Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Game Development

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Game Development par Université d'État du Michigan

4.8
étoiles
3,418 évaluations
1,018 avis

À propos du cours

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Meilleurs avis

KG

Sep 30, 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

AH

Nov 16, 2015

I enjoyed the course. Very fun playing with the Unity editor, and the assignments give you some freedom in how you tackle assignments. The class was fairly easy and doesn't need much time commitment.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 993 Avis pour Introduction to Game Development

par Stephon G

Feb 07, 2016

Very great course. The instruction is spot on, allowing me to listen while I work without the need to actually watch the video. Definitely worth it for novices and even intermediate level developers.

par Donovan H

Jun 06, 2019

Great introduction to game development in Unity. This course makes it easy to get your feet wet and learn some of Unity's interface before expecting you to try to dig deeper into topics that are more in depth. I'm glad I took this course and am currently taking the other courses in this specialization. I expect to complete this. It's worth the money if you need direction.

par Paul S

May 04, 2017

I learned a lot of new things throughout this course. At first, my skeptical approach was: "well that I've seen on YouTube", but after 1st week I started realizing it gives you more - the understanding of how games made, what it takes and what you're capable of when left with limited knowledge and some ready-to-use tools. This month wasn't that easy for me and what I know for sure - if not for college-like system and approach - I would've put studies away to solve life problems, which would probably result in putting it away for longer.

par Jardel F d C

Jul 23, 2019

Very constructive course, I learned some game dev concepts that I never saw. The homework projects are very complete into the proposed subject for the week, are treated all methodical and consistent. So far, this course is the best that I have invested my time. Certainly I'm going to subscribe in the second course of this program.

par Mohamamd O

Sep 16, 2019

it was Excellent Course to enter Game Development world

instructor Brian Winn lectures very helpful and informative

also the projects were really helpful and well constructed to give the student a whole overview on how games are made.

I really enjoyed taking this course and excited to complete next specialization courses.

par Kendry G

Sep 30, 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

par Andrew H

Nov 16, 2015

I enjoyed the course. Very fun playing with the Unity editor, and the assignments give you some freedom in how you tackle assignments. The class was fairly easy and doesn't need much time commitment.

par Ahmed S

Aug 17, 2019

great course that gives you enough solid knowledge to help u build a

career in game development

par Sofi N

Sep 12, 2019

This is a really amazing course. I learned a lot. Thank you Thank you Thank you!!!

par Залужный А Д

Aug 14, 2019

It's really Introduction to Game Development. Love it!

par Asad U K

Aug 15, 2019

best game development course for beginners

par Pranavi

Jul 01, 2019

Was an amazing learning experience!

par Vladimir L

Sep 16, 2019

Very well structured course!

par Rui M R H

Nov 15, 2017

This course is an excellent entry point for whoever is thinking about designing video games in a more serious manner. It's focused on hands-on practice, but it also complements it with some theory, which helps you understand the global picture of video games industry.

This course is not simply about Unity, but it's a good way of starting to practice with it. I know there are tutorials from Unity at their website, but this course does a little more than that, in the sense that you get the whole picture about video games. Plus, to those who fear programming, it gets you acquainted to code as seamlessly as possible. You won't even have to use it on the first two projects. The third project will get you to use it, and by then you will be comfortable enough with Unity layout, which will make you feel that programming is not as daunting as you thought. After that, you can always get back to Unity tutorials, and it feels easier to watch and learn from them.

Some of the content, especially the one that has to do with Unity, is slightly outdated, but this will not keep you from succeeding.

par Dmitry B

Dec 26, 2018

Hello everybody who is reading my review of this great course! If you're interested in making video games and you've never worked with tools like Unity (just like me) I highly recommend to finish this course. And this is because of the following reasons: 1. Brian Winn is a great teacher who explains everything. I don't have any questions about what we've learnt, just want to know more :p 2. Three projects which you'll make in this course. For me they were pretty simple because almost (around 70-80%) every step was just a "copypaste" from Brian Winn's actions but there is great sense in it because you just need to have more experience in working with Unity what this course gains to you; 3. You're free to do whatever you want in each of your projects. For example, you make first level in the project and then the second level is all yours. That's really cool! So that's all! I guess this review helped you. Good luck everyone!

par Shahbaz Z

Nov 29, 2016

The course is fast-paced with 8-16 hours of workload for me (mostly for the assignments). The videos are pretty clear, but because the concepts are pretty difficult I had to watch some of them many times. The learning is reinforced by weekly assignments. The solutions from peers became progressively better over the first half of the course, probably because of student attrition. This course does require some hard work to follow. It help not just learn UNITY 3D also it create concept for learner programmers about C Sharp. it help how to efficiently use all features and functionality in game. I'm very happy i got my first ever experience with Michigan State University and really big thanks to Brian Winn Sir, who provide nice lecture with energetic style. Thanks to Coursera to build affordable and financial aid for all nations. i recommend to all.

par Tarang S

Oct 04, 2016

This course was amazing. I learnt a ton about about Unity and making games. I can give you a long review, but in short, it is challenging to understand, and there are slight loopholes which are hard to figure out sometimes. It was slightly disappointing that the course does not go into coding specifically, like the official tutorials do, but the official tutorials rush learning - these are much better. And when you see those official tutorials, you will see why you don't do much of your own coding - C# is not the easiest language.

So, what does that mean? It means that this course is very much worth it for beginners. It is relatively easy to understand, but expect to do a lot of work!

par tomer s

Jul 20, 2016

I tried other complex Unity3d courses online, and this one beats them all in the way it is built stage by stage. It doesn't pile too much information from the start, and lets you use pre-generated complex assests first, and only later explains them gradually. Even though I had some basic tutorial in Unity3d I couldn't imagine getting that far within a month, investing only about 3-4 hours on the lectures. The projects themselves consume as much time as you want/have to put into, with at least 3-4 hours on average, but if you want to really learn and improve your skill, it requires a lot more than that.

par Alan C

Jul 26, 2016

Recommended even if you have some experience with Unity. I have a Computer Science degree and worked as a professional game developer on released iOS and Android Unity games, and even though the material was a breeze, I still learned from it. Fits the description as a good introduction. The code week kind of throws beginners into the deep end a bit (lots of material just sort of thrown at you, but they warn you about the ramp up requirements). Good idea to invest time in some beginning programming resources before you dive into the week 4 material. What are you waiting for? Enroll!

par Jason M

Oct 12, 2015

I loved it. I learned a ton about making games and I learned it by doing it. So, I have two games and a media simulation to show for it.

Unity was covered. However, 3D modelling, illustration, and audio were not really taught (but a little bit, in theory.) I think it somewhat has to be like this, unfortunately. For me, I used Blender, Photoshop, and Fruity Loops to create my assets, but mostly just the game development is handled in this course. I'm only saying this, because you should know this upfront, really, which I didn't.

Looking forward to the next class...

par David H

Oct 09, 2015

I'm currently starting week 3 of this and already I feel I have got a huge amount out of it.

I was not a complete beginner going in, but with the course taking me back to real basics, I found it helped fill in a lot of blanks that I didn't even know I had.

Even if the rest of the course from week 3 turns out to not be as good, I will still feel I got a tremendous amount out of this! The tutor is straightforward and an excellent lecturer, the course is so far structured really well and the practical exercises are simple to set up and get going on.

par Elena M

Nov 18, 2016

A very useful basic course on the process of making a game and using Unity. The lessons are well structured and give an excellent overview of everything that is involved with creating a videogame, though never going into the detail (it's not a programming or 3D modeling course).

The quality of the lessons is the best I've experienced here so far and the videos are very comprehensible to a non-native english speaker because of the clear speech. I loved the fast pace, but I guess it could be a problem if you're not used to it.

par Moaz A

Aug 09, 2019

I just broke that barrier which always comes up when thinking about making games for someone only do play games his entire life , it was a scary one , just like when you hear that you need to learn coding , there is no shame to start copying and editing scripts , because one day you will be someone who give others scripts to be copied and modified , same thing to Unity it turns out it just needed time to learn , it's not hard , it's just experience you get over time as you learn more stuff .

par Anurag D

Sep 23, 2016

A brilliant course for all those people who want to know about game developing, who want to get their feet wet. This is just the beginning and will make you decide whether you want to pursue learning more about it or game development is not your piece of cake.

I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it to all those who would like to test if they have it in them to become a game developer.

If you enjoy this course you will surely enjoy the next courses from this specialization.

par Kyle D H

Dec 23, 2015

I loved the course through every single lecture and assignment. I think the projects we worked on were a perfect introduction for people who had never worked in Unity before, and for an experienced Unity user (like me) they were a great way to touch up on the basics and even learn a few new ways to organize projects. I'd take this course again a thousand times over, and recommend it for anyone interested in getting into the game development industry, programmer or otherwise.