Chevron Left
Retour à Game Design and Development Capstone

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Game Design and Development Capstone par Université d'État du Michigan

4.7
144 notes
36 avis

À propos du cours

In the game design and development capstone, you will create an original game from initial concept through implementation and then launch it to the world! Along the way, you will have the opportunity to put your game ideas in front of your peers and for the best-of-the-best you will have the chance to get feedback from game industry professionals. The capstone experience gives you the opportunity to push your skills further and demonstrate your newfound skills as a game developer. The capstone also contains guest talks from game industry professionals at Riot Games, Deep Silver Volition, Iron Galaxy, Radiant Entertainment, Goodgame Studios, Stardock, GREE, Heart Shaped Games, Kongregate, and more....

Meilleurs avis

JT

Oct 04, 2016

Really enjoyed this Capstone! It was a nice challenge, and it really pushed me to create a game out of my own imagination! It was definitely a great experience that I enjoyed journeying through!

JN

Jun 19, 2016

Going through this whole Specialization has been a great journey. Thanks to this final project we were able to use everything we learned.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 37 Examens pour Game Design and Development Capstone

par Andrew C W

Jun 19, 2019

This was a great course where you create a game from scratch and publish it to the world. There are mostly progress reports and builds to submit. It builds on the prior courses in the specialization and has a wealth of information to the student to guide them on their game development journey. At first I was terrified about being able to develop a whole functional game in 8 weeks but managed to pull it off and I'm very proud I did! It's also very fun to play your peers' developing games and give them feedback. Who knows who will make the next hugely popular game!?

par Tobias W

Apr 22, 2018

Overall it's a great course. In this capstone project you're mostly on your own, utilizing what you've learned in the first four courses. The additional videos aren't directly helpful for your project, but motivating to keep working on the project. 8 weeks might not be much, especially for beginner developers, but if you don't overextend yourself when setting the scope for the game, it's doable.

The peer reviews worked fine for me, but other people had less than stellar experiences and I can see how it might not always be the best way to grade projects.

But at the end of this course you'll definitely have your own published game online for the world to see, which goes great with the certificate.

par Johnny A

Feb 21, 2018

Little time to make a complete game. Maybe a demo with one stage will be better.

par Elias E

Nov 14, 2017

Great course

par Gabriel C

Nov 07, 2017

One of the best courses of game development ever! You go from the idea of a game, to create a game and finally publishing a game. The lectures are very helpful because the professionals come from different areas to give you a better understanding of the areas of game development.

par Alberto A d S J

Aug 29, 2017

awesome course thanks for you guys!

par Kenny C

Aug 22, 2017

My best chance to create my own game ahhahah!

par Khaled K

Aug 16, 2017

exceptionally excellent course

par Chai S

Aug 15, 2017

Tight schedule, but it's really pushing you move forward to next stage and finally ship you game.

par Leon S

Aug 13, 2017

I really enjoyed doing my project - but I cannot in good conscience give any real credit to this course for that. The course contains almost no useful information, and is instead littered with half-hearted webcam footage from people "in the industry".

Basically Courseras idea of exclusive paywall capstone content is to outsource the whole job to a bunch Windows Movie Maker-wielding twentysomethings and ask them to talk about their jobs. While a couple of these videos do seem genuinely motivated to be useful, none of them manage to say anything beyond the usual "work hard and be passionate" platitudes that you've heard a million times before.

If you're wondering whether the contents of this capstone are worth the price of admission, the answer is a resounding "absolutely not".

par Mohamed A E

Aug 06, 2017

u will get a real experince about making a game from scratch starting from game idea untill u shipping it , u will face some problems but u will handle it , u will improve your programming skills using c# according to your game

par Peter C

May 30, 2017

This capstone project was a perfect way to build my skills and confidence as a developer. The previous classes provided a robust knowledge base that this class capitalized on. Focus was given to completing and publishing the project, making for a full overview of the development process. I highly recommend it.

par Andre P

Feb 28, 2017

Pretty Enjoyable!

par Jeffery S

Feb 26, 2017

I learn a lot from this course. Instructor is good. The last part is the guest lecture from the REAL developer, engineer, designer and etc. With the sharing of their experience make me understand better how to become a game developer. Other than that i also learn the pro and cons to become a game developer.

par Gregory U

Feb 25, 2017

Exellent part of the specialization, jumping into the fray !

par Thomas L

Dec 31, 2016

A great course - I thoroughly enjoyed it.

par Viola B

Dec 13, 2016

Very clear and detailed. I made and launched a game!

par Robert B

Dec 08, 2016

Great course series that forced me to take some steps (design docs) that I'd normally skimp on, and in doing so, realizing their true value.

Throughout Coursera I'd love to see more instructor involvement in the courses. The 100% peer review system is a double edge sword. On one hand, I never felt I had an instructor looking at my work, but on the other hand, where else can you get constructive critiques on the internet ;-)

Overall, great experience. Star-- for feeling a little bit on rails, and not feeling the instructor involvement.

par Evert G

Dec 05, 2016

Really good course. I have learned a lot. The hardest part is realistic scoping and design for the little time available.

par tothetop23

Dec 05, 2016

Thanks for all the knowledge of Unity :). Good Instructor though.

par Jakub Z

Dec 02, 2016

The course is interesting and serves its purpose - you WILL be able to make a simple game once you complete it.

par Eftychios G

Dec 01, 2016

Perfect cource, build your game idea from scrath and publish it!

par Jayanth T

Oct 04, 2016

Really enjoyed this Capstone! It was a nice challenge, and it really pushed me to create a game out of my own imagination! It was definitely a great experience that I enjoyed journeying through!

par Rodrigo A S

Sep 19, 2016

Some of the videos are really good. Unfortunately I feel there is little actual help to complete a project in the given time.

The great thing about this course is the feeling of publishing your own game. That is priceless :)

par Danish S

Sep 14, 2016

Awesome! Best for Game Development! Explained everything important !