Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Game Design

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Game Design par California Institute of the Arts

4.7
étoiles
1,890 évaluations
562 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

Meilleurs avis

TN

Apr 13, 2020

I really loved doing this course. Learnt how to make a simple game and make it really interesting! I loved how the easily the instructor was able to teach us and make us curious throughout the course.

DG

Feb 13, 2020

The lecture videos from Professor Fran and his old friend were surprisingly entertaining. Kudos to the team because they were able to make it fun, informative, and engaging throughout the four weeks.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 549 Avis pour Introduction to Game Design

par Guillermo A D L C E

Sep 14, 2020

I love this course, I learn the essencials while you develop a game, what is important to keep in mind and whats are the parts in the creation of a game. I enjoyed make my own proyect game and I pourd my heart while i was developing alway looking how i could be better

par Ashley H

Feb 24, 2020

This course was an excellent introduction class. It was basic enough to easily understand the concepts without being boring either. If you're a lover of video games and of storytelling in general, this course is great to help identify key elements that make up a game.

par Kelly

Feb 14, 2016

This was a great course! Well put-together in terms of material, well made in terms of video quality (editing, etc.), and well laid out in terms of pacing. The homework assignments were fun and pushed you every week to change something about your simple paper game. A+

par Hein H Z

Jun 24, 2020

It’s a good opportunity for us during quarantine and I really enjoy the whole course. This kinds of courses don’t exist in our country. Now I feel like I have learnt something special and will keep on going to learn. This course helps one step closer to my dream.❤️

par Chomoi P

Jan 28, 2018

I found this challenging week one, but by the end I was flying. This course is brilliant and entertaining. You will really learn. A tip I found is submit your assignment early to get really helpful peer feedback. I wish I'd known that at the beginning. Good luck!

par Ng C L

Jan 03, 2019

It teaches very important basics, and has the information you need to help you get start on Game Design. Instructions are also very clear and simple for you to follow through, so even if you don't have a background knowledge, this will be a good starting point.

par Marcus J

Jul 08, 2020

The course as a whole is fantastic. Information is easy to understand, and presented in engaging, humorous fashion. The idea of taking a single project and building on it across the different assignments suits the realm of game design and creation perfectly.

par Laureana S

Jun 07, 2020

I had a really fun time learning the introductory concepts to game design. The videos were easy to follow and very informative. The assignments each week built off each other well, and I feel like I ended the course with a final product I was very proud of.

par Jad M

Nov 28, 2016

This course was my first one on this website and I can say that it was a really great start. A very engaging and fruitful course that brings back to you the positive stress and excitement of the college phase.

I recommend it to everyone; even for doctors (:

par Chloe C

Feb 15, 2016

I loved how this course built on the same assignment every week, so I ended up with a really fleshed out game idea by the end of the four weeks. Also, the peer feedback was useful and pushed me to be clear about my game rules, which was definitely a task.

par Tania A

Nov 16, 2015

Even if simple (it's an introduction, after all), the contents are well structured and I appreciate how the assignments can derive from the previous one and peers' feedback. It's satisfying to see the initial idea evolve into something more developed.

par Ivan G

Nov 08, 2015

I really enjoyed taking the Introduction to Game Design course. Looking each week how other follow student's (including mine own) game designs was inspiring. A lot of creativity boost through simple ideas. Doesn't require any special/advanced skills.

par Madison T

Dec 01, 2016

This course was an excellent intro to games from the artistic point of view. I was looking for a course that could teach me the fundamentals of what a game should have to be good and this one was spot on.

My plan is to finish all five Calart courses!

par Maribel

Jul 31, 2020

¡Me encantaron las clases! Son divertidas, te enseñan y te explorar tu creatividad. Utilicé además los conocimientos para transladarlos a la evaluación de varias soluciones de otros proyectos y me encantó la experiencia.

par Gerick T

Jul 23, 2020

Como lo dice el titulo, es un curso introductorio, pero bastante profundo en los conceptos que presenta en cada modulo. Muy recomendado si estas empezando en la industria de videojuegos, o por si deseas repasar principios básicos del Game Design.

par Isac d V O

Mar 02, 2016

This is a superb course for those interested in starting with game design - or just knowing more about games. The teacher is fantastic and the teacher's assistant is... well... as fun as a muppet. Hats off to CalArts, Cousera and Fran Krause!

par Marina Z

Jul 31, 2016

I wasn't really interested in basic concepts of game design, but couldn't stop watching videos until the very end of the course! Blue pal is awesome! Also, I was glad that the assignments are open even for those who don't pay for course

par Alexander G

Feb 13, 2016

Very good course. Learned new information that proved to be useful regarding game design and also designed a board game to play with colleagues at the office. If you want to learn game design this is a great and easy way to start.

par Molly H

Jun 21, 2020

I like the homework part very much, which makes me constantly recall what I have learned in the course. Besides, every homework is a good experience for me, I spend a lot of time on it, and I pay great attention to it every time.

par Diego G

Jun 01, 2020

It was a really fun and educational experience. Improving the game from the simplest possible one player game to a narrative driven multiplayer experience week by week gave a lot of insight and practical challenges to learn from.

par Xavier E

Apr 02, 2020

Brilliant course ! It goes straight to the point, and the videos are super fun ! I've progressed a lot in my game design comprehension ! Thanks "Calarts" and HUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE thanks to Fran Krause for this wonderful course !

par Samuel S

Nov 08, 2015

Great introductory course! Everything is very well explained and you really feel how your project develops through the week. I expected it to be a bit more technical and less theoretical, but everything is still very well made

par Varun N

Jun 13, 2020

The short, brief videos that explain the basics of game design in a very informative and humorous way made this course an absolute joy to learn. The fun assignments and extremely supportive peers made the course even better.

par Sarah P

Sep 27, 2015

I have been really enjoying this course! The professor is engaging in the videos and he explains things well. I also really like the assignments and the games are fun to make and review. I am learning a lot from this course!

par Матюшенко У А

Apr 19, 2020

Это было полезно и познавательно. Подача материала очень простая, но при этом я узнала много новых вещей о геймдизайне. Программирование в курсе не нужно! Вы просто знакомитесь с азами создания механики игры, ее нарратива.