Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Game Design

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Game Design par California Institute of the Arts

4.7
étoiles
1,969 évaluations
586 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

Meilleurs avis

TN
12 avr. 2020

I really loved doing this course. Learnt how to make a simple game and make it really interesting! I loved how the easily the instructor was able to teach us and make us curious throughout the course.

DG
12 févr. 2020

The lecture videos from Professor Fran and his old friend were surprisingly entertaining. Kudos to the team because they were able to make it fun, informative, and engaging throughout the four weeks.

Filtrer par :

526 - 550 sur 571 Avis pour Introduction to Game Design

par Deleted A

9 janv. 2020

This course helps to understand basic games structure.

par sergi m

15 juin 2019

Good introductory course. Short , simple , and funny!

par Ranjan K

19 déc. 2016

Good Course to understand basics of Game designing

par 刘广祺

15 janv. 2016

good enough for beginners,

and the puppet is funny.

par Abiral G

26 janv. 2018

Good course.

We can get ideas about game design.

par Julian A

29 oct. 2018

Good introduction to this specialization.

par Yumi O

30 mai 2016

Good. It could be better with more videos

par Zineb B

2 juin 2017

Really valuable and informative course.

par Deleted A

15 déc. 2015

Good course! Can use more concepts

par Grace J

11 juil. 2017

Have to pay to do assignments :(

par Joy S

6 mars 2016

Great basics for games!

par Ash j

23 août 2017

just a ilttle short

par 肖毅晨

30 déc. 2015

游戏设计的入门课程,对新手十分友好!

par Daniel O S

6 oct. 2015

nice approach...

par Luiz F R

12 nov. 2015

Good course!

par Amaranta G R

22 janv. 2016

Really fun

par KATHERINE P F Q

11 oct. 2020

educative

par Alexander R

3 mai 2016

g

par Gabriel A

27 sept. 2015

M

par Alexis P C

27 mai 2020

The instructor showed a vast understanding on game design and the videos were useful resources to review when completing assignments. Because this course is based on my learning pace and dedication, I think I learned a good amount about game design and its basics. I personally enjoyed learning at my own pace and applying what I learned in the required weekly assignments. I also enjoyed interacting with others of the same interest and seeing what they created throughout this 4-weeks course.

However, there were times when reviewing videos weren't enough to answer my questions. As suggested by the course syllabus, I posted my question to the discussion forum where the course mentors would answer any questions. I was fortunate enough to complete all the assignments without any reply to my questions (it's been over a week) from any of the course mentors. An increase of course mentor(s) involvement would've been beneficial for many of the learners here including myself for any questions answers or feedback we might need. Perhaps decreasing the class size would benefit course mentor(s) to address questions or concerns from learners.

Although before taking this course there was a reminder that the professor wouldn't be involved in any of the grading or feedback on assignments, I wish there was a better feedback system that involved professional and more than 2 peers feedback required to complete assignments. Most of the feedback in the beginning were beneficial to my improvement in submitting future assignments but as the weeks progressed, the feedback weren't professional nor beneficial to my learning. Peer reviews could use a minimum text amount as well so that learners can gain a better understanding on a peer's feedback rather than reading a one word comment as feedback.

par Nicholas V

22 oct. 2017

The information that is taught here is basic common knowledge that a five minute youtube video could teach you. I enjoyed the style and categorization of video lectures, moveover the instructor is easy to learn from and quite an entertaining fellow. On the other hand, like many courses on this site it suffers from anonomous 'peer-reviews' which can be very frustrating. I like to work at a quick pace, however I could not work how I wanted because peer feedback is required to build on your assignments. If I could make a suggestion to the course moderators I would say " Please increase the required amount of reviews you need to complete from three to at least five, because there are not enough willing people to review work. I had to post on the forms in order to recieve a grade on time" Over all this course left me with a bad taste in my mouth I am not sure if I will continue into the specialization if it will continue to be this frustrating.

par Meredith G

3 avr. 2017

This is a great course due to the well designed and produced videos, peer feedback feature and structure of the course. However, I feel that the lack of input from CALARTS is the drawback. I have been in other courses in Coursera and have found the input from tutors really reassuring because I am getting expert feedback. If courses like this are to be continuously supported by Coursera clients/students, this kind of feedback is critical. If certificates achieved through Coursera are known to be only peer reviewed, such certificates will not carry weight and be recognised by other organisations/employers.

par Samya B

4 sept. 2020

Too many assignments getting reviewed by the peers. The instructors should check a few to give some criticism which we can use because peers are not specific and just doing it for the sake of formality.

Other than this the content is very less the videos are hardly 5 mins maximum are below 3 mins and there are like 7-8 videos a week. For a specialization course, this is way too less. But the content is of good quality. I learnt a lot and it was an enjoyable experience.

par Juan D M

13 févr. 2016

The course is fun and a very intresting approach to game design throug board game design. You get good tips for designing games and the different and important things to know. Though I think it could go deeper into some topics and explain a little more beyond just giving examples, videos are good but a little short, each week is roughly 20 minutes long each. Even though I really liked it and got the best of it .

par Carolyne E F

27 janv. 2017

Although a neat idea, I was a little disappointing to find that over the course of 4 weeks we'd only be creating and adding to a small paper game. I was hoping for something a little more in depth. And although I don't disagree that this course provided some wonderful input to creating a game, I felt that it was something that could have been done in a single lesson.