Chevron Left
Retour à Genomic Data Science with Galaxy

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Genomic Data Science with Galaxy par Université Johns-Hopkins

3.7
476 notes
133 avis

À propos du cours

Learn to use the tools that are available from the Galaxy Project. This is the second course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

GK

Sep 06, 2018

This was a lot of work and rewarding to complete. The final project was challenging and the forum contributors helped a lot in pointing out good resources or strategies they had used.

BG

Feb 03, 2018

Great Course if you are interested in dissecting the genome. Galaxy opens up this invisible world and allows even us little people to explore the world once reserved to only Academia.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 129 Examens pour Genomic Data Science with Galaxy

par Marc-Michel W

Mar 11, 2019

There is far less information provided in the course content to adequately prepare students to carry out the project at the end of week four. The lectures are very low level and introductory but the course project is in-depth and requires a lot of prior knowledge.

par Bryan G

Jul 05, 2018

The course itself is very well taught, although the information is rudimentary relative to the final project. The main reason I am giving the course 2 stars is because the lectures do not prepare the learner for the final project (although it does provide most of the basics for training yourself), and the peer review of the final project lacks direction. For example we are expected to grade our peers based on whether their answers are correct, without having any guidance of what the correct answer actually is.

par Lauren B

Feb 19, 2019

The programs on used in the lecture videos have all been deprecated and there was not enough information provided in the lectures to be able to tackle the final project.

par Ummiye V O

Nov 24, 2018

Seems like Galaxy is far updated after the preparation of the course material. A refreshment on them might be useful. It is not essential but this discrepancy increased the time I had to spend on the course.

par Steve S

Feb 14, 2019

Great course! Could divide the learning experience into two parts. Genomics and IT. A lot was demanded from the genomics side that personally, I supplemented with uTube presentations. From the IT side I soon learned that once the sequencing had been performed, it was a big data problem of fuzzy pattern matching for which you had a lot of software primitives (Galaxy) tied together by workflows. Again, uTube helped to solidify this concept. The class approach while teaching a lot, mostly relied on independent research in order to be successful in a directed study endeavor.

par Arkan A

Dec 20, 2018

The course content covers the very basics and is unfortunately not technical enough for you to actually apply to real data analysis. In addition the class project at the end is much more demanding than what was covered by the materials. Finally the grading of the class project is peer-based which is fine but no answers or guidance are provided which leads to "blind leading the blind" scenario. In my case my project was correctly done but i received a failing grade because my "peer" marked the assignment incorrectly. I merely resubmitted the exact same result and got lucky with a competent "peer" who gave me the pass i deserved the first time around.

Overall, needs more detail and better implementation.

par Katarzyna M

Aug 31, 2018

The course was ok until the final project. The videos should cover more the topic that are needed to solve the project or more reading should be provided.

par Robert D

Jun 18, 2019

Class is incredibly out of date. Good general information, but needs to be updated to reflect current version of Galaxy.

par Rafael V R

Jun 17, 2019

O curso é excelente! O único ponto que acredito que podem melhorar é o projeto final, pois eu não soube como prosseguir no começo. Fiquei um pouco perdido. Mas fora esse detalhe, é um ótimo curso.

par Eric Y L

Apr 03, 2019

The course is all good, except that for the project part, I guess there should be more flexibility in grading part. Say, different people may use different reference genome (hg19, hg38), or apply different approach (say filtering with mapQuality). This should be counted.

par ruchira s

Mar 31, 2019

The course content was great but the project was hard considering how the material was not covered in so much detail. Also, there was no help provided in regards to my query for answer key. Even after trying second time I wasn't sure if my answers were right , which they were but I had to wait a very long time in anticipation of results.

par David B

Mar 19, 2019

The course videos are lean and has enjoyable hands on assignment to accomplish. In particular the last assignment is very exciting for its formula of peer (student to student) reviewed valuation systems

par Nicholas H

Mar 08, 2019

goodjob

par Carlos H L d M

Mar 01, 2019

Very good

par Kevin K

Feb 26, 2019

Course materials were good, final project was very difficult without prior experience. Lots of digging through forums to find details.

par Michael N

Jan 26, 2019

Great course.

par Giovani B F

Dec 29, 2018

I expected more instructional examples of tools and galaxy using in command line (for Linux/Mac), although the few examples of applicability were useful and the final project (forced hands-on) was the most helpful task that brought out real knowledge and experience in galaxy.

par Huang L

Dec 12, 2018

It is great, but can be better if there are more examples!

par Olga D

Nov 14, 2018

Course is very good! Fun to learn about Galaxy. The project assignment is not too well aligned with the materials being thought...

par Elia C C M

Nov 12, 2018

The videos were not enough for me to complete the project course in the expected time.

par Yunfei D

Nov 06, 2018

The course material is introductory. The final exam is confusing with very vague instruction.

par Cesar B

Oct 30, 2018

The material is not sufficient to have a good learning experience with the Final Exam

par Xing Y

Oct 16, 2018

Very useful!

par Noam H

Sep 28, 2018

The course is good, I don't feel like I'm very excellent with Galaxy at the end of it

par Swati

Sep 27, 2018

Not very well explained concepts in the course. The project at the end is very challenging based of on what has been taught in lectures.