Chevron Left
Retour à Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies par Université de Londres

4.4
étoiles
111 évaluations
34 avis

À propos du cours

This course is a short taster on the topic of the use of Images, Film, and their use in historical interpretation in the 20th century. It is primarily provided for those who have a general interest in history that draws on photojournalism as primary evidence, and films based on historical events. Once you have completed this course we hope you will be equipped to: Appreciate the significance of photographs as historical evidence in the twentieth century. Understand the limitations of the medium, and how we can attribute meaning to these individual records of 'one moment in time' while taking into account the circumstances in which any particular image was taken. Understand how individuals and institutions have looked to manipulate images to their own ends – through alteration and/or censorship – and what that meant to contemporary interpretation, as well as subsequent historical interpretation. Put individual images into a wider context, and in particular with reference to history written, or portrayed, beyond academia: public history. Do be aware that part of the contents of this course regard images and depiction of war. Real wars and real images....

Meilleurs avis

MS

Jun 06, 2020

This course provides students with the tools they need to analyse and understand visual history along with its deceiving nature that derived from the very character of film properties.

AT

Aug 01, 2017

This is an excellent course and I have really enjoyed it. The topics covered are diverse and the course has provided me with several areas for further independent research.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 34 Avis pour Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies

par Angela T

Aug 01, 2017

This is an excellent course and I have really enjoyed it. The topics covered are diverse and the course has provided me with several areas for further independent research.

par Mariana H L

Mar 03, 2020

Very useful and interesting.

par akhil

Feb 06, 2020

super

par Pol M

Feb 07, 2019

The course is really interesting. Nevertheless, it often focuses too much in the context of historical events to finally discuss a single picture for just 5 minutes. Moreover, I've found the tests to be too much focused on really precise and sometimes anecdotical data instead of the general conclusions which, from my point of view, are a more reliable reflection of the learning success.

par Carly Z

Dec 13, 2019

About half the links in this course are broken, which is very frustrating. I found the course content itself to be very interesting, though!

par Paulo J A G

Mar 18, 2020

Good material courses. The only negative criticism is related to some repetition of content in some videos.

par elena G

Apr 10, 2020

Many of course links are erase but in the test you insert questions from thinks that is not available

par Audrey L

Dec 27, 2017

Great material in this course, though some of the links need to be updated.

par Olga E

Jan 22, 2018

The quizzes are not related to the topic of this course at all.

par Anabel S d G

Sep 14, 2017

Highly recommended. I enjoyed revisiting important parts of History through iconic photographs and learning to look at them from a critical and analytical point of view. Mr. Sullivan was great in his lectures and the assignments were insightful. It was hard but well schedule. Many thanks

par Marieta C

Jun 23, 2020

An amazing experience and a scenic journey into history! The course teaches one to look and really see, it’s both informative and interesting, the reference material ( additional reading) though ( that’s my only “ remark” ) contains some corrupt ( expired) links.

Highly recommend

par JOHN Q

Feb 13, 2017

Fantastic course. I loved the examples of iconic photos which I had seen but now better understand their significance. I hadn't seen many of the Stalin photos, however. Its amazing how politicians can manipulate us ala George Orwell........

par Mardohar B B S

Jun 06, 2020

This course provides students with the tools they need to analyse and understand visual history along with its deceiving nature that derived from the very character of film properties.

par Ana C d O

May 04, 2020

I really enjoyed the course! It gives a good overview of history and, mainly, about the use of photography and image in the historical context.

par June m

May 06, 2020

Excellent very interesting course and a great course leader Dr Emmett Sullivan well worth spending time on this.

par Abhijit G

Jun 17, 2017

This course is very informative and structural in learning the relation of films and history.

par louis f d m p s

May 11, 2020

Thank you very much: Now I am sure that "the camera lies". I already have a new theme image.

par Paccelli J M Z

Apr 17, 2020

Um curso excelente que desenvolve senso crítico sobre o uso de imagens na História.

par Libardo G

May 21, 2018

Excellent material. Is a pain that dont be available in spanish

par Mariam K

May 09, 2020

Excellent course that makes the student think critically.

par ARUN K N

Jun 10, 2020

Very useful course

par Divya G

Apr 24, 2020

very helpful

par Abdul H

Aug 13, 2018

Great

par Anamika P

Jun 08, 2020

The Course was extremely insightful, and gave a superb initiation into photojournalism and its connection to public history. The course provided critical ways of viewing an image from history, and explained how a current image could also work as a historical source.

Just a suggestion: some links provided in the reading material seem to be broken or do not open for certain locations, and the lack of availability of the prescribed matter has a negative impact on the overall understanding of the week's content, and sometimes the quiz too. Perhaps this could be verified/ rectified?

par Ana M V

Jun 12, 2020

I enjoyed this course thoroughly - it gave me plenty of new insights into the study of visual discourse, which has helped bolster my own academic studies. If I were to have a single complaint (for which I have docked a star), is that a few of the links given for further reading are outdated and inaccessible. However I did not feel that this hindered my overall experience, albeit it being a tad inconvenient.