Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction à la science forensique

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction à la science forensique par Université de technologie de Nanyang, Singapour

4.9
étoiles
1,162 évaluations
363 avis

À propos du cours

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

Meilleurs avis

NU

Jun 18, 2020

The training and instruction received in the course of the program were an excellent one. It exposed me to various techniques used for crime investigation. Generally, I had an awesome experience.

DR

Jul 09, 2019

This was a good course for reviewing forensic medicine. Some detail part of medicolegal aspects are insufficient but as a package, it is most essential for the expert to upgrade their knowledge.

Filtrer par :

326 - 350 sur 358 Avis pour Introduction à la science forensique

par Sam B

Apr 22, 2018

Well done! Fascinating course! The assignments are super fun (I would've happily done more) but they need revising, i.e. a little better quality control and there needs to be a recourse process for when peer reviewers do not read the rubric correctly and as a result, marks students incorrectly (I never received a reply or help :( ...), hence i had to rate the course 4/5 (fix these and this course is easily a 5!)

Otherwise the lectures are amazing and I really wish there was a part 2! Loads of fun! Thank you so much Nanyang Tech for proving this opportunity!

par Veronica E

Nov 05, 2018

I loved the videos and the extensive information provided about the various kinds of technology available for characterizing a substance, etc. My favorite videos are of the lecturer in the lab showing the viewer how to use these tools. My one complaint is that I wish the peer-reviewed graded assessments were more detailed/more accurately tested our understanding of the great information provided in the lectures.

par Tan C L

Sep 15, 2020

I've learnt about lots of interesting topics from this forensic course and I am glad that I have enrolled into this course. It really expanded my knowledge about Forensic Science and I would be willing to learn more about Forensic Science in the future. Learning from Professor Roderick has been a great experience, I love how he always gives examples to make things sound simpler and engaging. Love this course!

par Seema S S

Jun 25, 2020

The course materials and quizzes are quite good. However, the course has peer-review assignments. Some people do not give the correct marks despite the fact that the answer has all the points included in the rubric. Mentors do not intervene in this situation. I would still highly recommend this course because of the highly accurate course materials.

par Cornelia H

Aug 11, 2017

A great course to get an overview of forensic science and learn about all the important techniques of the field. It is kept quite simple and can definitely be understood without much prior knowledge, but I personally would have liked parts to go a bit more in depth on the chemical side. Overall really good course though.

par Leanna J

Aug 23, 2020

This class was great! I love all the information, and the videos are extremely interesting. The case studies provoke intellectual thought, and they are fun to solve. The only critique I have is the peer reviews may be harsh on the grading at times. Overall, this class was fantastic!

par Colin k

Aug 09, 2019

Very Interesting. I'm not a chemist so struggle with some of the chemical compound diagrams but understand the principal and description. I really enjoyed the presentation and case studies. The Peer reviewed assignments are hit and miss with how the assignments are marked.

par anuj

Sep 30, 2020

The course is very interesting and gives the basic idea about forensic science. It includes several read case studies. The tutor explains subject in details and maintains the interest through his nice way of teaching.

par Wesley R N

Aug 03, 2017

The content of the course was exactly what I was looking for, and was very well presented. I felt the case studies could have been better prepared and more direction given in how to grade the submissions.

par Louis A K H T

Nov 09, 2016

I have really learn a lot through the participation of the course and would like to sincerely thank the people conducting the course to make the course so enriching and also interesting.

par Darrell W

Jan 29, 2018

Excellent course except for the peer review. Students don't have enough reliable knowledge to correctly evaluate an opinion based argument.

par Deleted A

Nov 07, 2016

The material is good, but the format of the case study submission has allowed numerous cases of cheating and plagiarism.

par Juan J C

Jul 07, 2020

es sumamente interesante, sin embargo se encuentra un poco desactualizado

par Sivasankari S

May 21, 2018

the course you provided was very useful and interesting and easier too.

par Swarnava M

Jul 23, 2017

Very innovative and detailed course. Dr Bates is a very good teacher.

par Abhiram A P

Sep 25, 2020

best course on forensic science and a great explanations of topics.

par Joy S

Apr 01, 2017

good class, watched all the lectures, just won't do peer review.

par DIVYA P

Apr 17, 2019

interesting course for those who wish to study a budding field

par Neena J

Aug 23, 2020

VERY INFORMATIVE. Gives a good foundation to learn forensics.

par Rinshana P

Aug 22, 2020

Excellent course and the Professor teaches it so perfectly

par Jonathan G

Apr 29, 2018

Very informative course. I learned a lot.

par Elise K

Mar 25, 2019

Les devoirs à rendre étaient un peu long

par GANJIKUNTA C

Sep 05, 2020

It is very interesting and very useful.

par Shuvra D

Jul 07, 2020

it was a great experience. thanks

par Aravind k

Apr 04, 2019

pretty good and knowledgable