Chevron Left
Retour à Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Stanford Introduction to Food and Health par Université de Stanford

4.7
étoiles
25,646 évaluations
7,428 avis

À propos du cours

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Meilleurs avis

JJ

22 janv. 2021

Love how Maya presented the course and I especially love the cooking sessions featuring her cute kids. I am looking forward to reading her book or if she has any YT account featuring more home cooking

NP

22 août 2021

Very informative! Thanks for having this course free so that more people who are starting to learn about eating properply (like me) will be able to get access to authentic and legit lessons on food ;)

Filtrer par :

6126 - 6150 sur 7,480 Avis pour Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

par Vo N D

30 déc. 2016

The course is very well managed and so informative from basic knowledge about foods and its nutrition then takes us a very fundamental but bold about nutrition and health. For those who does not like to read lot of books to come up with a simple and quick idea about how to have a health eating, this is a recommended one.

par Teja S

20 janv. 2021

The course was really helpful and I really appreciate the platform for sharing such knowledge for free. Hope the platform provides which much more content that people could learn and I sincerely thank you for your content. It's very helpful for widening my thoughts and knowing much more about the world around me and me.

par Lesly F

27 mai 2020

Este curso brinda información valiosa sobre la alimentación de las personas y como influye esto en la salud. Así mismo brindan consejos basados en evidencia científica para poder seguir una dieta balanceada. Lo que más me gustó fue que incluyeron algunas recetas de platos novedosos y prácticos para realizar en casa.

par Fabian H

11 août 2016

Interesting topic and very good information

Not enough content (my opinion)

Tests where way to easy, I could take them all without first watching the videos, and my grade ist above 90%. The questions are (espacially in Week 3 and 4) easy to solve with logic and a basic intelligence. Please work on making it harder! :)

par Cassandra M O

22 juin 2022

This is a good course to help any individal eat for good health. However. With the practical cooking lessons with Maya, sugar is used in almost all the dishes. For an obesed person using sugar this much I think is a downside to the practicals. adding sugar to make these nice dishes should be optional. My thoughts.

par Marwa E

11 mars 2017

Simple and practical

I really enjoyed this course and how it managed to focus on the beauty and enjoyment of food as a main point in making healthier choices when it comes to diet. I only hope there is another follow up more in-depth course with more information on micro-nutrients and hormonal influence on obesity.

par Jeyana M

19 janv. 2016

In general, this course is great! Thank you so much for it.

Great lectures, great videos, animations and slides.

One thing I didn't like is the assumption, that cooking at home will do so much help in slowing down the obesity epidemic. Here in Ukraine most of us don't eat out, but obesity is prevalent nevertheless.

par Bhim R M S

2 févr. 2020

Ever since I learnt about healthy eating, I became very captivated with the topic. I was very curious and my how food affects our health and how we can protect ourselves by eating right. This course has enlightened me about the various aspects that we have to consider when choosing what we eat and how we eat it.

par Victor H L B

21 avr. 2021

La información es relevante, con un lenguaje de fácil comprensión interesante y vital para transformar los niveles de bienestar de las personas. Valdría la pena desarrollar niveles de aprendizaje, donde se pueda capacitar facilitadores en todo el mundo que puedan convertir los cursos en talleres de aprendizaje.

par daniel h

2 mai 2018

A good way to start your research into what food is, what you can do with it and how food works in your everyday life. The videos are informative however lacking charisma to keep the student entertained.... This may not be a negative. This is about facts and Standford provides a good base to start from.

Thanks.

par Thomas R

26 avr. 2018

Thorough and engaging look at the fundamentals of nutrition and healthy food choices. Excellent resource for anyone who wants to understand the basics of a healthy diet and productive sustainable food choices. Engaging videos and the demonstrations of recipes are particularly nice touch. Thoroughly enjoyed.

par Borja T

18 janv. 2016

Could be added more technical question, but I understand that the course is trying to reach as much people as possible.

However explaining a bit more details about minerals, which was not mention, would be good. Extending to flavonoids and some other stuff which most poeple is unaware would be interesting.

par Reem N

29 juin 2020

An interesting basic course with explanations about nutrients, calories, plant-based diets etc. I think I had expected more details and a more rigorous course but I see now that this is aimed at people who may have limited to no knowledge about these issues. Very good course, nonetheless. Thank you.

par RITESH M

11 févr. 2020

i have learned so many things about food , how to do groserry shopping . i learned that we should more depend on natural food rather than highly processsd food we should eat plant food rather than having meat, and some other supplements that are available in market eassily we must ahave more organic

par Alison O C B

26 juin 2020

I really liked it, but it's very basic, and as I'm a first-year nutrition student in college, I should had taken on a harder course that would bring me some knowledge I didn't already know. Regardless of that, it's a very good course for someone who doesn't know anything about health and nutrition.

par Kirsten K

25 avr. 2021

I like the first 4 weeks a lot but the the week with all the recipes, I did not personally need the cooking workshop, as I am a competent cook. Saying that they look like good recipes and would definitely be very helpful for someone who is not as confident or has not done much home cooking.

par Jose C

8 mai 2020

I appreciated the insights and recommendations from both Dr. Adams and Michael Pollan. We do overeat in this country but it is so difficult to eat the right way when fresh organic fruits and veggies are SO incredibly expensive and fast food and junk food so cheap. Thanx for this perspective.

par Ubayd R

19 oct. 2020

Its been a great journey of learning and experiencing true knowledge about how food and nutrition affect our health and whats the role of food in your lifestyle and fitness. Overall its been a great course i would definitely recommend people to must do this course for a better understanding.

par Bridget L

12 août 2021

Very nice course and very informative! The videos were well thought out and professional. The course was really short (could be good or bad depending on why you want to take it). The last week was just recipes which was a bit annoying but I like that it put the concepts into the real world.

par Karime L

22 juin 2020

Great course for beginners. Could have better explanations of terminology like HDL cholesterol and LDL. I think that beginners need a little more detail about terminology involving biochemistry. Overall, it is an inspiring and helpful course to understand why it is important to eat healthy

par Thijs W

5 févr. 2016

Great introductory course which gives a more nuanced view on eating. Everyone would be able to understand this and start to cook by themselves. Would have been nice if one week would have been dedicated to some myths, like the protein shake or gluten free diets which are very much debated.

par Pan C T

4 janv. 2017

This Course is useful and practical for all the students and people would like to know the detail of food and health. Actually, after finishing this course, I have a stronger interest in food than before. If the lecturer can give us more information about this area, that would be better.

par Deleted A

9 août 2016

Everything I learned or relearned fit with my knowledge of food and food systems with one glaring exception: I am a strong supporter of organic standards and regenerative agriculture. Therefore, I would be unable to recommend vegetables and fruits regardless of their pesticide residue.

par Michael H

12 mars 2021

Interesting course and well explained, though some of the concepts were more basic than I would have expected. This is probably more an issue with my understanding of the course ahead of starting, rather than the course itself, I can see it would have been really interesting to others.

par Jana R

20 janv. 2016

I would have loved to get more information. Addtional readings, forums to share ideas and recipes, projects etcs about food, health and nutrition. Maybe homework would increase our knowledge! Some paper as final assignment would be helpful.

Thanks for the course and enjoy your meals :)