Chevron Left
Retour à Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Stanford Introduction to Food and Health par Université de Stanford

4.7
étoiles
25,009 évaluations
7,262 avis

À propos du cours

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Meilleurs avis

SD

6 août 2020

I really enjoyed doing the course, Very elaborate and informative course. Things are simplified so much that anybody can understand the basics of nutrition which helps in making the wise food choices.

CS

26 août 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

Filtrer par :

7176 - 7200 sur 7,312 Avis pour Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

par Giacomo M

6 juil. 2018

Probably my delusion has been caused by different kind of expectation: nothing about this course is "wrong" I just found it excessively simple and basic, perhaps directed to a public that never took a knife and cut some vegetables before. I was hoping in some more technical information, and nutritional biology.. it looked more like a well made commercial for a healthy life stile.

par Luke R

13 janv. 2019

Perhaps helpful for someone looking to change their western diet for health reasons. However, I wouldn't recommend this course for anyone feeling like they will gain a dense (even introductory) knowledge of the science within nutrition. The first week has some insight that was new to me, but everything after was just about how to change your diet, shop and eventually recipes.

par Ciaran M

29 janv. 2021

I expected the course to be based on findings from science and research; to hear from a nutritionist or a medical doctor with a background in nutrition. Instead much of the material seems to be based on the opinion of a professor of journalism, a man who believes that it is "very hard to get fat on home-cooked food." I remained to the end, and so did my disappointment.

par EDITH V P

11 janv. 2019

The course is very clear, has really good information, in general everything was great until I finished the week 4, then the next day I wanted to follow with week 5 "cooking workshop" but I couldn't because the course was labeled as "finished" and now I cannot see the cooking videos, I can only see the videos for week 1 and the others are not available.

par HM

23 févr. 2016

This is less of a university level course and more of a long infomercial for Michael Pollen books with a cooking show at the end.

There is no interviews with nutritionists or scientists. In fact, there really isn't much here in the way of science at all.

The cooking videos are fun with some good recipes.

par Deniz Ö

27 mars 2017

It is a kind of introduction course as it was mentioned on course info, however it is very basic.

If there would be follow up courses about the same topic it is a good start, otherwise that is not a learning based lecture.

Thank you for your understanding.

Deniz Ozalp

par Andy C

4 mai 2020

While this is a helpful class to those learning the basics of how food affects your health, it does little to expand on the science behind these things. It seemed more like an infomercial for healthy eating than a class to understand how food affects your health.

par A

5 sept. 2018

Aside from the recipes presented in Week 5, the course is very general and in my opinion does not teach valuable information about nutrition.

The advices that were given concerning choices in nutrition are very basic and in my opinion they are common knowledge.

par Susana C M

9 mai 2017

Weak courses, information very obvious. You don´t even need to watch the videos to pass the assignments. Maybe American lifestyle is not so healthy, but I thought it was a waste of time and money. It is indeed just an introduction. I wouldn't recommend it

par Deleted A

29 janv. 2018

In my opinion this course not help me as a doctor to know about diet,calories,regems,the calories of each ingredient i find this information is simple and every one can recognize it i want more medical information that help me to work in nourishment

par Walter S

22 janv. 2016

They talked a little about LDL and HDL which is good.

But the rest was just a summary of avoid processed foods, eat less and eat less meat and ways to do it. It is important, but I thought the course lacked science and it was very very short.

par Lisa v V

21 févr. 2017

Useful information about nutrition, I would've loved to learn more about that. The part about home-cooking and how to reduce the health risks when cutting an onion where too superficial and unnecessary for me.

par Nadine E

7 août 2016

This is a very basic course on food and nutrition. I would consider the majority of the content to be common sense. I would not recommend it if you already have an interest or general knowledge of nu

par Mark

11 févr. 2019

Pleasant and informative but VERY simplistic which was surprising for a Stanford course; I was expecting more on the bio/chemistry of nutrition and digestion, but this was more of a cooking show...

par GBT

18 avr. 2017

Did not go into enough detail, reiterated home cooking and spoil rate but did not get into specifics. Perhaps another class on what foods do what in your body would be beneficial.

par Ngozi O

16 juil. 2020

Seemed more geared toward people planning to change their eating habits. Also did not consider barriers to eating balanced meals like not having access to a nearby grocery store.

par Hussam E

18 avr. 2021

When i subscribed for this course i thought it has more info, more scientific details and that's what i was looking for not just a general basic info & scirntificaly weak.

par Marina K

30 sept. 2021

Не грамотный русский перевод. Тестовые вопросы не переводятся на русский. Странные навыки которым обучают - не покупать покупную еду а готовить дома. Вы серьезно????

par Jennifer B

22 févr. 2019

Extremely basic in content but professional in presentation. Frankly, I'm surprised that this is a Stanford course. I expected something less elementary.

par Nike K

13 juin 2022

It was a bit too basic with some gramatical errors.

Also, some of the content was questionable, and more literature was needed to back up statements.

par Nicole D

8 mai 2021

Hätte anspruchsvoller sein können. Mehr auch auf biochemische Prozesse, bspw. was passiert bei einer erhöhten Aufnahme von Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln.

par Aya A E A

21 janv. 2018

A very general information is given. I was expecting to have more information on how to divide my protein in take or carbs throughout everyday meals.

par Frederique

19 janv. 2016

Very basic content. I am not sure that there was anything new for me in this course. I am born in France and I guess we learn this from our families.

par Mira M

6 juin 2020

very basic and obvious content

The course does not challenge the student, especially if you already have some prior knowledge to nutrition and health

par Jenny B

1 févr. 2016

Really very basic, anyone with an interest in the subject is likely to know most of this already. nicely presented though, good quality videos.