Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction à la science forensique

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction à la science forensique par Université de technologie de Nanyang, Singapour

4.9
étoiles
1,168 évaluations
365 avis

À propos du cours

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

Meilleurs avis

NU

Jun 18, 2020

The training and instruction received in the course of the program were an excellent one. It exposed me to various techniques used for crime investigation. Generally, I had an awesome experience.

DR

Jul 09, 2019

This was a good course for reviewing forensic medicine. Some detail part of medicolegal aspects are insufficient but as a package, it is most essential for the expert to upgrade their knowledge.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 360 Avis pour Introduction à la science forensique

par waseem A

Apr 14, 2020

The content is very comprehensive. Course delivery is exceptional and very lucid. The video lectures have good learning aids. Adult learning methodologies for maintaining focus and attention of the participants are implemented effectively, to the extent Prof Bates even had a glass of wine to prove his point....

par Haritha S

Jun 27, 2020

An awesome course which was well elaborated and principles of techniques wonderfully explained.My thirst for forensics and the mystery behind its applications have been satisfied through this course.I really liked the way this course and the concepts were constructed and the tests really were mind wrecking.

par Iva A

Apr 20, 2020

I highly recommend this course for anyone who is interested in exploring the field of Forensic science. The learning and practicing processes were truly enjoyable, especially taking the quizzes and solving the cases. I hope I have the opportunity to sign up for another course of this type very soon.

par Di L

Aug 07, 2019

Great course. I found the material to be engaging but also presented in a scientific way. The examples and practical applications of techniques ensured understanding of different scientific concepts. I would highly recommend this course for any person interested in forensic science and application.

par Abby H

Aug 14, 2017

Very fun and interesting course. Learned a lot about the field of Forensics with little background in it to begin with. Has a few quizzes on materials and a couple of fun peer reviewed assignments where you interpret a crime scene. Definitely recommend this for anyone with an interest in forensics.

par Pablo C

Apr 14, 2020

Really gives a good introduction, not only into the subject matter but also into the mindset of a forensic scientist. Even though it is a online course, laboratory methods are demonstrated which gives you additional knowledge, not only of theoretic methods but also the practical application.

par MARIA A P A

Sep 06, 2020

I enjoyed it because it presents a lot of examples. The basic concepts are explained clearly and help to understand the techniques if you are not used to topics of biology and chemistry. I liked the assignments where I tried to solve murder cases with the knowledge learned in the lessons.

par Olga

Apr 11, 2020

Brilliant course! Thank you for putting such an insightful and interesting course together! The case study practical tasks were great practice and the quizzes encompassing all of the previous learning up to that point is a great way to ensure that nothing is forgotten. Highly recommended!

par Elizabeth K

Feb 06, 2018

Fantastic introduction to the area of Forensic Science! Very thorough and informative with a lot of detail on many subject areas. I enjoyed every second of this course and feel like I now have a more advanced knowledge of Forensics. Great at busting myths seen on TV shows such as CSI!

par Jahnavi Z

Aug 04, 2020

I had a good time learning this course. The instructor was very much clear and good at explanations. The lessons, assignments and case studies were well designed and organised.

I will definitely recommend this course to my friends. Thank you so much for such a good opportunity.

par G G D

Jul 15, 2020

I've always been wanting to learn Forensic science as it is a very interesting subject and Coursera made it possible in a commendable way!

I thoroughly enjoyed studying and would like to thank Coursera for providing this opportunity which reaches millions of students.

par Niloufer K K

May 03, 2020

Amazing Course!!! :) Roderick Bates Sir is amazing!!! He has explained everything very simply and yet covering details... :) As I watched more videos my curiosity to learn more only increased!!! Also, peer-reviewing was fun!!! :) I strongly recommend this course!!! :)

par Trevor J H

Apr 10, 2018

Lots of effort went into this course by Dr Roderick Bates. It was extremely interesting and informative and easily understood. The video material and examples are superb. I enjoyed doing the murder cases. One of the best courses so far Ive done here at coursera.

par GARIMELLA R M

Sep 12, 2017

Great course. Prof. Bates is genius and a great teacher. I love this course very much. I am expecting sequence or specialization from same University and same professor.

Thanks for giving us an opportunity to express our feelings towards a course in coursera.

par Sandhya.P

Aug 28, 2020

This is an outstanding platform to learn a course effectively. My keen interest in Forensic science prompted me to take this course and it was very fruitful. I could understand more about it and this actually increased my enthusiasm in forensic science.

par Seow Y D

Aug 11, 2019

I am truly grateful to Coursea for granting me a financial aid to pursue this course at essentially zero cost. I have learned many techniques and case studies from this forensics science course without having the stress of failing the module in school.

par Nerea W

May 29, 2018

It's a great course, everything is so entertaining. Altho so far there is a sexist comment saying that a woman professor did not really look like a forensics expert, she looked like the perfect professor to me ;) . But apart from that it is all good.

par Anna L

May 11, 2017

I am fascinated by the Forensic Science field and this course was invaluable for me. Now that I have completed this course I am considering undertaking more courses about this subject. The tutor was excellent, came across friendly and knowledgable.

par Priscilla A

Sep 08, 2020

It was a great course, very simple to understand and the fact that there are both multiple-choice test as well as assignments which require you to review your peers, help you to learn more, through different people's perspectives. That's awesome.

par Abu H

Aug 02, 2019

This Course was really basic and fundamental information that contain helpful material in Forensic Science chemistry. So, I enjoy a lot throughout the course, and learnt many new points and cases that is really essential for my future prospectus.

par Shobhraj S P

Feb 22, 2018

Its been great to be apart of this course, the content was super informative. Special thanks to our professor who's been super good in explaining each and every aspect of this course relating forensic science techniques. Proud learner, Thanks !!

par Jayaraam R

May 19, 2020

Excellent content, a highly competent instructor who knows his stuff. Very relevant demonstrations and case studies. I enjoyed doing the peer-graded assignments. Overall, a very enlightening course. Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

par Rodolfo Q L

May 28, 2020

That was a complex and wide course involving great amount of themes. There was quite prominence related chemistry. It demanded effort and discipline to assimilate correctly certain concepts. The instructor is very intelligent and objective.

par Priyatharshini A

Feb 28, 2020

I love to study forensic science course. So, I joined this course. I loved this lecture videos. The way of teaching was very awesome and interesting. I gained more knowledge on forensic science. Thank you so much for this valuable lecture.