Chevron Left
Retour à Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Stanford Introduction to Food and Health par Université de Stanford

4.7
étoiles
25,712 évaluations

À propos du cours

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Meilleurs avis

SR

12 juil. 2022

learned alot on this course. Very knowledgeable and full of healthy recipes. Great way to start your goal. Along with excersice and healthy eating you are on your way to a great healthy mind and body.

NF

5 déc. 2020

Foods and us have a relationship, and this course defines that relationship. Personally, this course provides positive experience for me in regards of food, meal preparation, and eating in moderation.

Filtrer par :

7101 - 7125 sur 7,504 Avis pour Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

par Habiba B

15 févr. 2022

The nutrition and food value are just brushed over, with the focus on teaching food behaviuors, i think this course is not suited to anyone with a european upbringing this is definetely targetted to the USA/Canada region where there is a tendency to eat mostly processed food....I had hope more info on nutrition and food values and macronutriants

par Maria S

24 avr. 2021

Very general, basic information provided in the course. It is a very, very small introduction to a subject that is so vast. The last week is practical recipies ideas. Uselful ideas for shopping and laber reading. Not enough details on the food nutrients. The presentaions are very short, 5-9 minutes. More details needed to make it useful.

par Boya

4 janv. 2018

The course is very introductory but well laid out. If you are already doing some readings on nutrition before this course, you will find more 50% of the course to be familiar. I really wish that the course is longer and have some more in-depth information, and possibly some more insights related to the various diet trends we see now.

par Adam R

23 janv. 2018

It provides good and broad informations about nutrition but I was expected a few more details. I think that this course is more suitable for people who know nothing about nutrition, but maybe a little boring for the ones who already have the fundamentals. Well, in fact, everything is in the title... this is an introduction ! ;)

par Dahlia R

31 mai 2020

Perhaps I went in with expectations that were too high. I found the format of this course to be very engaging and enjoyed the quizzes for evaluation, however the content was very elementary. Was looking to learn more about the science behind health and nutrition and less about the social aspects behind the Western Diet.

par Katie J

13 juin 2020

This course is for complete beginners. The first week i learnt something about nutrition and was rather excited, the next few weeks, however, were so basic i don't know why one would need a course on that since it's such basic knowledge. Overall, the course is fine and the speaker, Maya, is a very nice presenter.

par Diana H F P

12 janv. 2018

It is well edited and has good but very basic information of nutrition which is not what I wanted, I wanted a more advanced nutrition course, this was not for me, but if you don't know anything about nutrition this is a good course and takes you through the basics so you can have a better understanding.

par Thomas C

23 nov. 2016

Incredibly basic- more for the average person rather than a student or professional, but it seems as though that is who the material is directed at- so not a great course if you are a professional looking to increase your knowledge, but great usable information that the average person can easily apply.

par kondapalli t

2 juil. 2020

i found this course interesting to an extent as this is my first online course. But apparently, the information was too compromised. Although, I got to learn quite a bit, it didn't reach my expectations. There could be another course introduced in extension to this one which would be great.

Thank you.

par Ricardo C H

11 mai 2020

Es un curso realmente muy básico, ideal para personas que no entienden nada de nutrición o su conocimiento respecto a este tema es mínimo.

Las explicaciones y la información se presenta de una forma bastante sencilla y entendible por lo cual no debería haber mayor dificultad para aprobar el curso.

par Makarova V A

18 juil. 2021

Среди тонны бесполезной информации промелькивали действительно полезные факты.

1. Пейте чистую воду много и заменяя любые другие напитки

2. Питайтесь с большим содержанием белков и жиров, а в виде углеводов предпочитайте две чашки овощей и столько же фруктов. Еда не переработанная - лучший выбор.

par Eric J

7 août 2020

Decent course but could have been better. Information was okay but confusing and repetitive in some ways during the weeks of this course. I got very bored with this course in the 3rd week. Overall this course is a 3 out of 5 starts and execution could have been better with presentation as well.

par Jayde F

17 avr. 2020

Very basic course aimed at somebody who is on a very unhealthy american diet and focused on helping them to get slightly healthier. For somebody who already makes good food choices this course isn't for you. To be honest, I can't imagine anybody is unhealthy enough to need this level of basics!

par Alexander U

4 sept. 2019

Interesting, but did not learn much I did not already know. Course was nice though, would recommend it to my acquaintances. I would diversify the references, and not always have Michael Pollan (some controversial stuff there), even though his interviews were on point and politically correct. :)

par Aliona C

13 févr. 2016

extremely short & easy - fun-ducation. Not hugely informative for someone who's looking to learn about the links between what we eat and how we eat, and how human bodies respond. But the instructor is very charming, so it was a pleasant experience. The whole course can be completed in 1-2 hours

par Fiona V

29 avr. 2017

This course gives you a general overview over nutrition. It is a good start for those who want to have an healthier diet. Personally I already knew most of the information provided and I am a bit further into the 'eating healthy' process. The course is well done anyway and worth a look.

par Cassi T

12 août 2016

Starts off informative and then becomes very basic. It felt like it was more for informing families struggling with nutrition than for informative education on health and food.

The interview with Michael Pollan that was woven in to each lesson were the main reason to finish the course.

par Yoke D

8 avr. 2021

If you have absolutely no prior knowledge about food I could see this course being beneficial. Nothing against the instructor; it was very well spoken and put together. I would have loved to have a little more nutritional science involved. This makes for an interesting documentary.

par Marvin B

1 sept. 2020

Copied review which captures my experience: "Not actually a 'course' but a short series of very basic self-help videos with distracting background music throughout. 3 stars because it's a nice public service by Stanford but I personally was expecting a university-level course."

par Simran P

22 mai 2020

The course was informative. However, i was very basic. Being a post graduate in food science and technology myself, I was looking for advance level. I have a suggestion as well, the background music was high which hindered the listening when the coaches were speaking. Thank you!

par Jennifer H

1 févr. 2016

This seems like a good overview for those new to the kitchen, and/or health concerns more generally. For someone interested in deepening their understanding, it's of more limited value--but it is presented as an introduction. I wish there were readings to supplement the videos.

par Susan M M

1 sept. 2017

I enjoyed most of the information in this course. The last week recipes and instructions seemed ridiculous as it was out of sync with: "eat food, not too much, mostly plants." I would have appreciated some plant based recipes. These recipes had too much dairy and meat. <3

par Jessie Z

16 mars 2016

It was filled with a lot of interesting, pertinent information but I did feel that there was not enough variety in terms of interviews and I do wish that she had delved more into some of the topics. I understand it was an overview but I often felt that it was very brief.

par Sarah M J

3 févr. 2016

I was hoping for something a little more technical. This course might be good for someone who has no previous knowledge of the nutrition content of food or how to cook. It would be perfect for kids getting ready to head off to college who've never cooked for themselves.