2017

need to be more vivid!