Chevron Left
Retour à Exploration analytique de données

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Exploration analytique de données par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.7
4,840 notes
685 avis

À propos du cours

This course covers the essential exploratory techniques for summarizing data. These techniques are typically applied before formal modeling commences and can help inform the development of more complex statistical models. Exploratory techniques are also important for eliminating or sharpening potential hypotheses about the world that can be addressed by the data. We will cover in detail the plotting systems in R as well as some of the basic principles of constructing data graphics. We will also cover some of the common multivariate statistical techniques used to visualize high-dimensional data....

Meilleurs avis

CC

Jul 29, 2016

This is the second course I have taken from Roger Peng and both were outstanding. I have a strong math background, but not much of a background in stats, but this course was very approachable for me.

Y

Sep 24, 2017

Very good course! It provide me the foundation in learning how to plot and interpret data. This will definitely strengthen my "R programming" to generate publication type figure for my genomics data!

Filtrer par :

626 - 650 sur 657 Examens pour Exploration analytique de données

par Rafael A

Mar 23, 2017

First two weeks are too repetitive with other courses

par Dylan P

May 13, 2018

I would have liked an assignment to focus on the clustering methods and I think dimension reduction was reviewed way too quick.

par Asier

Mar 10, 2016

The course content applies to R. The teachers focused on the programming language rather than the application of the existing graphs to explore data.

par Erkan E

Jun 24, 2016

I wish there several comprehensive examples of exploring some real data as guided by the course instructors.

par Andrew V

Jun 10, 2016

The course covers very limited subset of plots and mostly oriented to R-specific technical routines rather than overall approaches. Case-study example is helpful and contrary to the most comments I do appreciate the final course project: this how most problems are stated in real life. If you would like to cover more fundamental concepts behind exploratory analysis I would recommend other sources.

par Thomas G

Apr 26, 2016

A lot of broken swirl(), which wouldn't be so bad except *a lot* of this course is based entirely on swirl(). Also the swirl() text was almost verbatim of the lectures one has just watched.

All in all, good information, but the swirl() badly needs an update.

par Fabiana G

Jun 23, 2016

Course feels somewhat abandoned by instructors. Content is okay, but can't help the feeling that it's basically a cash cow - students would benefit a lot if instructors were move involved.

par Katharine R

May 03, 2016

Good course, but the SWIRL exercises (and a few quiz questions) needed to be updated for the latest version of ggplot2.

par Ralph M

Mar 09, 2016

Good course overall. There tends to be many lectures that are just lists of commands. Also, they don't seem to be updating the material. Many lectures are several years old and still have typos in them.

par Casey B

May 12, 2016

Good class - links and slides have not been updated recently. Frustrating to finish without the exact linkts to the data.

par Mehrdad P

Aug 26, 2019

The course was overall ok, but I wish discussions about k-means, PCA and SVD were divided into two courses.

par Arne S

Aug 31, 2019

did not like the swirl-tutorials. they were very tedious and sometimes labelled correct commands as false (e.g. when you typed = instead of <- for assigning a value to a variable)

also I was surprised that for a beginner programming course in R you had to apply specific functions such as grepl without the function being introduced in the course

par Tamaz L

Apr 05, 2016

Very unprofessional, compared to other courses. It wasn't well organized.

par Piyush V

Jun 21, 2016

Veyr boring

par Bartlomiej W

Feb 06, 2016

Some parts of material is good quality, but some is bad - also some show bad practices in R. Extensively use swirl as assignments over self work. It is better to go through good tutorial over R base plotting system and ggplot2.

par Michal K

May 10, 2016

too superficial

par Desmond W

Oct 19, 2016

About plotting in R. Not about generating real insights from EDA.

par ewa b

May 31, 2017

didnt get much useful-- a whole "course" on plotting? meh.

par Joseph M K

Jan 31, 2017

Clustering topic is covered superficially, too much time spend on employing ggplot graphs, not very useful since making graphs is straightforward on other software, like excel, once you aggregate datasets correctly. I had not found it very enriching as a course. I would merge this class within R-Programming section and call it Part 2 rather than categorizing into "Exploratory Data Analysis".

par Pamela M

Jun 05, 2016

Alas, after only 10 minutes of the first video, I am reminded that this instructor does not gear his lectures to the true Beginners among us. He speaks much more for an audience of grad students. I do want to complete this Specialization, so I will try again perhaps after learning more - about statistics and R and who knows what else. I fought my way through the first three courses, but now I'm going to work smarter by finding other ways to acquire this knowledge. Then return to him; maybe. This course should be labelled Intermediate and Statistics should be listed as a prerequisite. (I think; since I don't know what it is that I don't know, I am making a guess as to the missing piece of the puzzle.)

par Rohith J

Dec 14, 2016

Course content and assignments were difficult to follow. Loads of statistical content along with high-level R content means it was probably the toughest of the 4 I have taken so far in the Coursetrack.

par Dmitry R

Feb 06, 2016

some swirl tests (4,5) don't work because of parameter method in qplot function. This parameter is not realy existed in this function now

par David I

Mar 26, 2016

The final project did not require use of the material in the course beyond the first week and a half. I did not take any quizzes or otherwise have my knowledge tested on the material in the second half of the course.

par Freddie K

Apr 05, 2017

Quite repetitious in covering basic graphing, and very shallow in regards of clustering, SVD and PCA.

par Lidiya G N

Apr 29, 2019

Absolutely No technical help, like insane amounts of homework for each week. People have jobs and businesses to run. Incredibly short duration. Like literally this should have been spread out several more weeks. I would have dropped the class but I can’t. It’s so difficult to get i to the first set of practice assignments and these several sets. Honestly, I am literally getting no help on it and probably won’t pass because I am missing the deadline. I finished 5 coursera courses working on them for 24 none stop. I’ve literally been at this class all day. Besides all the insane amounts of assignments there’s tons of videos to watch and uploads to do. Go buy some books or take another class unless you are unemployed or have nothing better to do.