Chevron Left
Retour à Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Stanford Introduction to Food and Health par Université de Stanford

4.7
étoiles
18,643 évaluations
5,640 avis

À propos du cours

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Meilleurs avis

VI
18 janv. 2021

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

SD
6 août 2020

I really enjoyed doing the course, Very elaborate and informative course. Things are simplified so much that anybody can understand the basics of nutrition which helps in making the wise food choices.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 5,588 Avis pour Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

par Mauro G M

14 janv. 2021

El curso es muy buena, se aprende a valorar a las comidas por su valor nutricional.

Lo más importante en la alimentación es aprender a balancear los nutrientes de las comidas,

En cada plato debe predominar el 50% comidas vivas (frutas y vegetales, el 25% de carbohidratos y el otro 25% de proteínas. La nutrición es según el trabajo desempeñado, Un deportista debe consumir nutrientes con mucha energía, Un profesional de la salud más comida viva y un obrero de la construcción civil, más carbohidratos.

par Deleted A

24 janv. 2017

Should be required for everyone, even if you think you already eat healthily! Essential and up-to-date information about food and health is presented in an extremely clear and engaging manner. The quizzes are exceptional and you'll know you learned a lot when you are not only able to find the right answer, but correct the wrong answers in your head. Thank you so much for creating this course, I truly hope it helps change the world's eating behaviors and eliminates our population's chronic health crisis.

par Samar A A M

28 sept. 2020

I have completely enjoyed that course .. that seems to be very beneficial to me and overall to my country's culture about nutrition facts and health issues ,, that encourages me greatly to change our thinking of food and eating habits ,, moreover it helps me to focus and learn more about nutrition and health with your online courses ,, thank you so much 😍

Finally I wished if you let me to move on and finish that course and will be very grateful if you could allow me to certification.. thanks overall

par Arianny R d C P

25 juil. 2019

Sou muito grata por ter recebido a bolsa e ter conseguido concluir esse curso que já me engrandece e que certamente me ajudará em breve levar tal conhecimento para os meus pacientes e conhecidos. Obrigada equipe! Continuem proporcionando aprendizado e enriquecendo ainda mais essa plataforma. Gostaria de sugerir mais cursos de especialização na área da nutrição, acho que seria muito bom se tivesse pós graduação e mestrado com assuntos mais específicos para essa área. Obrigada mais uma vez, até breve.

par Desiree N B

13 mai 2020

Great class. Videos were great and I like that there is a visual (video) provided along side the notes.

I am a vegetarian and have learned a lot about nutrition and healthy eating in my personal quest to overcome some health conditions. In this course, I learned a little more about nutrition, macro nutrients, nutrient density, quality of foods, portion sizes and practical tips when food shopping, etc. "Eat food (real food). Not too much. Mostly Plants" is simple and sound guidance for anyone.

par Anu A

19 déc. 2018

This is a wonderful intro to healthy eating, including the science behind foods and the psychology behind food advertising. I would highly recommend this to any teenager going off to college or really anyone who is learning how to cook or lose weight. I appreciate the nice graphics and the clear explanations. Even though I've taken other food and health courses before, I still learned some things with this class and it was so short/concise that it was worth it. Thank you, Dr. Adam and Mr. Pollan!

par Candice V

17 juil. 2019

I really enjoyed this course and the supplemental videos, recipes, and resources at the end (Week 5). A lot of it was a refresher for me, but a helpful motivator to get back on track in certain areas of my family's nutritional life such as breakfast. My husband handles breakfast with boxed cereals, boxed pancakes, and bacon. I now have some motivation to make tweaks and implement new recipes (such as the blender pancakes) to help steer this meal in a healthier direction. Thank you Dr. Adam!

par Ana P

2 mai 2018

Hello, i am a nanny and i loved this course, because makes me understand how much important cooking could be in our lives. I would love to know more. Unfortunately i have finished my weeks in few days because i was too interested in it and i didn't have time to take notes . I would love to have the possibility to have the text regarding all of the videos so that i can keep them and review them whenever i feel like i need a motivation because i can say it LOUD: this course motivated me soo much!

par Beáta K

11 oct. 2018

I think this is a very useful and well-structured course, but the target group maybe wasn't me. As a European, who actually almost never eat prepared food, and cook reguralry there wasn't any new information for me, but the videos was very entertaining and again, well-structured. I think this course is recommend for everybody, because it's short, not too deep, but really complex. I'm really graetful, that it's scientifically correct, and neutral, and don't want to force us some new "diet".

par Samiah A

16 nov. 2017

An easy to understand course with practical tips everyone can adapt. It starts on a basic level and doesn't require you to drastically change your diet, such as eliminate entire food groups or grow your own produce. A follow-up course will be helpful. These type of courses are needed since there is a lot of misinformation about diet. Many documentaries telling you to basically avoid everything that leave you dismal, hopeless, and more likely to give up on improving your diet altogether.

par Bartłomiej T

25 févr. 2021

I think its a great and quick tool for learning the basics/fundamentals of nutrition. Great to see professionals pushing towards following the best up to date scientific literature and evidence of plant based substitution, especially seeing the detrimental effects the current food system has brought upon us and the lack of common knowledge in the general public. Thank you for providing everyone with an opportunity to learn and take the first step in their journey to health.

par Tawfiq A

11 sept. 2019

Fantastic insights on nutrition, perfect illustration and clear audio explanation, being passionate about nutrition and food and currently working on my F&B sustainable food start-up my team and I found this course really beneficial and being a home chef I can now illustrate and inform on defining healthy conscious eating. Currently I am also enrolled on Stanford's child nutrition and cooking. Thanks to Coursera, and Maya Adams and the entire supporting team of this course.

par Liezel K

23 févr. 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and will most definitely join another one. It so easy to follow and you can watch the videos as many times as you like if you want to update your notes. I also like the fact that when you start the next week, you can go back and watch the video clips again to recap. I enjoyed the course material and learned a lot. It certainly inspires you to start cooking healthier and to plan nutritious meals for your family. Thank you for a great course.

par Adeen K

1 déc. 2019

an informative course that acknowledge us about basic food components and human body needs. taught about the importance of home cooking, nutritional value of processed and home cooked food and how we can improve our health by taking simple changes in our routine and can connect with our family members. most importantly this course helps to learn the skill of good shopping, how we can know about the quality of food by looking at its ingredients and nutritional value chart.

par Katia N

4 juil. 2020

I could not have found a better course considering what I was looking for. I learned so much about healthy habits, how the food industry works, how with a few essential ingredients you can make a diverse menu and how to buy my products. I am very satisfied with the way this course has been made, loved that parts of it is Maya Adams talking, others interviewing Michael Pollan and others have pictures which are super easy to follow. Thank you so much for all I have learned!

par Diana M C L

7 sept. 2016

This has been an excellent Course. The content itself is very clear and gives you an enormous background about food and eating habits, although is focused mostly in the western diet in USA I think that at least in America continent an other parts of the globe eating habits are similar, Public health is a great concern and I think that in this way we should change completely our habits and stop eating processed food. Congrats Stanford University more courses like this one.

par Kuntamukkala P K

15 juin 2017

This course guides us how to think while buying products in grocery store. I learnt that we should look at food as mixture of Colorful vegetables, healthy fats, whole grains.....not as mixture of Nutrients (I always get baffled with their chemical names). Maya Mam explained it in so easy way, she made me look the other side of products which they (some companies) claim as "Nutritional foods". This course helped me to get rid of some doubts I had about Supplement foods.

par Harshit B

6 mars 2018

Maya Adams, MD and Michael Pollan have explained the rules of healthy food in such a simple and non-scientific way so that every one can understand the fundamentals. These basics if followed consistently can change our lifestyle from the growing obesity to a modern healthy and fit person. The efforts of the course contributors needs to be appreciated for not only the concept but also the presentation. This is a much recommended course on food, health and fitness!!

par eduardo c

19 oct. 2020

This is, for me, an extraordinary course on food and health. Clear concepts, easy tips to improve health by changing feed habits reinforcing the healthy ones as well as clarifying and warning about unhealthy. I liked very much course presenters always going straight to the point in each presentation. In summary, short, concise, wise and friendly, that is my qualification for it. Congratulations and thank you very much. I do not hesitate to strongly recommend it.

par zory D C

26 août 2020

Everything was interesting. I have a little confusion about sugar. I know it is better not to consume refined sugar, in some recipes Dr. Adam uses, probably if she says what substitutes will be more beneficial than sugar, it will help a little bit more. Other than that, I love the way she and Michael Pollan explained everything about food, and I also love her voice, sweet and determined. I am very grateful I found this web page to learn more from the best source.

par Naira B E

21 nov. 2019

Me parece un muy buen curso básico sobre nutrición y alimentación, que permite a todos ser mas conscientes de lo que comemos. Como estudiante de nutrición me parece interesante las estrategias que se indican para que todos tengan una alimentación saludable dando pequeños pasos. Finalmente, me parece excelente que el curso este enfocado en todos los componentes de la alimentación tales como variables sociales, económicas, personales, disponibilidad, entre otras.

par LilWritingHood M A

26 sept. 2020

Overall I found this course very educational and helpful. I want to become a nutritionist or dietician however classes don't start until next year. while covid has been happening I noticed all of my family including myself were starting to gain weight. Unfortunately places such as parks and gyms being closed makes it harder to get up and move but I think this course will have a very helpful role in helping me change my families eating lifestyle for the better.

par Lori R

16 févr. 2021

I really enjoyed this course. I spend a lot of time in the kitchen and shop the perimeter of the store. However, I am not instituting the 1/2 vegetable plate real estate rule yet. Right now they comprise a smaller portion on the plate. I found the grams of sugar converted to teaspoons helpful. I will share this knowledge with my family. Thank you for a wonderful course. I enjoyed the instructor and will look for others she might teach in the future.

par Anya H

5 mai 2020

I have successfully completed this course and it is one of a kind. It zeroes in on daily struggles pertaining to food and nutrition for the average person. This course not only simplified the complexities behind macro nutrients, it also focused on breaking down the jargon on nutrition labels - two things I had found confusing, until now. The quality of the videos is aesthetically pleasing and the lectures are engaging, and fascinating to say the least!

par Raeva I M

2 mai 2020

This course helped me to understand what the health is. Before I started it, I followed my intuition. Now I can make sensible decisions at supermarket. I got the point that the art of moderation is much better than simple elimination. Also, I am pleased to practice my English.

I want all people to watch it. Unfortunately, most of us are cynical about FOOD (not highly-processed part of it), especially in Russia. It inspires me to continue my education.