Chevron Left
Retour à Théorie des jeux

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Théorie des jeux par Université de Stanford

4.6
étoiles
4,127 évaluations

À propos du cours

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind," game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Beyond what we call `games' in common language, such as chess, poker, soccer, etc., it includes the modeling of conflict among nations, political campaigns, competition among firms, and trading behavior in markets such as the NYSE. How could you begin to model keyword auctions, and peer to peer file-sharing networks, without accounting for the incentives of the people using them? The course will provide the basics: representing games and strategies, the extensive form (which computer scientists call game trees), Bayesian games (modeling things like auctions), repeated and stochastic games, and more. We'll include a variety of examples including classic games and a few applications. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-Syllabus.html There is also an advanced follow-up course to this one, for people already familiar with game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/gametheory2/ You can find an introductory video here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Meilleurs avis

WY

16 mai 2017

Great ! Interesting and abound at the same time. Hope Professors will clarify the strategic utility function more clearly because it's hard for students with poor math basic(forget most><) right now!

SC

7 févr. 2022

I would have preferred a more mathematically rigorous treatment of the subject. Nevertheless, this was a great course — the instructors expounded all concepts with exceptional clarity and engagement.

Filtrer par :

551 - 575 sur 825 Avis pour Théorie des jeux

par Tomasz L

1 sept. 2018

The course itself is very interesting and covers a wide range of material - since that's basically an introduction, the material is not analyzed in depth. Nevertheless, it's a great introductory corse, which I wholeheartedly recommend.

Still, there are some things to be improved - some questions on quizzes appear before the material is introduced (it is introduced later, so you may want to look up some videos from next week if you feel like some material from quiz was not yet in videos) and some videos contain errors that are fixed only on screen and not in the actual video - as a result, if you focus on the audio, you may overlook that - and even if you don't overlook that, it still makes the reception more difficult.

par Adam M

5 juin 2020

It's hard material, and the instructors don't spoon-feed. The prerequisites, to actually understand this, is good experience in mathematical logic, an ability to self-learn math, and proficiency in at least calculus I. Some topics presented (Shoham!!!) were pretty irrelevant, and more in-lecture quizzes are needed but this is overall a well-built course on game theory. But do it only if you have: 1) abundant will to rack your brains over subtleties; 2) that mathematical basis.

I recommend taking the Coursera course Introduction to Mathematical Thinking before trying this if you don't have that background for a strong foundation in mathematical logic and abstract thinking.

par Ethan M

9 déc. 2016

Solid course. My only complaint is misnomer that you have to know little math/logic. Game theory is a math-heavy subject, and while they do not delve too deep into advanced math, a lot of formulas are used with discrete math symbols (from set theory, probability). It is quite possible to make it through this course without fully understanding these formulas, but it did make a fair amount of the lecture videos confusing to watch. Otherwise than that, the instructors are humorous and obviously understand and like what they are teaching. I highly recommend this course if you are looking to learn more about game theory!

par Jesse O

19 mars 2019

This was a very challenging class. I think I learned more about what I don't know than anything. However, I certainly expanded my my understanding of the scope of game theory as well as the different applications as well as what type of approach to look at depending on the game being played. The class lead me to a very good read, The Art of Strategy, which provided very accessible explanations of games, actors and how to think about actors their action sets, potential outcomes as ways to predict behavior and thus how to modify your own behavior in any situation.

par Steven M S

2 sept. 2020

The instructors are competent and experts in the course content. However, I feel their intelligence and competence impacted this syllabus they wrote, as there were multiple things involved in this course that were above an introductory level in computing, group theory, and calculus. I was able to learn the content by doing external research when I got stuck. I think the syllabus should mention that this course requires a background in group theory to fully understand. mostly there were dozens of symbols I didn't know and had to look up

par Jorge M S

3 juin 2020

Some of the topics are a bit difficult to understand and you actually need extra help and outside information in order to get the right information. However, teachers do their job really well and also the course materials are very useful, in general.

Besides, it is a great opportunity the fact of being able to have some attempts for the exams and quizzes. Moreover, forums are also a great choice for the community to help each others and they usually help in many issues related to the course topics.

par Farhad

27 oct. 2016

In my opinion, some lectures do not fully explain the theory or do not show enough practical application of the theory. And I am not talking about "real life application", but the ones given later on the test. Had to refer to the internet on multiple occasions to fully understand the material.

However, have to say, pretty good course overall. Give you the idea, of what type of knowledge one needs to "understand" the game theory. Help to build your mindset.

par Konstantin S

5 juin 2017

The course is OK. It touches multiple topics briefly with few examples. Deeper understanding requires further reading.

Feedback regarding lectures itself:

Lectures are presented in very slow pace. I had to listen on 2x speed and sometimes it was still slow.

There are issues with recording itself - sometimes it can be heard that microphone is being touched or moved (so don't run around the house to find who is knocking and where - it is just a recording).

par Benjamin C B S

4 juin 2019

The course covers a range of angles from which game theory can be applied to real world situations. The lecturers are very good teachers, able to make complex matters seem simple. I can honestly say I enjoyed the course from start to finish, and I wish there was more!

For the assignments, it would have been nice of there was an explanation of the correct answers, even if you didn't get it right. Understanding why you were wrong is great learning.

par Pavlo L

8 mai 2019

I have taken Game Theory Course before at my university. This course covers everything I have been taught and a little more. I can confirm that it is great as a refreshment.

The math notation is quite confusing, but thankfully the instructors take their time and explain them right away.

Overall this course is quite useful and understandable. Big thanks to the instructors and Coursera for sharing this with us, students all across the Globe!

par andriy n

21 août 2017

The course indeed provides a really good glimpse on major topics in game theory. I found it to be quite fun introduction and it made reading on the topic much easier. What can be improved: some of explanations could have been made clearer (mostly in formulas and definitions where it is not clear what exact variable/letter means) and, of course, it is very frustrating when you see/hear errors (some of which are corrected, some not).

par Matija R

1 oct. 2019

Very good introduction to Game Theory. Would recommend this course to both people in business trying to understand some basic math behind what happens in their business, as well as engineers who want to learn about core models of business.

Only downside are the tests that are a bit vague, and would recommend to restructure them in a way that helps course attendees to better grasp the models on which Game Theory is based.

par Nate H

30 août 2020

Very interesting and informative. I wish the class was taught in more plain language and preferably with more real world/historical examples. The mathematical notation in many cases was unnecessarily complex for the level of difficulty of the problems themselves. I do understand that such notation would be necessary at higher levels of the topic, but it overcomplicated things in my perspective.

par Pooja I

27 févr. 2019

It is a very interesting course. I never learned the concept earlier in college, as I come from communications background. The professors teach in an interactive way; this makes it easy for amateurs such as myself to pick up easily. But I do hope that in the coming weeks, the instructors also throw some light on its application in the field of social sciences in addition to mathematics part of it.

par Fred V

27 juil. 2020

Extremely interesting course. It is, however, regrettable that the 3 speakers rushed the video talks, with some inaudible things, slips-of-tongue not corrected, noises of microphone, etc. There are also too many explanations on notations for not enough use of them. Some optional training exercises would have been welcome. However, the course goes a long way, from the start of games theory.

par Anurag B I

23 juil. 2018

Excellent course! A wonderful experience and a lot of learning. Highly recommended. Also, no matter what your area of study is, this will definitely make you think differently. However the teaching during the week where the topic- Repeated Games was taught could have been better as it seemed very confusing because of the large formulae which may not be understood by a beginner.

par Hai L

4 avr. 2022

Five stars for professor Jackson and Leyton-Brown, one star for Shoham. Shoham's lectures are so terrible which I cannot imagine. The contents, coherence and clartify are so bad in Shoham's lectures. If you have no willing to teach in opencourse, you can just quit, leaving so many terrible lectures to people who want to learn game theory is a unreasonble decesion.

par Gauri V

6 déc. 2020

At times the course was confusing - perhaps this is due to the fact that I completed this course in the summer before year 13 and perhaps was a little younger than the target audience. However, overall the quality of the teaching was extremely high and I greatly enjoyed completing this course. The end of week quizzes were very helpful in consolidating knowledge.

par Sixiang C

25 août 2017

Overall, this is a good course in basic game theory.

Pro: The notation and definition are rigorous. I think this course prepares you weel into the more advanced topics in Game theory.

Con: This course is defnintely not for non-math people. You need to have a certain degree of math sopistication.

And there are not many exampel and application of the game theory.

par Linda D

20 janv. 2018

I enjoyed the lectures but would find it helpful to have a couple of questions to answer after each lecture.

I also would enjoy a Coursera course that concentrated specifically on Bayesian Theory and more of the practical games that it can reference also a short course specifically on betting strategies. Many thanks for introducing this course to a newbie!

par Virinchi V

12 juin 2018

The course was great and the videos were really helpful although some of them had technical mistakes.Few of the weekly assignments are very easy and I feel the final quiz didn't require to have the complete knowledge in par while attempting..I mean they could cover more topics as well.Overall this course helped learn a lot of things.Thanks to the team!

par Xiangxin J

24 mars 2020

The topic is fairly interesting though it's somehow difficult for beginners. However, Shoham's lectures really make me suffer, especially he didn't do enough explanation and expansion of the formula/equation, so I have to do the research myself, and this is super annoying as if you are a beginner cuz you don't even know what research you need to do.

par Satyajit G

20 mars 2018

It was a great experience getting to know what Game Theory is all about. It was very informative to learn about Nash Equilibrium and how it forms the basis of Game Theory. I found that some sections were rushed a bit and adequate in-class problem solving was missing. Also, I would have liked if there were a few more practice problems for every week.

par Brian J

9 août 2020

Excellent introduction to many Game Theory topics. The varied instructors all had instructional cohesion but different styles that helped overall learning. There was some disconnect between the way material was taught and the way it was assessed, so more example problems or practice questions with feedback would be helpful to deepen understanding.

par Karlis S

27 oct. 2020

The content was excellent but the presentation was shoddy. There were too many mistakes which should have been re-filmed, not corrected clumsily on the screen.

I also missed a tighter link between the theoretical lectures and practical exercises. On several occasions I had to consult other sources to be able to complete the practical assignments.