Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of Graphic Design par California Institute of the Arts

4.8
étoiles
12,323 évaluations
3,149 avis

À propos du cours

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Meilleurs avis

GA
20 août 2018

Very interesting, I liked the format. Easy to follow, nice excercises. It's actually good to cover the basics of design, even if you are not an absolute beginner, and especially if you are self taught

AR
17 avr. 2016

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 3,098 Avis pour Fundamentals of Graphic Design

par AUDU E O

2 mars 2020

This is a great course for someone new to graphics designing and doesn't have a good background knowledge of design. It goes a long to explain a lot of things you see in professional design work without knowing the designer is using them. I will recommend it to anyone that wants to have good basics in graphic design

par Mary A V

10 juil. 2019

Really solid foundation - The course is definitely what you make of it though, I often times felt like a lot of my peers didn't want to give any kind of feedback that could be perceived as negative, so the peer review wasn't as helpful as I had hoped. The actual course material and the professor were extremely good.

par Diana L F M

9 juil. 2020

Todo muy bien, me gustó bastante, las tareas me parecieron sencillas pero perfectas para entender lo que se estaba viendo en el curso. Los videos son muy claros, en ocasiones un poco pesados pero buenos y con buen contenido. Es recomendable pata aquellas personas que les interesa y están por comenzar en este mundo.

par Amr S

13 avr. 2020

I really, enjoyed this course. I recommend it for any new learner as well as experienced graphic designers whom need to polish the foundation of their talent. Instructor is highly skilled, sincer and, organised. Course is built around a real life project, yet, lays the scientific background in a super easy method.

par Clare L B

23 juin 2020

I had a really great time with this course. I graduated with an Associates Degree in Graphic Design a few years ago and took this course as a refresher, but I felt like I learned almost as much in four weeks as I did in 2 years at an Art School. I wish Coursera had been around then, I might have saved some money.

par Claudia U R

17 oct. 2019

A wonderful introduction to Graphic Design. If you're interested in Graphic design, this is a great course to start with. The videos have so much valuable content and the assignments are well though-out. I would recommend everyone do the optional assignments because it's where you will apply the concepts learned.

par Phoebe C

16 mai 2020

Comprehensive and informative; a good balance of breadth and depth. Instructor uses a "show, not tell" approach in his videos, which greatly aided my understanding of design principles & how to apply them. The tasks were challenging yet manageable, and effective in consolidating my skills learnt during the week.

par Dan E

8 janv. 2020

I have been working in designing and mostly learning on my own, I always wanted to study graphic design but never really have the opportunity, I really liked the course and everything that it coveredt, it helped me to understand the basic theory behind the design and Im looking forward to take the second course.

par Pratik R K

21 juin 2020

Great way to start learning about Graphic Designing if you are a beginner or even have any level of experience in this field. This course covers all the basics which will serve as a great foundation for your future endeavour in this field. I highly recommend you all to join and take the most out of this course.

par Tripti S

9 oct. 2018

Amazing Course, such great insight and yet so simple. When I took this course I knew only the words Graphic Design and that I have to know a few creative suite softwares to learn graphic design. But this course has cleared my thoughs on the subject.

A must taka course for any one wanting to learn graphic design

par Morgan G

22 juil. 2020

This course was amazing! I love the ability to work at my own pace, it allowed me to learn so fast! I went from never having used a single digital design application to being very confident in three weeks!

The instructor was extremely clear and knowledgeable, the course assignments were clear cut and focused.

par Akshaya

7 juil. 2020

I had a lot of fun learning basic Design Thinking, how to approach Design, Typography, Basics of Image Making and how to ideate and visualise different shapes and forms. I would recommend this course to anyone who is looking to unlearn what they know about design or art and learn a brand new way of thinking.

par Laura A J

25 juil. 2018

i highly recommend this course for those who want to start their journey in Graphic Design and they don't know how to start. i love how the tutor tries to encourage us to experiment and try something new and not to be afraid of that. the assignments were fun and useful i am very glad for taking this course.

par Olga P

14 déc. 2019

An excellent class that teaches you the basics of graphic design!!! Very thorough videos and exercises that get your creative mind evolving! The exercises are very fun to complete as the videos give you all the instructions needed to complete them. You will learn form, typography composition and much more!

par Luisa M

27 juil. 2020

The course is very interesting. It really teaches you the basics of Graphic Design, stimulates you to explore your creativity. I just wished our exercises were evaluated for at least one professional or more knowledgeable person instead of only our course colleagues. Overall I would highly recommend it!

par Lorna W

30 mai 2017

Really enjoyable course that was really easy to follow. The videos are great for visual learners, with transcripts that help with note taking, and the practical assignments help you learn by doing. Would definitely recommend as a starting point for anyone wanting to get into the graphic design industry!

par Eduardo G

15 mai 2020

Very well structured, lessons were clear, concise and very engaging and interesting. You build up on the assignments little by little but the concepts are powerful I recomment doing all the optional assignments since they are very fun to make and you learn and practice a lot. Thank you for this course.

par Nikola J

28 août 2018

Being a self-learner in graphic design (photoshop, illustrator and so on) for more than a year, this course provided me with the necessary knowledge of design fundamentals, which I was lacking before. I am more confident to experiment and to think about my work from the theoretical perspective as well.

par Steven C

22 juin 2020

I found this course really useful for learning the basics of graphics design. The assignments helped me to think deeply about many of the design elements, e.g. typography, shapes, colors, textures & composition, which I don't usually do. It has given me a better understanding & appreciation of design.

par Ruthwik

4 oct. 2020

Learned a lot from this course about Graphic Design. Never really thought about the diversity of this course but now I'm glad to know what Graphic Design is!. Enrol this course to get a clear understanding of how Designing is to be done to please the audience. I absolutely loved learning this course.

par Jenny R R

27 mai 2020

I learned from zero this course. I am glad that at the end I got at least a piece of knowledge in Design. This is definitely my first motivation to keep going deeper into this wonderful world of Design. congratulations to Michael Worthington to be a nice and very clear in his videos, I learned a lot.

par Tracy B

27 avr. 2017

Really enjoyed this course - very glad I saw it through to the end. Got a bit discouraged around week 3 because I don't have any experience with Illustrator or Photoshop yet, so I couldn't do those optional assignments. That's just a heads-up though, not a complaint. Would fully recommend the course.

par Mwa H L

26 janv. 2016

Not so long ago i decided that I no longer wanted to practice the art of graphic design hazily since i was self taught. I wanted to know everything about it and this course has been quite helpful. For once i can now speak fluently about the fundamentals of graphic design. Thanks to the Coursera team.

par Archie

31 janv. 2020

Excellent graphic design course. It has the perfect balance of content and the way it tests you is very effective and memorable. The way it is structured makes it an ideal starting point for any graphic designer, whether they already have some design experience, or if they are starting from scratch.

par resta a

11 janv. 2021

very good and very useful, here it is taught in detail a basic graphic design with different methods, not only for computers but taught skills with our own hands, moreover changing the mindset of what design is like and how. I highly recommend this course for all levels of bass or for professionals