Chevron Left
Retour à Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II) par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.6
étoiles
289 évaluations
61 avis

À propos du cours

You may have heard a lot about genome sequencing and its potential to usher in an era of personalized medicine, but what does it mean to sequence a genome? Biologists still cannot read the nucleotides of an entire genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read short pieces of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces. We will further learn about brute force algorithms and apply them to sequencing mini-proteins called antibiotics. In the first half of the course, we will see that biologists cannot read the 3 billion nucleotides of a human genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read shorter fragments of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces in what amounts to the largest jigsaw puzzle ever put together. In the second half of the course, we will discuss antibiotics, a topic of great relevance as antimicrobial-resistant bacteria like MRSA are on the rise. You know antibiotics as drugs, but on the molecular level they are short mini-proteins that have been engineered by bacteria to kill their enemies. Determining the sequence of amino acids making up one of these antibiotics is an important research problem, and one that is similar to that of sequencing a genome by assembling tiny fragments of DNA. We will see how brute force algorithms that try every possible solution are able to identify naturally occurring antibiotics so that they can be synthesized in a lab. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to sequence the genome of a deadly Staphylococcus bacterium that has acquired antibiotics resistance....

Meilleurs avis

SV
9 janv. 2017

Great course to explore a bit of Bioinformatics for those with no background in Bioinformatics. I love the way the content has been provided, its interactivity increases the interest in the course.

MP
7 déc. 2017

I like the real-world tasks, especially the assembly on the final exam. Some of the programming tasks, such as the antibiotic noisy spectrum assembly, are challenging (which is good).

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 60 Avis pour Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II)

par Enamul H

22 avr. 2017

Excellent! I have learned a lot. Pavel Pevzner is a boss of bioinformatics.

par Midori I

9 déc. 2016

This course is really help me to understand how to Assemble genomes!!

par Olaf W

3 oct. 2018

Great , interactive content. Well structured and explained.

par Dasha P

2 avr. 2019

Thank you very much for such an engaging course.

par Sumant K

29 oct. 2020

Excellent introduction to Genome sequencing

par Naveen P

30 juin 2017

The course is well defined.

par Ayaan H

26 juin 2016

Enjoyed this course!

par Wenbing Y

22 janv. 2017

Very good courses.

par vibha h

18 mai 2017

Very nice course!

par Andrés H P C

8 juin 2021

Amazing course!!

par ZIHAN X

24 mars 2019

good course!

par Weidong X

30 juil. 2016

good course!

par Mario J C

6 janv. 2021

Excellent!

par Ahmad M Y A

16 déc. 2016

excellent

par Tomasz K

10 mai 2017

Great!

par Rajat S 1

4 juin 2020

nice

par chenhyde628

25 sept. 2016

wery

par Huairen Z

26 nov. 2021

This course is wonderful for students who are interested in genome assembly. The course contains examples data and codes for analysing genome assembly. The challenge is that many example codes are difficult for beginners, and some of the algorithms are hard to interpret. I wonder weather the instructors can provide more clues and toy example codes for beginners. I believe that the course will attract more and more people if there are more specific examples and more deep about the real data sets in bioinformatics. Because there is still a challenge for us to write our own scripts for construct a genome even we have finished the course. Of course, maybe the aim of this course is just give students a general outlook of genome assembly. Anyone, This course is wonderful and there still a lot of improvement in this class.

par hilda p

21 août 2018

The course needs updates EXAMPLE: The version 3.0 for spades doesn't give the statistics and if you do a new version it doesn't give you the same data. I think this happened to other students, but we used Quast that it was later described in the instructions, but if it wasn't because someone suggested it in the discussion I would have follow the same path of using a new version that would have given me wrong data.

Thank you so much, This course has been helping me a lot.

CHEERS!!!

par Carolina G

7 août 2020

Very good course. The course staff needs to take a look at some pseudo codes and stepik assessments because they are kinda heavy to process. Besides that, great info and development.

par bob n

6 août 2020

Really enjoyed the course. Dropped from five to four stars because the final challenge introduced several new concepts rather than integrating concepts taught throughout the class.

par Елена Ш

17 avr. 2020

Сам курс довольно интересный, но в итоговом задании не работали некоторые программы. Кроме того приходилось дважды сбрасывать сроки чтобы дождаться оценки.

par Meng Z

15 sept. 2019

This course is great, but some times I can't open the dataset to test my code. I wish this can be fixed.

par ChenYuexi

21 juin 2017

There is no debug dataset like the previous course, which means you will get stuck longer.

par Juanjo B

29 avr. 2019

The instruction material was slightly less helpful than in bioinformatics I.