Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of Graphic Design par California Institute of the Arts

4.8
étoiles
13,220 évaluations
3,398 avis

À propos du cours

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Meilleurs avis

CS
9 mai 2018

An ok course for beginners. A bit too basic for someone who has already had experience in design, but is great anyway cause it breaks things back down to the simplest parts to help you remember roots.

GA
20 août 2018

Very interesting, I liked the format. Easy to follow, nice excercises. It's actually good to cover the basics of design, even if you are not an absolute beginner, and especially if you are self taught

Filtrer par :

3301 - 3325 sur 3,353 Avis pour Fundamentals of Graphic Design

par Ivy T

30 juil. 2020

Looks a bit outdated. A bit boring

par Jordan

31 mai 2019

Could use a few updated changes.

par Lulu

11 févr. 2016

lecturer could be more personal

par Dixit U

17 nov. 2020

avarage course not preferable.

par Dean C

22 oct. 2017

Good but very beginner level.

par Natalia K

29 déc. 2015

It is good for beginners only

par Remington C

7 déc. 2015

Bit too simple for my liking.

par Ieva

3 oct. 2020

the lessons were very basic

par Semih S

28 déc. 2020

For 4 week course its ok.

par Kenneth D D

26 juil. 2020

Only very basic concepts.

par Afia T

31 août 2020

A enjoyable course😃

par German G S

8 mai 2020

Pretty Interesting

par Muhammad F K

26 juin 2020

Good. not deep.

par Dongqi L

30 mai 2019

too fundamental

par radhvi k

24 juin 2019

simply.. Wow.!

par Geffania G G

30 juil. 2020

It was Good.

par Nusanta S A

28 sept. 2020

good

par Silvana L A C

14 juin 2020

Good

par Richard L

5 août 2020

The course itself was very good. I studied for many more hours than the recommended times and I learned a lot. I read books about Bauhaus, color, and typography. I watched a film about Bauhaus and did an online course by Pantone about color perception. The thing that lets the course down is the peer reviews, which are mostly useless. I've tried hard to write thoughtful reviews and I've done more than the minimum number for every assignment. In return I've received reviews like "ok" and "good". These people are just taking the mickey and CalArts and Coursera are responsible by neglect. It would be easy to automatically check for a minimum number of words in reviews. I notice that Gail Swanlund gives guidance about how to review in the Imagemaking course, but shouldn't this be in the first course so people know how to review? There ought to be a way to report these non-reviews and the people should be stripped of their course marks.

par Elizaveta T

7 mars 2016

This course does go over some of the basics of graphic design, but I expected it to be a lot more rigorous. The assignments are incredibly simple, and I think that there should be no optional assignments in the class. The reason I'm taking this class is because I have a hard time motivating myself to learn on my own, so I need something that will really push me. I only spent about an hour a week completing this course, and I believe that you can't learn something by only spending an hour a week on it. Also what's the point of having mentors if they don't engage with you? I know I could have contacted them if I had a question, but I didn't because it was so easy. I wouldn't mind getting feedback from a professional graphic designer though if they're available. Also seeing how many students misinterpret the assignments, it makes me nervous that they are the ones grading mine.

par JackMayEd

5 mai 2021

The videos nicely layout information and the course is easy to follow. The reason for two stars is that you never learn from a professional. Every project is peer-reviewed, which can be beneficial when done right. When you are in a beginner class and only getting peer reviews, you don't learn as much as you could. Many of the reviews I have seen are just "ok", "cool", or "N/A". It's a shame. The information is good and the assignments are great, just missing the professional advice.

par Olivia W

30 août 2020

Like some other reviewers said this is more of an art course than graphic design, at least from my perspective. You wont be learning how to use photoshop or anything adobe for that matter. So, for your assignments I recommend using something free, such as Canva, if you don't already pay for adobe. I hope that they upload more courses on adobe and have assignments such as making a business card or a flyer.

par Sarah F

3 févr. 2016

"Let's try and draw a very basic, simple apple." I had to stop watching this course there. Sorry, but this is less than "fundamentals". I'm trying a new course on graphic design now...

par Nissam F F

16 mai 2021

A lot of Theory, but having already worked a bit in the graphic design I don't think this is very useful when you start working. But maybe good to initiate a complete beginner.

par Deleted A

15 juin 2020

Super basic stuff. I think it could be condensed. Not sure I learned more than a couple concepts, which could have been summarized on 1-2 slides.