Chevron Left
Retour à Financial Accounting: Foundations

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Financial Accounting: Foundations par Université de l'Illinois à Urbana-Champaign

4.7
étoiles
3,826 évaluations
896 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you will learn foundations of financial accounting information. You will start your journey with a general overview of what financial accounting information is and the main financial statements. You will then learn how to code financial transactions in financial accounting language. In the meantime, you will learn about the most important concept in contemporary financial accounting: accrual accounting. You will then critically analyze how firms recognize revenues. Finally, you will finish the course with an analysis of accounting for short-term assets where you will go into detail on how firms account for accounts receivables and inventories. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Understand main financial statements and the financial information they provide • Write a financial transaction in financial accounting language and understand how this impacts main financial statements • Understand how accrual accounting and fundamental accounting concepts work • Understand revenue recognition principles and how they impact main financial statements • Account for accounts receivables and inventories. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Meilleurs avis

AD
3 sept. 2017

Though I have been through Intro Accounting some 3 or 4 times through different classes and seminars, I still found myself learning from this detailed and straight forward presentation of information.

YP
6 juin 2020

The modules were extremely informative and nothing less to say, Oktay sir's presentations were very easy to understand even for a person like me who has no prior knowledge about Financial Accounting.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 874 Avis pour Financial Accounting: Foundations

par Yash P

7 juin 2020

The modules were extremely informative and nothing less to say, Oktay sir's presentations were very easy to understand even for a person like me who has no prior knowledge about Financial Accounting.

par Linda P L

25 juin 2020

The instructor is very knowledgeable. He explains very well, clear and keep repeating the questions and answers, making sure students learn by repetition. Very good in depth course.

par Brian M

16 sept. 2018

I like that the entire module is presented first as a slideshow. Then, the material is reviewed as a lecture. It helped me understand it better.

par Mathew W

25 févr. 2017

I thought this was a great intro course and that it reinforced some info I already knew, and gave me basic info to build on during the courses.

par Fang S

11 mars 2018

Even as a student majoring in Finance, I would like to recommend this course to those who wants to get a basic idea of accounting and finance!

par shun t

15 juil. 2017

I think it is easy to make it sense of basic knowledge of financial accounting.

It's good point that actual companies data is used in this course.

par Nilesh H

20 mai 2019

Great Course for learning basics of Financial Accounting. Very Comprehensive Explanation and Frequent Exercises for test your progress.

par Alireza M

7 avr. 2019

Great course, with very useful information regarding financial accounting and very helpful examples to understand the course better

par Maryna I

28 avr. 2019

I really enjoyed the course, the way the material was explained by the teacher, as well as the tasks were organized.

par Shalini S

19 mai 2019

This course really helped me to improve my fundamentals of accounts.

par MOHAMED M P

25 juin 2020

A completely interesting sessions throughout the course

par KOFFI K J

21 mai 2019

Good appreciation. I like it !

par SAHIN K

2 mai 2019

Nice Course

par Charles R

23 mai 2019

Loved it!

par Akinbode A

4 mai 2019

The course is a very good course. The only suggestion is to find help for the instructor to edit his English, some statement in the cc or course audio to words are incorrect.

par CHRISTIAN A B K

25 mai 2019

Muy bueno el curso, sería bueno agregar más ejercicios de práctica antes de los exámenes, ya que la dificultad es muy diferente entre las prácticas y los exámenes

par GT W

10 sept. 2017

This course offers a very limited scope of accounting. The lecturer has a strong accent which makes the lecture hard to understand. There is only one example discussed throughout the course: the statements of Walmart. I wish that the lecturer could provides more examples covers other accounting principles or some special cases. The quiz is too easy. The peer review assignment, which asks you to talk about a paper on accounting, is like a freshman high school assignment. Overall, I think this course is low quality, and I would not recommend this course.

par Cabdirahman I B E

12 oct. 2020

Thank you to supported this course, so 1, am very interesting to this curse .

par Rohan K

27 avr. 2020

the course was boring. and taught very specific things to specific examples

par Fernando T

20 juil. 2019

Hard to understand the instructor. He has a very heavy accent.

par KIVURUGA M

23 févr. 2021

In the mean time,we learn about the most important concept in contemporary financial accounting: accrual accounting. we critically analyze how firms recognize revenues. Finally, we learn how to analy the accounting for short-term assets where we went into detail on how firms account for accounts receivables and inventories. Upon successful completion of this course, we are able to: • Understand main financial statements and the financial information they provide • Write a financial transaction in financial accounting language and understand how this impacts main financial statements • Understand how accrual accounting and fundamental accounting concepts work •

par GLADSON V C

12 avr. 2020

Dedication and discipline is the key to completing the whole course. The course is arranged gradually and even though it is stated for beginner, you need to pay attention to the professor if you want to pass the tests. You cannot only rely on the PDFs. Great course, I felt extremely challenged. Thank you, Univ. Illinois Urbana-Champaign for allowing me to experience world-class education!

The course was great. I learned a lot about accounting basics that will help me to better understand more complex situations. Thank you, Coursera. Thanks to our professor and those who helped to make this course.

par Venkatesh P

2 juil. 2017

The Professor Mr.Oktay Urcan was crystal clear in explaining all the concepts with really good examples and illustrations ( Walmart, Illini Supermarket and others..). Loved the way the content is structured and the practice and graded quizzes at the end of every module made sure we knew our concepts really well.

A special mention about the peer-graded assignment which was not more of answering questions rather testing our ability to analyse various articles and present a good summary !

This was my first Coursera course and I'm happy that it was best !

par AIT S F

22 août 2020

A must have course. This one, added to Formal Financial Accounting course, gave me a solid basis on which I can count in further courses and future accounting situations. M. Oktay Urcan is a wonderful teacher with an efficient methode and way of explaning thing by simplifying them. Moreover, the case method makes his teachning even more realistic, comprehensive and applicable in daily life, in contrast to the the various teachings we have in real life which are too theoric and fuzzy. Best regards Sir Oktay Urcan.

par Nipun S D

16 janv. 2021

Module 4 is not consistent to understand. I found it easy to apply recording to Unearned revenue but was lost when it came to module 4. It didn't seem consistent . Then the case videos there was total consistecy loss where I had to break my head what to find where. I have to depend on the professor or study group on Module 4.

Update 1/16/2021 - I have updated to give all points as this was my first iMBA class I was not sure what was coming towards me.